LibGuides: Geography, Environment and Planning: Books

Finding books

Shelf of books, sorted by colour

Photo credit: 'The Colorful Library of an Interaction Designer' by See-Ming Lee via Flickr (CC BY-SA 2.0)

Most books relevant to Geography, Environment, Planning and Housing can be found in the Adsetts Library.

To find details of the exact location and availability of books in your subject area, please use Library Search.

Some useful subject numbers

Use the shelfmark you find on Library Search to locate the book in the library. Here are some relevant shelfmarks:

307.76	Cities
551.6	Climate change
333.72	Conservation
574.5	Ecology
333.714	Environmental impact assessment
344.046	Environmental law
304.2	Environmental protection
363.5	Housing
304.2	Human geography
712	Landscape design
333.76	Rural land use
333.783	National parks
914.2	National parks
711	Planning
333.79	Renewable energy
338.9	Sustainable development

Maps

Print Ordnance Survey and geological maps can be found at the level 2 of the Adsetts Library, in between the book collection and the journal collection. These can be borrowed in the same way as ordinary books.

Online mapping services are also available:

Digimap Ordnance Survey Data Collection This link opens in a new window
An Edina service offering Ordnance Survey maps and map data to UK Higher Education users. Allows users to view and print maps of locations within the UK: these maps can be overlaid with datasets such as aerial photos, lidar scans, and geological, environmental or demographic information. Maps can also be downloaded for use with GIS software. Registration info

Oxford Very Short Introductions

Oxford Very Short Introductions
A collection of very short books on huge range of different topics, each intended to provide a simple, approachable starting place for the subject

SAGE Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods Books and Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of hundreds of books, handbooks, reference titles, videos and more about research methods, to support your assignments, projects, and dissertations.

Multidisciplinary eBook collections

The Library has a range of eBook collections. You can search Library Search to find eBooks about many different subjects and that approach may be quicker than searching individual collections. You can also browse or search with the collections directly.

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers.

Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases relating to art, business, communication, film and television, history, medicine, sport etc. which can be searched individually or collectively. The resources offer abstracts, full-text journal articles, news items, company reports, and peer-reviewed sources. Includes some full text. alternative link

OAPEN
OAPEN is a platform supporting open access publishing of peer reviewed books.

Taylor and Francis SHU eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of selected ebooks published by Taylor and Francis, who publish across a wide range of subjects and disciplines including humanities, social sciences, education, behavioural sciences, built environment and law. Filter to "Show content I have access to" to see books SHU subscribes to.
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
This database contains all the VLE ebook titles that Sheffield Hallam have access to. This includes the Dawsonera ebook titles.

What to do if a book is not available in the Library

If there's a book which you need but which we don't have in stock, we can ask another library to loan you a copy, or to email you a copy of an individual chapter or section. This can be done through our document supply service.

Document Supply Services

If you think a book may be useful for other students or staff as well as yourself, you can also request that the Library buys a copy. We can't promise to buy everything, but will do what we can for feasible requests which are relevant to courses at Sheffield Hallam.

Suggest a Purchase request form