LibGuides: Nursing and Midwifery: Books and eBooks

Using eBooks

The Library aims to have both eBook and print versions of books as we know both formats are important especially when studying away from the University. Unfortunately publishers do not always offer an eBook in a format suitable for library use, or it is not available at the time we order the print version.

How to find eBooks

Go to the Library Gateway at: https://library.shu.ac.uk
Search for your keywords in Library Search e.g anatomy.
To the left of your search results click on Books / eBooks and Online.
Choose a book and follow the link(s) available under Find online. The links will either say View online at: or the name of an eBook provider.

Reading eBooks

How you can use an eBook depends on terms and conditions set by the publisher. In most cases you will be able to choose between reading online and downloading the eBook for a limited period to your own device. When downloaded eBooks expire you can download them again.

Most eBooks can be read by more than one reader at a time but sometimes you may have to wait if another reader is using the book.You can search within individual eBooks, add notes and print or copy a limited number of pages from most eBooks.

Further help

If you need further help please take a look at the Library Help guide: eBooks section or get in contact. You can find a link to the Library Help guide below.

New eBooks

Recent electronic additions to the library collection - updated June 2023.

Understanding Clinical Research by Kathryn Biddle; Anna Blundell; Nidhi Sofat It is important for healthcare professionals to understand the basics of clinical research. This book offers a thorough explanation of the principles of clinical research, alongside a wide range of worked examples which show how these principles are applied in practice. Understanding Clinical Research takes readers from how to develop research questions, through the design of research studies, to disseminating research findings. Ethical considerations, research integrity, patient involvement, and study funding are all covered, along with an introduction to the key statistical methods needed for data analysis.
ISBN: 9781914961267
Publication Date: 2023-07-20
LGBTQ Cultures by Michele J. Eliason, Michele J; Peggy L. Chinn Drawn from real-world experience and current research, the fully updated LGBTQ Cultures, 3rd Edition paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients. This vital guide fills the LGBTQ awareness gaps, including replacing myths and stereotypes with facts, and measuring the effects of social stigma on health. Vital for all nursing specialties, this is the seminal guide to actively providing appropriate, culturally sensitive care to persons of all sexual orientations and gender identities. Care for LGBTQ patients with awareness, sensitivity, and knowledge.
ISBN: 9781496394606
Publication Date: 2017-11-16
Midwifery by Helen Baston Midwifery: The Basics provides an engaging and authentic insight into the midwife's world. It explores the role of the midwife as a clinician and professional, showing how midwives can support women both to achieve a healthy full-term pregnancy and a smooth transition to motherhood. This book begins with a discussion of the context of birth and parenthood, placing midwifery in its broader social context. Topics covered include: the midwife as an autonomous professional; becoming a midwife; pre-conceptual and antenatal care; intrapartum care; postnatal care; and the specialist midwife. Midwifery: The Basics uses the voices of mothers, fathers and midwives to illustrate the complex world of becoming, being and supporting parents. This is an essential introduction for students at undergraduate and A-Level who are approaching midwifery for the first time.
ISBN: 9780429052750
Publication Date: 2020-08-18
Handbook of Research on Cyberchondria, Health Literacy, and the Role of Media in Society's Perception of Medical Information by Hacer Aker (Editor); Mary Aiken (Editor) Cyberchondria is characterized by a pattern of excessive health-based search behaviors that are likely to increase health anxiety or distress, heightened by ever-increasing access to and normalization of technology use and the internet specifically. The internet can be a source of valuable medical information and is an efficient vehicle for awareness-raising and dissemination; however, it can increase anxiety in audiences without medical knowledge or training and can pose a challenge to the traditional gatekeepers of medical knowledge and expertise. Technological advances are accelerating rapidly; however, concomitant to this acceleration, an epidemic of online mis- and dis-information that has the capacity to negatively impact general health, health literacy, and health behaviors globally now exists. The World Health Organization (WHO) has described this information overload as an infodemic. The Handbook of Research on Cyberchondria, Health Literacy, and the Role of Media in Society's Perception of Medical Information covers a wide range of topics from the characteristics and prevalence of cyberchondria to the pandemic policy response and cybersecurity issues relating to eHealth initiatives