Skip to main content

Reading Lists Online - guide for academic staff

Your Library Collection - Library Gateway

Starting your search with Library Gateway will help you identify resources in the library collections which you can include on your reading list.

  • Library Search - Use your keywords and limit to online resources to see what other eBook titles we might already have in our collection.
  • Google Scholar - If you want to add online research articles to your reading lists, Google Scholar is an alternative way of finding additional material..  Remember to use the link to Google Scholar on the Library Gateway.
  • SHURA - SHURA is the university own research repository. Items cannot be added directly from this resource into your reading list but it will give you some idea of the research being carried out in the University at the moment.  
  • Subject Guides - your students will be introduced to these pages in their information skills sessions.  They contain links to subject specific databases and web resources.  They are particularly useful for the students to start to find their own information to supplement their reading lists..

Your Library Collection - A-Z Index of Databases

Your Library Collection - Subject Guides

Your Library Collection - Multimedia Resources

Using multimedia resources is a good way of offering alternative resources to students, and can make an RLO engaging and accessible. The Library has access to a number of multimedia services.

Your Library Collection - Open Access Resources

There are now a number of Open Access websites that give you access to freely available research articles.  This is another option students could be encouraged to use, to find their own materials. The added benefit to these resources is that they will be available to the students once they have left university..

 A service that indexes and provides access to over 9800 peer reviewed Open Access journals and the articles in them. You can search by article, journal or browse by subject.

An authoritative directory of about 2500 open access repositories (research archives). You can search the directory or the contents of repositories. Contents may be research outcomes or pre-prints of journal articles and book chapters published by researchers

Your Library Collection - Online Archives

Digitisation

Digitisation of print items

Use Request review if you bookmark chapters or articles that are not currently available electronically.  Wherever possible we will digitise these (licences and copyright law permitting). 
We recommend you liaise with your Library faculty team if you have any questions regarding resources that need ordering.

Digitisating readings across lists

You can tell if an item on an RLO is a chapter or article digitised by the library services Digitisation team by grouping the items by section.

The digitised reading will have been made purposefully for that particular module, and details such as the module code and student numbers will have been recorded for copyright auditing. Therefore, please do not copy the link across and use it on an RLO for a different module. If you need a digitised reading for a new RLO, please either add it to the RLO and set it to review or complete the form below and send it to copyright@shu.ac.uk

Subject Librarian

Your Learning and Teaching Support  Librarian will work with you to find electronically available resources that are essential for your reading list.  Details of your subject librarian can be found by following this link at the Directory of Subject Librarians 

Part of finding good alternative text is to make sure the students themselves are aware and capable of searching the Library Gateway. These search skills are included in the library workshops, or your subject librarian can help you identify training material to include in your own sessions..