LibGuides: Engineering, Electronics, Materials science and Mathematics: Business information

Market research

Market research provides information on the market for goods, services and industries, to help companies plan for the future and design products that will sell. It includes information such as:

user statistics and demographics;
companies already involved the market;
the current business environment;
and new developments and predictions.

Marketline Advantage This link opens in a new window
Straightforward international market research database, providing reports and case studies on industries, companies and countries, including many engineering-related industries.
Mintel Academic Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research reports on UK consumer goods, including electronics.
Alternative link.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering companies, industries and countries, including global reports for industries. Also includes journal articles.
Alternative link
Which? online This link opens in a new window
Product reviews, tests and comparisons for a range of goods, including cars and consumer electronics. Please note that you will need a special password to access it.
Supplements such as Which? Car and The Tax-Saving Guide are also included, along with The Good Food Guide and Good Bed and Breakfast Guide. It is updated every month, and the magazine archive goes back to 2005.

Statistical data

Photo credit: 'hd001f.jpg' by pschubert

Office for National Statistics This link opens in a new window
Official UK statistics.
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Broad statistical, economic and political overviews of countries.
Includes images of national flags and reference maps of continents and regions. Country profiles include both written and statistical data.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Country reports with demographic, economic and political data. Also includes journal articles and market research reports.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Market research data that analysts at Euromonitor have collated including consumer lifestyle reports, future demographics, country profiles, updates on consumer and industry trends, company information, market sizes and economic indicators. Passport covers more than 200 countries and regions, with a global outlook
UK Data Service (registration required) This link opens in a new window
UK and international survey and statistical data drawn from a range of respected sources including: United Nations, IMF, OECD, World Bank, International Labour Organization (ILO), International Energy Agency (IEA), Eurostat and UNIDO. Free registration required to access some parts of the database.

Supply chain information

Supply Chain Analysis This link opens in a new window
Profiles, case studies and data about supply logistics and supply chains within the food retail industry. Produced by IGD
It also includes: Focus areas, In-store, Logistics, Strategy and planning, Sustainable supply chains ; 120+ industry case studies.

Official documents and guidance

Construction Information Service This link opens in a new window
Regulations, standards and advisory documents relating to structural and civil engineering and construction..
Covers documents essential to the design and construction of buildings, construction management, contract documents, health and safety and design guidance. Also includes a direct link to the Building regulations, the Metric handbook and BS 5588, Fire precautions in buildings together with a link to NBS BRAD. Updated weekly.

Health and Safety Executive (HSE)
Advice and guidance from the health & safety regulatory body for the UK

Engineering, Electronics, Materials science and Mathematics

Market research

Company information

Statistical data

Supply chain information

Official documents and guidance