Electronic resources for visitors

A multi-disciplinary full text database covering business, health and medical, social sciences, education , science and technology, including core titles in the performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and language and literature. It includes both scholarly journals as well as market research and industry reports, working papers and full-text dissertations.

ScienceDirect provides journal articles and eBooks on the physics, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, health, computing and social sciences. The default search includes both ebooks and journal articles. You can use filters in your results to select between them: alternatively, you can use the search tab. Search results for eBooks are at chapter level.
Alternative link via Shibboleth
Articles and eBooks can be downloaded, saved permanently and kept as PDFs that you can view offline.

Search SAGE journal articles from 1879 onward. Sheffield Hallam University has access to only SOME of these journals.

Over 1200 full text electronic journals in a variety of subject areas. Browse journals through the alphabetical listing or by subject area. Or search the content of all the journals and e-books. Note: you will only be able to get the full-text of articles or books that we have subscribed to.

Databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases relating to art, business, communication, film and television, history, medicine, sport etc. which can be searched individually or collectively. The resources offer abstracts, full-text journal articles, news items, company reports, and peer-reviewed sources. Includes some full text. alternative link

Access to subscribed journals and eBooks published by Emerald. Subject coverage: business, management, marketing, retailing, economics, education, engineering and library and information science.

Search journals published by Oxford University Press. Sheffield Hallam University has access to only SOME of these journals.

Link to over 1000 current quality journals and 200 journal backfiles, with access to tables of contents information and some full text. There are journals from a variety of subject areas including chemistry, medicine, life sciences, engineering, materials, business and environmental sciences.

Cambridge core is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press's collection of leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities. SHU only has access to some content. Can select "Only search content i have access to.

Search Brill Journals. nb Sheffield Hallam University has access to only SOME of these journals.

Full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online comprises of Encyclopaedia Britannica, Student , Elementary, Concise encyclopaedia plus Britannica internet Guide and Merridiam Webster collegiate Dictionary/Thesaurus.

JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles, based on current scholarship, on noteworthy people from all walks of life who have left their mark on British history. No living person is included in the dictionary.

Oxford English Dictionary,is regularly updated. and is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

Oxford Reference Online gives access to the world's largest reference collection, allowing for a single cross searchable resource. Comprises 100+ quick reference titles from the Core Collection plus 50,000+ longer in-depth entries from an expanding range of titles in the Oxford Companies series.

Access to more than 100 full text journal backfiles for the arts, humanities and social sciences from the Periodicals Archive Online collection.

A comprehensive collection of mostly full-text dissertations and theses.
If full-text is not available, use the document delivery service.
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

Scopus is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary abstract and database curated by subject matter experts. Scopus is also a citation index, which means that the records in the database contain information on citations made in that publication and it links that information so you can identify which publications have cited that one, and how many times a publication has been cited.

a-n Login here for student code
a-n The Artists Information Company a-n is the largest artists’ membership organisation in the UK with over 24,000 members. We support artists and those who work with them in many practical ways, acting on behalf of our membership.

A collection of ProQuest's databases covering the Art and Design, including The Vogue full text archive.

Art Full text contains 300 full text journals. Covers art, artists, history of art, design, graphic design, architecture, metalwork, jewellery, cultural policy, visual culture, museums, film.

Full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.

A comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers.

This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 100 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes half a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.

A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

Full text coverage of trade and academic journals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
alternative link

This database contains (mostly) full text articles from regional US business magazines and trade publications.

Access to subscribed journals and eBooks published by Emerald. Subject coverage: business, management, marketing, retailing, economics, education, engineering and library and information science.

Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Particular strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs.

Education Abstracts indexes journals dating back to 1983 and books from 1995 on a wide range of education topics

Educational Administration Abstracts indexes over 190000 records Topics include educational leadership, research and management.

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.

ProQuest Education database gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.

The Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

Over 1200 full text electronic journals in a variety of subject areas. Browse journals through the alphabetical listing or by subject area. Or search the content of all the journals and e-books. Note: you will only be able to get the full-text of articles or books that we have subscribed to.

Indexes journal articles for mechanical, civil, materials, electrical and medical engineering. It is particularly useful for UK, automotive and sports engineering. Allows cross-searching with other Proquest databases and easy export of resources to Refworks.

Indexes journal articles, conference papers, books, patents, and reports from NASA and other organisations. Covering the topics of aeronautics and space technology, as well as relevant supporting subjects such as electronics, physics and chemistry. As a Proquest database, it allows cross-searching with other Proquest databases and easy export of resources to Refworks.

This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from AIAA and NASA. The database currently includes over 3.6M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960's. Covers all aspects of applied research in the aerospace and space sciences.

An index of journal articles, conference papers, reports, patents and books about world-wide aluminium applications, processing, products and business. As a Proquest database, it allows cross-searching with other Proquest databases and easy export of resources to Refworks.

A multi-volume reference guide to materials engineering. Contains in-depth articles on: material properties, characterisation and selection; working, treating and processing metals; testing materials; and corrosion, fatigue and failure. It includes many tables, diagrams and photographs. Although the handbook focuses primarily on metals, it also includes information on non-metallic materials. Also includes the Metals Handbook and the Engineered Materials Handbook (which looks at polymers, ceramics, composites and adhesives).

Ceramic Abstracts is now part of Materials Science Index. By default, your search will be limited to Ceramic Abstracts content only. Deselect the checkbox to expand your search and get more results.

Civil Engineering Abstracts is now part of Engineering Index. By default, your search will be limited to Civil Engineering Abstracts content only. Deselect the checkbox to expand your search and get more results.

This database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from ASCE and ICE. The database currently includes over 1M records from periodicals, conference papers, trade journals, magazines, books, patents and technical reports, with indexing back to the early 1960s. It covers all civil aspects from architecture, structural design and construction engineering to environmental, seismic engineering and forensics.

An index of the world's literature in the area of corrosion science and engineering.

This database draws from academic and trade journals, conferences and books to provide articles on earthquake's effects on buildings and other structures, geological formations and how seismic and tsunamic phenomena relate.

This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, equipment and instrumentation, power systems and electrical engineering.

This collection provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.

ProQuest Deep Indexing provides searching of indexed figures, tables, graphs, maps, charts and other illustrations from scholarly journals.

ProQuest Deep Indexing provides searching of indexed figures, tables, graphs, maps, charts and other illustrations from scholarly journals.

This collection provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.

Abstracting database covering the development of children and young people up to age 21, Child Development & Adolescent Studies includes journals, technical reports books and theses from biomedical and social sciences.

Cinahl Complete with Full Text, the authoritative bibliographic database for nursing and allied health, provides full text for 1350 journals. alternative link

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences.
alternative link

Digitised resource, based on the collection of Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817), which contains approximately 1,270 titles. It includes newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides and some general periodicals, such as The Tatler and The Spectator.

A collection of 178 national and regional newspapers chosen by the British Library to represent 19th Century Britain. The emphasis is on newspapers which helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism and Home Rule. Every front page, editorial, birth and death notice, advertisement and classified ad is accessible.

Full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.

Historical Abstracts is a database covering journal articles, books and some dissertations on world history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.

A collection of historic newspapers including The Guardian (1821-2003); Observer (1791-2003); New York Times (1851-2010); Times of India (1838-2004). News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, photos and advertisements in downloadable pdf format.

Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large, including Murder, theatre, sport and politics. With more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.

Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.

Cross-searches SHU's collection of Gale historical newspapers, comprising Newspapers from British Library from 1757 to 1950 and The Times, Financial Times, Daily Mail, Economist, TLS Historical Archives. With the power to search millions of digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault provides an unparalleled window to the past.

Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation whose papers provide insights into the cultural and social history of Britain from 1937 to 1965. The material at the Mass Observation Archive, and now on Mass Observation Online, offers an unparalled insight into everyday life in the 1930s and 1940s.

An index of articles from over 2,000 international journal publications.

Literature Online includes more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 323 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources, as well as access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) and MLA International Bibliography.

38 peer-reviewed journals in Chemistry and related subjects published by the American Chemical Society. Provides searchable access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles some dating back to 1879.

AIP Publishing is a wholly owned not-for-profit subsidiary of the American Institute of Physics (AIP). Their portfolio comprises highly regarded, peer-reviewed journals, including a growing portfolio of Open Access titles, that cover all areas of the physical sciences

Includes Biomedical/Life Sciences Collection current year and the previous four years. The reviews included within this collection are: Analytical chemistry; Biochemistry; Biomedical engineering; Biophysics; Cell and developmental biology; Chemical and biomolecular engineering; Clinical psychology; Ecology; Evolution and systematics ; Entomology; Food science and technology; Genetics; Genomics and human genetics; Immunology ; Marine Science; Medicine; Microbiology; Neuroscience; Nutrition; Pathology: Mechanisms of disease ; Pharmacology and toxicology; Physiology; Phytopathology; Plant biology; Psychology; Public health.

Collection of Proquest's16 Biomedical and Health Sciences indexing databases.

Abstracting database covering the development of children and young people up to age 21, Child Development & Adolescent Studies includes journals, technical reports books and theses from biomedical and social sciences.

Abstracts for journal articles, patents, reviews, standards, books, reports, legislation, theses and conference proceedings in food science, food technology and nutrition.
Access is now unlimited.

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

A collection of 8 indexing databases for materials science and engineering from the Proquest platform: the databases are also available to search individually. You can choose to remove some databases from your searches. Deep indexing also makes it easier to find illustrations, graphs, tables and other diagrams.

Combining Nature, Nature Research Journals, Nature Reviews Journals, NPG Academic Journals and NPG Reference publications, to provide an information resource for the basic biological and physical sciences.

Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science.

The collection contains environmental science related abstracting and indexing databases

RSC Journals Online provides full text access to journals with international coverage of Environmental, Analytical, Materials, Organic, Biomolecular and Physical Chemistry.

ScienceDirect provides journal articles and eBooks on the physics, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, health, computing and social sciences. The default search includes both ebooks and journal articles. You can use filters in your results to select between them: alternatively, you can use the search tab. Search results for eBooks are at chapter level.
Alternative link via Shibboleth
Articles and eBooks can be downloaded, saved permanently and kept as PDFs that you can view offline.

An index of research on theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices and high and low temperature superconductivity technology.

New Readerships comprises 92 Victorian periodicals in a searchable and browseable digital format. The focus is on the growth of publishing in the 19th Century. Covers children, humour, leisure & sport, politics, religion, and women. Includes Punch (1841-1900). Complements British Periodicals.

Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text provides full text access to an extensive range of journals relating to criminology and criminal justice.

A bibliographic database covering a wide range of subject areas relevant to library and information science.

This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals.

This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.

Coverage: 1894 - current

This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed.

Coverage: 1806 - current

This database is published by the American Psychological Association and provides bibliographic, plus full text and multimedia of psychological tests from the early 1900s to the present. Test records include descriptive summaries of the test and its development and administration, mostly drawn from articles in peer-reviewed journals or books, with downloadable tests. 75% of the test records contain the actual test or test items.

Index of peer review journals, conference proceedings, articles from the popular press and many other publications. Coverage includes, health, coaching, dance, sport sociology and sport medicine.

This is a full-text database covering sport, and related disciplines.
alternative link