and pandemic-related surges in cybercrime. Therefore, this publication has transdisciplinary relevance to professionals from healthcare, government, law enforcement, academia, the technology sector, media, cybersecurity, and education. Graduate and undergraduate students may also find it to be a beneficial resource, not only in terms of the study of cyberchondria but also in terms of the psychological and sociological implications of global crisis events. One of the key messages of this book is as follows: All stakeholders must work together strategically to disseminate authentic public health messages during any global health crisis. They must work to reduce health-related anxiety mediated by technology and seek to improve critical thinking skills and global health literacy.
ISBN: 9781799886334
Publication Date: 2021-12-17
Psychosocial approaches to child and adolescent health and wellbeing by Jennifer M. Waite-Jones, Alison M. Rodriguez An engaging guide to psychosocial theories of child and adolescents' wellbeing, demonstrating how psychology and sociology can be used to address key contemporary issues for those working with children and adolescents.
ISBN: 9783030993542
Publication Date: 2022-07-07
Oxford Handbook of Primary Care and Community Nursing by Judy Brook (Editor); Caroline McGraw (Editor); Val Thurtle (Editor) Fully updated for its third edition, the Oxford Handbook of Primary Care and Community Nursing is the essential guide to caring for patients in primary care and in community settings. Concise and comprehensive, the book provides the reader with both evidence-based clinical knowledge as well asthe organizational structure of community health services.Chapters range from common adult and paediatric health problems, to more specific targeted advice for service users with extra needs and people with long-term conditions. The handbook includes information on how health and social care services are organised and funded, from common technical careprocedures to complex situations, alongside detailed aspects of health promotion in adults, children, and adolescents.With new topics on consultation frameworks and models, supporting young people in their transition to the adult services, and female genital mutilation, all clinical guidelines, epidemiology, and statistics have been revised to reflect developments since the previous edition. Providing an accessible and instant resource for everyday nursing, and a benchmark of good practice, the Oxford Handbook of Primary Care and Community Nursing is a unique and invaluable companion for all health care professionals working in the primary care and community setting.
ISBN: 9780198831822
Publication Date: 2021-04-01
A Treasure Box for Creating Trauma-Informed Organizations by Karen Treisman This Treasure Box book is packed full of valuable resources from bestselling and award-winning author, trainer, organizational consultant, and Clinical Psychologist Dr. Karen Treisman, and will show you how to weave a deep understanding of trauma and adversity into the daily practice and the whole fabric of your organization. This expert knowledge is presented in a bright and easy to understand way. Every chapter contains a huge array of colour photocopiable worksheets, downloadable materials, practical ideas, reflective questions, and exercises ready to use both individually and organizationally. Covering guidance on policies, recruitment, supervision, language, cultural humility, co-production, team meeting ideas, staff wellbeing and more, this is the ultimate treasure trove for getting your organization truly and meaningfully trauma-informed. There are also contributors from all over the world within different contexts, from prisons to social care to schools to residential homes and much more, which illustrate how to take the ideas and apply them into real world practice.
ISBN: 9781839971884
Publication Date: 2021-05-21
Learning Disability Nursing by Ruth Northway; Paula Hopes Explores all aspects of professional development in learning disability nursing from the foundations to advanced practice. Key themes running through the book include the importance of a human rights and values-based approach, the development of person-centred approaches to care and support, and the need to work in partnership with key stakeholders, including people with learning disabilities and their families. It encourages readers to make links between theory and practice and to develop their skills in critical thinking through case studies and reflective activities. This is a must-have book for all undergraduate nurses studying to become Registered Nurses (Learning Disability), specifically linked to achieving the outcomes required within the NMC Standards for Nurse Education (2018). It is also of relevance to qualified learning disability nurses, those studying to become Registered Nurses (Intellectual Disabilities) in Ireland, as well as nursing students in general who should have a good working knowledge of learning disability practice.
ISBN: 9781914171352
Publication Date: 2022-09-01
Squaring the circle: Researching normal birth in a technological world by Soo Downe and Sheena Byrom
ISBN: 9781780664446
Publication Date: 2019

