Will SHU Links always find full text?
No, SHU Links will sometimes NOT find full text. In some cases, there simply may not be a full text version of the article you want. In other instances, the SHU Library may not subscribe to the full text of the journal.
If there is no option to link to full text within the SHU Links menu, please check Library Search to see whether the item is held in print format.
How can I tell if electronic full text is available via SHU Links?
If electronic full-text is available SHU Links will display Fulltext available with links to sources under the Find online tab.
If Fulltext available does not display, then the Request options tab will show a link to request a copy of the item from Document Supply Services
Why does SHU Links sometimes offer a link to the full text of the article and sometimes only a link to the journal?
SHU Links will try to make a link to the full text of the article. If this is not possible then it will create a link to the journal's homepage from where you should be able to browse to the issue containing the article, or search for the article title.
What do I do if the View full text online link does not work?
SHU Links will try to make a link to the full text of the article, but occasionally the links don't work.
Try using the Google Scholar link. This will run a search which may find the article from another source.
If you still cannot find the article please report the problem via the Report a problem or error link.
Why does the number of options in the SHU links window vary?
SHU Links services are determined by the information available in the record you started with and the Library resources available. Only those services which are available for the specific item appear in the menu.
Why does the SHU Links button display even when there is no full text?
The button will usually display for each item in your search results. Even if no electronic full text option is available SHU Links will offer a menu of other relevant services such as links to Google Scholar to search other sources, and Request options that you might use to request a copy through our Document Supply Services.
If the article I want isn't available online, how can I get it?
Even if it is not immediately available our Document Supply Service might be able to get a copy of the article for you from another library. You can use the Request options links on SHU links to request an article and usually it will be delivered within a few days.