Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks: Importing references

Exporting to RefWorks from databases

Proquest RefWorks enables you to add references by entering the title and searching for the resource you want or by adding PDF files.

In addition, you can export references to both Legacy and Proquest RefWorks from Library Search, databases and Google Scholar. 

Direct Export of references

Many databases have a direct export to RefWorks function.  If you cannot see this option, find your database in the list below for instructions.  When you export references you will be asked which version of RefWorks you wish to use.  Select the appropriate version:

Importing references from files

Some databases do not offer a direct export option.  In this case, you need to save your references from the database as a text file or .ris file.  The file of references can then be imported into RefWorks. 

Look in the list below for your database to find out how to export the references as a file.  The list below also includes instructions for  how to import the file into Legacy RefWorks.

To import the file into New RefWorks, use the method here:

  • Click on 'Add new reference' (the plus sign)
  • Click on 'Import references'
  • Click on 'Select a file from your computer' and then find the saved file
  • If you are asked 'What is the format of this file?' type in the name of the database you saved the references from e.g. Cochrane Library or the type of file e.g. BibTeX
  • You may need to choose a specific database to get the best results
  • Click the 'Import' button

Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering (ANTE) via Proquest

ACM Digital Library

ACS Journal Search

Aerospace Database via Proquest

 Allied and Complimentary Medicine (AMED) via OVID

 Aluminium Industry Abstracts via Proquest

 Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) via Proquest

Aqualine via Proquest?

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) via Proquest

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) via Proquest

Australian Education Index via Proquest

 Bacteriology Abstracts via Proquest

 Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH)

 BibTeX

 Biological Sciences via Proquest

Biomed Central

Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts via Proquest

Biotechnology Research Abstracts via Proquest

BMJ Journals Information Centre

 British Education Index via Proquest

 British Humanities Index (BHI) via Proquest

 British Library Catalogue

British Nursing Index via EBSCOhost

British Periodicals via Proquest

Business Source Premier via EBSCOhost

Ceramic Abstracts via Proquest

 CINAHL Plus with Full text via EBSCOhost

 Civil Engineering Abstracts via Proquest

 Cochrane Library

Communication Abstracts via EBSCOhost

Compendex

COPAC

Copper Technical Reference Library via Proquest

 Corrosion Abstracts via Proquest

 COS Conference Papers Index via Proquest

 Dawsonera E-books

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) via Proquest

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts via Proquest

Ecology Abstracts via Proquest

Electronics & Communications Abstracts via Proquest

 Emerald

 EndNote

 Engineered Materials Abstracts via Proquest

Environmental Engineering Abstracts via Proquest

Environmental Impact Statements: Digests via Proquest

Environmental Science and Pollution Management via Proquest

ERIC via Proquest

 ERIC via EBSCOhost

 Film & Television Literature Index via EBSCOhost

 Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) via EBSCOhost

Foodline Market via OVID

GreenFILE via EBSCOhost

Google Scholar

Health & Safety Science Abstracts via Proquest

 Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition via EBSCOhost

 HighWire Press

 Historical Abstracts via EBSCOhost

Hospitality & Tourism Index via EBSCOhost

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers

IEEE Xplore

Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) via Proquest

 Ingenta Connect

 International Civil Engineering Abstracts (Emerald)

 Journals @ OVID via OVID

JSTOR

Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) via Proquest

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts via EBSCOhost

Library Search

 Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) via Proquest

 Literature Online (LION)

 MathEduc

 Maternity and Infant Care via OVID

Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts via Proquest

MEDLINE via EBSCOhost

MEDLINE via Proquest

Mendeley

 METADEX via Proquest

 MLA International Bibliography

 MyiLibrary

Nexis UK

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database via Proquest

NHS Evidence (Evidence Search)

Oceanic Abstracts via Proquest

 Physical Education Index via Proquest

 PILOTS via Proquest

 PROLA

ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Journals

ProQuest Deep Indexing

ProQuest Education Journals

ProQuest Engineering Journals

 PsycARTICLES via Proquest

 PsycINFO via Proquest

 PubMed

RefGrab-It

Regional Business News via EBSCOhost

Resource Lists Online

Royal Society of Chemistry Journals online

 RSS Feeds

 Sage Publications/Journals Online

 ScienceDirect

Scopus

SHURA

Social Care Online

Social Services Abstracts via Proquest

 Sociological Abstracts via Proquest

 Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts via Proquest

 SPORTDiscus via EBSCOhost

 SpringerLink

SwetsWise

Taylor & Francis Online

Teacher Reference Center via EBSCOhost

Toxicology Abstracts via Proquest

 TOXLINE via Proquest

 Web of Science

 Wilson Art full text

 ZETOC

Zotero