Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
Trial
To access BoB you need to go to login, select your institution in the where are you from box (login using SHU username and password) and then follow the instructions to create an account.
Each user can request up to 20 new recordings (restricted to 5 in a 6hr period) or clips per day. There is no restriction on the number of existing programmes that can be viewed.

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education.This academically-focused system allows staff and students to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.


Tutorials are available here

Contains a permanent archive of content from nine channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra. Allows you to preview and save clips

  • Authentication via Shibboleth
Trial
A new innovative e-learning tool developed by Elsevier; it has 90+ Nursing titles and 20+ Midwifery titles. Resources can be downloaded on to student devices too.
Trial
A vast collection of eBook titles on the ProQuest Ebook Central service that have been made available to Hallam Library to assist with the Covid19 crisis.
Trial
HeinOnline contains more than 2,800 journals on a variety of subjects, including animal rights, human rights, political science, history, gender studies, election law, civil rights, foreign relations, and more. All journals date back to inception and more than 90% are available through the current issue or volume.
Trial
Free use until June 15. First time users need to click on link and register, then use the personal login to sign in.
Includes access to JoVe Core and JoVe Lab Manuals Introductory Biology.
Trial
Contains access to Lippincott texts, cases, and self-assessment as well as procedure videos and audio files.
You need to register to create an account in order to log in.
Registration instructions are here
Trial
MIT Press is one of the largest and most distinguished university presses in the world and a leading publisher of books in the fields of science, technology, art, social science, and design.
Trial
A peer-reviewed digital encyclopedia containing articles written by experts in this field. Updated monthly, and containing multi-media features embedded in articles, along with cross-referenced links to related content.
Trial
This digital encyclopedia is a collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). It provides access to the most up-to-date articles, with monthly updates. Additional features include: 800+ articles edited by a 13-member editorial board and Editor in Chief offering overviews of every facet of social work policy and practice. Over 200 succinct biographies of key figures in social work history and trusted, scholarly content infused with practical advice for social workers in the field.
Trial
Project Muse are providing free online access to both ebook and journal resources from over 20 publishers (in response to Covid19). Material that is available is marked with a “free icon”. Publishers include Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books).
Link to more information on content available
Trial
Covers methods commonly used in research across medical specialties and studies in public health.
  • Authentication via Shibboleth
New Popular
Westlaw International covers a number of jurisdictions, including the United States. It gives access to statutory material, case reports, journal articles and current affairs materials.
  • Authentication via Shibboleth
New Popular
Westlaw is an international database of full text primary resources including UK and EU legislation and case law, in addition to selected books and full-text journals.
You only need to create an account and login with it if you want to save searches on Westlaw.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...