LibGuides: Computing and Games Design: Journals and Databases

eforensics

eForensics Magazine is 'a downloadable, monthly magazine focused on digital forensics. Covering all aspects of electronic forensics, from theory to practice, from methodologies and standards to tools and real-life solutions. Included are online courses that will take your digital forensics skills to a new level'.

You can access eForensics via the Library Gateway. To set up a personal account you will need to register on the eForensics website using your SHU login - you might have to do this outside of the SHU network.

This pdf (eForensics.pdf) outlines the steps you need to follow to access the resource.

Connecting to eForensics

Journals and Databases for Computing

In additon to using Library Search, below are the main databases which will help you to find computing related journal articles. The databases cover journals form different publishers and may be better for some computing subjects than others, so try more than one.

When you are searching you will find a mixture of journal articles that have been peer-reviewed with those that haven't. If you have been asked to find peer-reviewed or refereed articles it is usually possible to limit your search to these types of resources.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides access to the collection of electrical engineering, electronics and computer science journals and conferences published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). The database also includes all active standards from the IEEE.
IEEE Xplore
In the database IEEE Xplore there are now over 3.8 million articles on computing related topics. There are thousands of early access articles that you can only find by searching IEEE Xplore (not by searching through Google Scholar or Library Search).
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the journals, magazines, newsletters and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. News, analysis and academic research articles in a variety of topics in computing.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of trade and academic journals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full text database covering business, health and medical, social sciences, education , science and technology, including core titles in the performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and language and literature. It includes both scholarly journals as well as market research and industry reports, working papers and full-text dissertations.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Access to subscribed journals and eBooks published by Emerald. Subject coverage: business, management, marketing, retailing, economics, education, engineering and library and information science.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to a collection of databases. The default search is of the Web of Science Core Collection, which includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index. This enables you to search scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the citation network.
By clicking on the drop-down menu next to ‘Search in:’ you can choose to search other databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008), KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index and SciELO Citation Index.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary abstract and database curated by subject matter experts. Scopus is also a citation index, which means that the records in the database contain information on citations made in that publication and it links that information so you can identify which publications have cited that one, and how many times a publication has been cited.

Standards

Standards are documents that establish a common technical specification, so products and processes can work safely, reliably and consistently

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides access to the collection of electrical engineering, electronics and computer science journals and conferences published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). The database also includes all active standards from the IEEE.
IEEE Xplore
In the database IEEE Xplore there are now over 3.8 million articles on computing related topics. There are thousands of early access articles that you can only find by searching IEEE Xplore (not by searching through Google Scholar or Library Search).
British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
From 19th December 2020, British Standards Online will require you to install a plug-in to read it standards. We will provide further details as we learn more.
PDF copies of virtually all current standards produced by the British Standards Institution with technical specifications covering products, processes and practices for all areas of engineering, industry, food and work, as well as standardised glossaries of terms..
British standards are only applicable in the UK: however, some British standards have been adopted from standards produced by international bodies, such as ISO or CEN. Such standards will be indicated in their standard number - in the case of the previous example, BS ISO and BS EN respectively - and will be applicable outside the UK in the countries which belong to those bodies. Please note that the database can be searched either by standard number or by keyword, but not both: so if your search fails the first time, make sure that the right box is ticked under the search box.

International Telecommunications Union Publications
The ITU Electronic Bookshop provides ITU-R and IRU-T standards on radio and telecommunications. Three standards can be downloaded free of charge if you register.

Patents

A patent is a licence from a government which gives an inventor exclusive rights to create, sell or use an invention they have developed. They are excellent sources of technical data on how products and processes work.

esp@cenet This link opens in a new window
esp@cenet features databases of patent applications and grants from around the world, including the European Patent Office and GB esp@cenet, the UK patent database.
The worldwide database allows you to search patents from over 70 countries, with tens of millions of international patents available. The date to which coverage of patent goes back to depend varies with each each national database.
To conduct a general search for only GB documents please insert GB into the publication number field and either the year or publication date into the publication date field.
US Patent Full-text and Image Database This link opens in a new window
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) runs a database of US patents issued since 1790, with a separate database of US patent applications since 2001.
The complete text of patents from 1976 onwards can be searched, while only the bibliographical data of older patents can be searched.
Full-page images are available for all patents on the database for free.
The USPTO website also provides access to TESS, the US trademark database.
UK Intellectual Property Office This link opens in a new window
The Intellectual Property Office is the government organisation in charge of managing patents, copyright, trademarks and designs in the UK.
Information is available about these different types of intellectual property, with facilities to search trademarks, designs and- to a limited extent- patents. There is a link to esp@cenet to search for patents in more detail.

