LibGuides: Economics, Finance and Accounting: Journal Articles

Browse the latest Business and Economics journals

Browse eJournals

Journal article databases

You can find most Economics, Finance and Accounting journal articles by searching Library Search. But if you need to do a more in-depth search of the literature, you will also find these databases useful.

If there is an important journal article that does not seem to be available through these resources, our Document Supply Service may be able to get a copy for you.

Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window ABI/INFORM Collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Full text coverage of trade and academic journals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Access to subscribed journals and eBooks published by Emerald. Subject coverage: business, management, marketing, retailing, economics, education, engineering and library and information science.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Proquest Central This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary full text database covering business, health and medical, social sciences, education , science and technology, including core titles in the performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and language and literature. It includes both scholarly journals as well as market research and industry reports, working papers and full-text dissertations.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary abstract and database curated by subject matter experts. Scopus is also a citation index, which means that the records in the database contain information on citations made in that publication and it links that information so you can identify which publications have cited that one, and how many times a publication has been cited.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to a collection of databases. The default search is of the Web of Science Core Collection, which includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index. This enables you to search scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the citation network. By clicking on the drop-down menu next to ‘Search in:’ you can choose to search other databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008), KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index and SciELO Citation Index.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect provides journal articles and eBooks on the physics, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, health, computing and social sciences. The default search includes both ebooks and journal articles. You can use filters in your results to select between them: alternatively, you can use the search tab. Search results for eBooks are at chapter level. Alternative link via Shibboleth Articles and eBooks can be downloaded, saved permanently and kept as PDFs that you can view offline.

Databases with an international focus

Some example journals

Here are a few examples of journals. You can find more journal articles by using Library Search.

Accountancy Live
Full-text access to Accountancy Magazine with additional technical news, analysis and insight for the accountancy, tax and audit professions. There is also an in-built CPD facility – which requires a separate login.
The Accounting Review
The Banker
Contemporary Accounting Research
The Economist
Harvard Business Review
Journal of Accountancy
Journal of Accounting and Economics
Journal of Accounting Research
Journal of Banking and Finance
The Journal of Finance
Qualitative Research in Accounting and Management: QRAM