LibGuides: Art: Books and eBooks

Finding eBooks in Library Search

The Library aims to have both eBook and print versions of books as we know both formats are important especially when studying away from the University. Unfortunately publishers do not always offer an eBook in a format suitable for library use, or it is not available at the time we order the print version.

How to find eBooks

Go to the Library Gateway at: https://library.shu.ac.uk
Search for your keywords in Library Search e.g contemporary art.
To the left of your search results click on Books / eBooks and Online.
Choose a book and follow the link(s) available under Find online. The links will either say View online at: or the name of an eBook provider.

Document Supply Services

If you cannot find and access the item you need using Library Search or your subject guide, then please make a request using the Document Supply Services form and we will do our best to provide you with digital access to what you need.

Bloomsbury online resources

Bloomsbury cultural history This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Bloomsbury's Cultural Histories series as well as an eBook collection and primary sources from leading global institutions.
Bloomsbury fashion central This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Fashion Central is a dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Content is peer reviewed by industry and academic experts and includes interconnected major reference works, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, bibliographic guides, textbooks, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and tens of thousands of images from museums around the world to create a rich educational resource.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
This resource comprises a collection of richly illustrated books packed with practical tools, guidance, and inspiration for students on practice-led visual arts courses. It covers a diverse range of fields including design and illustration, fashion and textiles, architecture and interiors, film and media, marketing and advertising, and photography.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Design Library provides scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BC to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable. Explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.

Key subject numbers for Fine Art

709 Fine Art shelfmark Books are arranged in the library by shelfmarks. Each book has a number followed by at least two letters. Signs on the end of shelves tell you what numbers are on the shelves. Books with the same or similar numbers will deal with related topics.

Useful shelfmark numbers for Fine Art


Aesthetics	701.1
Art from specific countries	709.4-709.9
Art Deco	709.04012
Artists	709.2 A-Z
Arts management	706.8
Art therapy	615.85156
Body art	391.65
Cubism	709.04032
Environmental and land art	709.04076
Graffiti	751.73
Impressionism	709.0344
Installations	709.0407
Museums and galleries	708
Performance art	709.04074
Photography	770
Pop art	709.04071
Portraits	704.942
Postmodernism	701.18
Public art	710
Surrealism	709.04063
Women in art	709.9424

Check your module reading list to find the essential resources for your course. Search for the title or code of the module.