LibGuides: Economics, Finance and Accounting: Statistics

Statistical data sources

Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to global statistics, data, graphs and infographics. Statista provides detailed information on over 100 industries and 120 countries, as well as global companies and market trends.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Market research data that analysts at Euromonitor have collated including consumer lifestyle reports, future demographics, country profiles, updates on consumer and industry trends, company information, market sizes and economic indicators. Passport covers more than 200 countries and regions, with a global outlook
UK Data Service (registration required) This link opens in a new window
UK and international survey and statistical data drawn from a range of respected sources including: United Nations, IMF, OECD, World Bank, International Labour Organization (ILO), International Energy Agency (IEA), Eurostat and UNIDO. Free registration required to access some parts of the database.
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Broad overviews of countries, briefly describing geography, people, government, economy, communications, transport, military and transnational issues.
Includes images of national flags and reference maps of continents and regions. Country profiles include both written and statistical data.

UNdata Country Profiles
United Nations statistical profiles of countries. Includes summary statistics, economic indicators, social indicators, environment and trade profiles.
UNdata Explorer
Free access to the world's major international statistics. Includes "International Financial Statistics" from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), as well as data from the UN, ILO, OECD, WHO, World Bank, and the ITU. Hosted by the United Nations.
IMF: Data & Statistics
Statistical data from the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
BIS: Statistics
International financial statistics from the Bank for International Settlements.
National statistics institutes
A comprehensive list of links to official national statistics institutes around the world. Compiled by the UK Data Service.
UK Office for National Statistics
The main gateway to UK official statistics. Provides direct access to tables of data, full text publications and the latest official releases. Covers Britain's economy, population and society at national and regional levels. Updated daily
Bank of England: Statistics
Official statistics from the UK central bank.
HM Treasury: Statistics
UK Government official Treasury Department statistics.
Office for Budget Responsibility
UK body, independent from Government, producing forecasts for the UK economy and public finances.
Institute for Fiscal Studies
UK organisation examining how policies affect individuals, families, businesses and the government's finances

Local, Regional and City information

Most of the sources listed above will only provide statistics at national level. It can sometimes be quite difficult to find sub-national data. Here are a few sources worth trying to get sub-national data at local, regional or city level:

LEP Network
local business support around the UK. May include access to local strategic economic plans
Nomis
Offical UK Government website providing local statistics. You can type in your postcode to get a summary report for your local area.
UK Local Council websites
may include local statistics, economic plans etc.
Yell.com
You can use this free online directory to search for businesses in a particular town or city.

COBRA: Complete Business Reference Advisor This link opens in a new window
provides guides to regional and local business information sources in the UK (see: Local Area Profiles).
It includes factsheets, opportunity profiles, market reports, contacts, news, development tools and details of sources of funding. Three users are allowed at a time so if you cannot access it, try again later.COBRA provides useful information related to starting up and running a small business. It includes factsheets, opportunity profiles, market reports, contacts, news, development tools and details of sources of funding. Three users are allowed at a time so if you cannot access it, try again later.
Marketline Advantage This link opens in a new window
includes 'City Profiles' (PEST analyses) of some of the world's major cities … but not Sheffield! Also includes a 'City Statistics' Database.
Nexis This link opens in a new window
includes full-text access to a wealth of local and regional newspapers from around the UK and beyond.
Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.