Using print books

When you look up a book in Library Search that we have as a physical book, the entry will say whether the book can be found at Collegiate or Adsetts Library. Most of the physical books in the library collection that are related to nursing and midwifery can be found at Collegiate Library.

The entry in Library Search also tells you the book’s shelfmark, a number that is used to organise the books according to their topic. The shelfmark number is located on the spine of each book and the books are arranged in numerical order in the library. Books that are next to each other on the shelf will be about similar topics.

Here are some examples of shelfmarks you might encounter:

610.73 - Nursing
612 - Human physiology
618.2 - Midwifery / Obstetrics

At Collegiate Library, the signs at the end of each shelf tell you the topics and shelfmark numbers covered by the books on that shelf.

There will normally be 2 or 3 letters after the shelfmark number on Library Search (e.g. ELL). These are usually taken from the author's surname and are used to alphabetically arrange books that have the same shelfmark number.

You can find out more about borrowing library books here.

New print titles

Recent print (physical) additions to the Collegiate Library collection - updated June 2023

Oxford Textbook of Inpatient Psychiatry by Alvaro Barrera (Editor); Caroline Attard (Editor); Rob Chaplin (Editor) Inpatient mental health care is an essential part of community-based mental health care in the UK. Patients admitted to acute mental health wards are often experiencing high levels of distress and acute mental illness and need to be assessed, managed, and treated by a wide team of mentalhealth care professionals. Inpatient care is often a traumatic experience for patients and their relatives which can define their relationship with mental health care services. Reforming inpatient psychiatry is a priority for both patients and staff, yet there are few reference texts on thispsychiatric specialty.The Oxford Textbook of Inpatient Psychiatry bridges this gap by offering a comprehensive and pragmatic guide to the UK's inpatient mental health care system today. Written and edited by a multidisciplinary team, this innovative resource discusses the real-life experiences and challenges of a widerange of professionals working on acute mental health wards. Organized into 8 sections this resource covers nursing, team leadership, multidisciplinary work, psychology, and medical aspects. Individual chapters address key topics such as the management of children and adolescents, and containinformation on up-to-date research and best practice.Focusing on the dignity and autonomy of patients, this unique resource offers a model for clinical and organizational practice both at a national and international level.
ISBN: 9780198794257
Publication Date: 2019-08-07
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare : A Guide to Best Practice by Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk Ellen Fineout-Overholt This user-friendly guide to evidence-based practice will serve as a guide to implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and healthcare.
ISBN: 9781975185732
Publication Date: 2023-01-12
Becoming a Midwife by Ellie Durant 'A must have for all aspiring and current student midwives and Newly Qualified Midwives.' - Carinna Griffiths, lecturer in Midwifery Written in a friendly and uplifting tone, Becoming a Midwife provides students and newly-qualified midwives with the tools and support they need to thrive on their course, on placement and in the early stages of their careers. The first part of the book focuses on core academic skills, including chapters on time management, writing essays and reflections, delivering presentations and preparing for exams. The book then establishes the fundamentals of clinical practice, and presents tried-and-tested strategies for developing clinical skills alongside guidance on managing workplace relationships and challenges. The final chapters help students make the transition to newly-qualified, with guidance on job applications, advocacy and career options. Acknowledging that midwifery can be a challenging and emotionally-demanding profession, this book has a strong focus on self-care and seeking support, as well as managing stress, avoiding burnout and juggling work, study and life. Chapters are enriched with insights from students and practising midwives, practical tips, worksheets to promote reflective practice and suggestions for further reading. Accompanying online resources for this title can be found at midwifediaries.com, including videos, blogs and interviews with practising midwives.
ISBN: 9781350322332
Publication Date: 2023-05-04
