This is the "Home" page of the "Engineering, Electronics and Materials" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources and databases for all branches of engineering, electronics and material science.
Last Updated: Apr 30, 2012 URL: http://libguides.shu.ac.uk/engineering Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

turbine blade by Sandy Buchanan

Welcome to the subject guide for engineering, electronics and materials science .

Here you will discover how to find books, journals and information for your work.

For more information about learning centre services and facilities see the learning centre services pages on shuspace

Other relevant subject guides

This guide covers the core resources you need for day-to-day study and research.  However, you may sometimes find other subject guides useful for specialised topics. You can find a full list of other guides on the Library Gateway, but some useful guides are:

 

Maths Help

If you need any help with the mathematical content of your course, a series of maths help sessions are held during term time in the learning centres: there is no need to book,  just turn up. They are held in:

  • Adsetts Learning Centre, level 5 (Arundel Gate end of the building)
    11.30am-1.30pm every week day
  • Collegiate Learning Centre (by the journals)
    6pm-8pm Monday and Tuesday
 

Where are my databases?

If you were used to using Litsearch last year, you now access all your databases via the subject guides.

The databases are divided up by the tabs on the top of the page, based on type of material they contain.

Databases for journal, conference and newspaper articles are under the tab 'Finding articles'; databases for ebooks are under the tab 'Books & ebooks'; and so on.

If you know the name of the database which you want, you can also find it on the A-Z list on the Library Gateway.

 

Library Search

Library Search searches for books, ebooks, ejournals, journal articles, DVDs, online video and other resources available in the Learning Centres. It is usually a good place to start searching.

If you can't find what you want on Library Search, try one of the other resources in this guide.

 

Develop your search skills

re:Search logo

 re: Search is an online tutorial to help you search information more quickly and effectively, and to find the best and most relevant material for your assignments. It is available in a series of bite-size units.

If you are carrying out advanced research, you may find the Research subject guide useful.

 

The Engineer

The latest news from The Engineer.

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

New Scientist

The Latest news from New Scientist

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding

Help and Support

Profile Image
The Learning Centre
Contact Info
Helpdesks:
Adsetts Learning Centre, Level 4
Collegiate Learning Centre, Ground Floor
Phone: 0114 225 3333
Send Email
 

Science Daily

The latest news from Science Daily.

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

BBC Technology

The latest news from the BBC Technology website.

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip