LibGuides: Criminology: European materials

EU legislation and cases

You can search these databases for EU legislation, and cases in the European Court of Justice and the General Court.

EUR-Lex The Portal to European Union Law This link opens in a new window
EUR-Lex provides direct free access to European Union law. Includes full text documents on European Union law, the legislative procedures of the Union and EU institutions.
You can consult the selection of new documents on the homepage. EUR-Lex offers: daily editions of the Official Journal of the European Union online, Simple search, advanced search and browsing options, the possibility to display and/or download documents (PDF, HTML, DOC, TIFF)
Court of Justice of the European Union This link opens in a new window
The Curia site gives access to the case law of the Court of First Instance, Court of Justice and the Civil Service Tribunal. Cases can be searched by case details or subject.
The Court of Justice of the European Union is based in Luxembourg and is composed of the Court of Justice, the Court of First Instance and the Civil Service Tribunal. The Court hears cases and preliminary references under EC law.
The site also provides information on the Court, news, press releases, reviews of the court's activity and links to EU sites.
Lexis Plus This link opens in a new window
Lexis Plus (previously Lexis Library) contains a wide range of databases of full text legal resources, including statutes, statutory instruments and cases. It provides extensive coverage of English, U.S., Commonwealth and European Union primary and secondary materials. In addition, it provides access to journals and e-books.
Lexis Plus also gives access to information on the following practice areas: company and commercial; employment; family; financial services; litigation; personal injury; private client property; public sector; tax and accountancy, with many full text U.K. journals. Also included is a wide range of UK newspapers.
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Westlaw is an international database of full text primary resources including UK and EU legislation and case law, in addition to selected books and full-text journals.
Includes comprehensive coverage of English law reports and selected transcripts of unreported cases and a case citator.
It provides the full text of a wide range of UK law journals.
It also contains the full database of the Legal Journals Index, which is an index to approximately 400 UK law journals.

European Court of Human Rights

European Court of Human Rights
The European Court of Human Rights is not an EU institution. It is an institution of the Council of Europe. Further details about the Council can be found on its website.
HUDOC
Documents relating to the European Convention of Human Rights from 1959 onwards have been split into separate sections, which can be searched individually or together. Covers the European Court, the former European Commission of Human Rights and the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe.
Coverage dates: 1959 -

EU information collections and guides

European Sources
Useful and comprehensive guide to EU sources, created by the Cardiff EDC.
Info Europa - UK
Newsletter with roundup of important EU news stories
Paul Drury's Student Guide to EU Law
The site contains articles of examples of EU Law in action. They are attributed and should not be used as the basis for legal advice.
Pittsburgh archive of European integration
Provides access to free and open access scholarly research material on the topic of European integration.

EU legal and policy information

EUR-Lex The Portal to European Union Law This link opens in a new window
EUR-Lex provides direct free access to European Union law. Includes full text documents on European Union law, the legislative procedures of the Union and EU institutions.
You can consult the selection of new documents on the homepage. EUR-Lex offers: daily editions of the Official Journal of the European Union online, Simple search, advanced search and browsing options, the possibility to display and/or download documents (PDF, HTML, DOC, TIFF)

Legislative Observatory (OEIL)
The Legislative Observatory focuses on the development of legislation - a useful resource for finding preparatory material and parliamentary debates.
Europa
EUROPA is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion and access the websites of each of the EU institutions.

Criminology

On This Page

EU legislation and cases

European Court of Human Rights

EU information collections and guides

EU legal and policy information