Dilemmas and Decision Making in Nursing by Julia Hubbard (Editor) Looking for a book that will help you hone your decision-making skills as a nursing student or practitioner? Look no further than this innovative volume. It provides a collection of engaging fictional scenarios that explore how nurses tackle clinical dilemmas, weigh up options and make good decisions based on a sound understanding of theory related to practice. More than just a simple collection of case studies, this book offers a comprehensive thinking framework that will allow you to truly understand how theory can be applied to practice. It provides opportunities to discuss clinical dilemmas in a safe space in which you can explore your own values and beliefs, apply professional knowledge and consider new approaches to nursing.  Featured in these clinical scenarios are professional dilemmas you may not have yet encountered in your practice to help you uncover new methods of decision-making. It explores best practice and takes account of other professional perspectives, including challenges and barriers to interdisciplinary working. After using this book you will feel confident in your problem-solving and decision-making abilities. 
ISBN: 9781915080325
Publication Date: 2023-05-25
Dilemmas and Decision Making in Midwifery by Julia Hubbard (Editor); Kenda Crozier (Editor) This book teaches students and educators in the midwifery field how to tackle dilemmas and decision making. Combining theory and practice, and promoting critical thinking, this book provides key knowledge alongside case studies of how to approach real-life dilemmas in midwifery. Written and edited by experts in the field, this book gives midwives and student midwives the opportunity to experience a systematic approach to facing dilemmas and decision making through the use of clinical scenarios. This is done in a safe space through an annotated thinking aloud framework where students and educators can have open discussions. Student midwives and practitioners are given the opportunity to explore professional dilemmas they might not have witnessed and uncover new theories that will influence future decisions.  Linked to the 2019 NMC Standards for Midwifery, this book is essential reading for all stages of the midwifery career including those supporting students, coordinating care teams and those supporting multi-cultural communities. The midwives' personal reflections explore best practice and take account of other professional perspectives,including facilitators and barriers to interdisciplinary working. Learners will be able to consider a number of factors including concepts and theories, ethics and legal accountability, to explore how they interplay in making decisions.   
ISBN: 9781915080233
Publication Date: 2023-06-05
LGBTQ Health Research by Ron Stall (Editor); Brian Dodge (Editor); José A. Bauermeister (Editor); Tonia Poteat (Editor); Chris Beyrer (Editor) Over the last 30 years, the health needs of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer Americans have become increasingly recognized, in particular for the ways in which they are distinct from those typically assessed and addressed in society. Universities and researchers are paying greater attention to LGBTQ public health issues and how they might adapt existing methods to research marginalized communities, Developed for graduate students in public health and health sciences - but perfect for anyone interested in this topic - this book will fill that gap and provide the necessary public health tools to teach about and study LGBTQ populations effectively.
ISBN: 9781421438788
Publication Date: 2020-09-01

Document Supply Service

If you need to access a resource that the library doesn't already have in its collection, then you can use our Document Supply Service. You can use the library's Document Supply Service to request journal articles, books, book chapters, or other resources not available at Sheffield Hallam. The Document Supply Service will then apply to borrow these resources from other libraries, both from within the UK and from around the world.

More information about how to use this service can be found at the following link: Document Supply Service

Suggest a purchase

If there is a book or other resource that you think would be a good addition to the library collection, you can submit a Suggest a Purchase form. Library staff will review your request and let you know whether we are able to purchase it.

Nursing and Midwifery

Using eBooks

New eBooks

Using print books

New print titles

Document Supply Service

Suggest a purchase

Adsetts Library

Collegiate Library

Sheffield Hallam University

City Campus, Howard Street

Sheffield S1 1WB

Accessibility

Legal information

Privacy and GDPR