Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Research Support

Sharing your research outputs

Making your publications Open Access in SHURA or by publishing them ‘Gold’ Open access, makes them available to a wider audience and guarantees the long-term preservation of your outputs so that future generations can access them.  This raises your profile and also helps you to meet your funder and the REF Open Access requirements

In addition, you may wish to share your outputs through other routes, but please be aware that your publisher may restrict where you can share your work and which versions you can use.

 

Sharing your published works

Caution should be applied regarding what is revealed about research before publication. Many academic publishers will not accept pre-published work, including work that has been posted on the internet via blogs, social networks, etc.  The advice below applies to already published works.

Before sharing your work, check what your publisher allows you to do. Many publishers offer information about their sharing policies, although sometimes policies of journals from the same publisher can be different.

Below are some examples of sharing policies from some of the large academic publishers.

The STM Association has created howcanishareit.com to provide further information about sharing journal articles. It includes the “Can I Share It” look-up tool and a longer list of links of the publisher’s sharing policies. You can check also check publisher and journal Open Access policies by using SHERPA Romeo.

 

Academic Social Networks

Academic  Social Networks such such as Academia and ResearchGate are commercial companies.

When using sites such as Academia and ResearchGate, please make sure that your publisher allows you to upload your work to these social networking sites (remember they are commercial).    Your publisher may not allow you to upload your work to commercial sites, even if it allows it to be deposited on SHURA (not for profit).  A good solution to this can be to link from the social network to your outputs on SHURA instead of uploading your full text to social network.

Always deposit your output in SHURA using Elements not just on social networks.

 
Academic Social Networks SHURA Academia Researchgate
Supports export or harvesting of your metadata and publications Yes No No
Guarantees long-term Open Access to your research outputs Yes No No
Supports the long-term preservation of your work Yes No No
Business model Not for profit
(institutional repository)
Commercial
(sells job posting services, hope to sell data)
Commercial
(sells ads and job posting services)
Fulfills the requirements of the SHU Open Access Publication policy Yes Yes Yes

 

The Hallam authors book collection

The Hallam authors book collection is an initiative from the library to collect, preserve and promote books authored or edited by SHU academic staff.  

The Hallam authors book collection catalogue brings the books by SHU authors and editors together in a searchable catalogue. The books themselves can be found in either the Adsetts Library or Collegiate Library with the other books on the same subject area or they may be available online.  The intention is that the printed resources in the collection will be preserved indefinitely in the Library.

If you are member of staff at SHU and a book you have authored or edited has recently been published, you may have a copy that you would be willing to donate to the SHU Library.  For example, if you have a spare complimentary copy that the publisher provided.   Your donated copy will become part of the Hallam authors book collection. 

If you have a copy that you can donate, please contact us for more details on how to do this:

Email: library-research-support@shu.ac.uk
Call: (0114) 225 3852