Sheffield Business & IP Centre
Sheffield Central Public Library has services to help with patent enquiries. The Central Library is just across the Arundel Gate road from the Adsetts Centre

Statistics

Sometimes you may find it useful to find statistics to support your work.You may find statistics on a specific computing topic in articles about that topic. If you are looking for general statistics or statistics about products, services and companies, the sources below may help.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to global statistics, data, graphs and infographics. Statista provides detailed information on over 100 industries and 120 countries, as well as global companies and market trends.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Market research data that analysts at Euromonitor have collated including consumer lifestyle reports, future demographics, country profiles, updates on consumer and industry trends, company information, market sizes and economic indicators. Passport covers more than 200 countries and regions, with a global outlook
Mintel Academic Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel is a leading name in Market Research, the Library provides access to reports published in the last two years for leading UK industries including: Technology, Media, Household Care, Health and Wellbeing, Food and Drink, Beauty and Personal Care, Automotive.
The Library subscription also covers Mintel Market Sizes which provides global market data such as market size, market share, market forecasts and segmentation.

UK Office for National Statistics
The main gateway to UK official statistics. Provides direct access to tables of data, full text publications and the latest official releases. Covers Britain's economy, population and society at national and regional levels. Updated daily
National statistics institutes
A comprehensive list of links to official national statistics institutes around the world. Compiled by the UK Data Service.
UNdata Country Profiles
United Nations statistical profiles of countries. Includes summary statistics, economic indicators, social indicators, environment and trade profiles.
UNdata Explorer
Free access to the world's major international statistics from the United Nations. Includes statistics from the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO); International Labour Organization (ILO); International Monetary Fund (IMF); International Telecommunications Union (ITU); Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD); The World Bank; UNESCO; United Nations (UN); World Health Organization (WHO); World Tourism Organization (WTO).
UK Data Service (registration required)
UK and international survey and statistical data drawn from a range of respected sources including: United Nations, IMF, OECD, World Bank, International Labour Organization (ILO), International Energy Agency (IEA), Eurostat and UNIDO. Free registration required to access some parts of the database
Nomis
Offical UK Government website providing local statistics. You can type in your postcode to get a summary report for your local area.
HM Treasury: Economic data & tools
UK Government official Treasury Department statistics.

Repositories and open access journals

Repositories contain publicly available scholarly articles and reports. They can cover particular disciplines or be the outputs of a particular institution. They are often pre-prints or copies of articles that are later published in journals and conferences.

Open access journal articles are available freely without subscription or cost.

CiteSeerX
A scientific literature digital library and search engine focusing on the literature in computer and information science. It can be used to search for preprints, articles and technical reports.
ArXiv
A repository of preprints in scientific disciplines including computer science
SHURA
An open access repository containing scholarly outputs and publications of researchers at Sheffield Hallam University
SHERPA Search
A full-text search engine covering UK repositories
OpenDOAR
A directory of world wide open access repositories
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Provides access to good quality open access peer reviewed journals

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a search engine that covers scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. You can use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, as well as scholarly articles available from across the web.
Be aware that Google scholar will find results from sources that SHU does not subscribe to so you may not automatically be able to get full text online. You can take advantage of the SHU subscriptions by going to Scholar Preferences and adding Sheffield Hallam University when prompted for a library name. This will add a SHU Links link to your Google Scholar searches which will identify what you can get via SHU subscriptions. However, we still advise that you access Google Scholar via Library Gateway as this will give you access to the full range of subscribed resources.
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
Ethos allows you to search for and download electronic theses produced by UK HE institutions. Access to most theses is free but if you are asked for payment please contact the Document Supply Services team for assistance.
You can also request theses that are not yet available electronically. There may then be a delay whilst permission is sought from copyright holders and the text is digitised before you are able to access.Eventually, EThOS should provide access to all theses from participating institutions whether paper based or electronic. However, EThOS can only supply theses from participating institutions.List of participating institutions

Other journals databases

These databases contain the full text of journal articles from one publisher. They all include journals about computing topics

Info-sci journals collection This link opens in a new window
A database of full text articles from over 60 peer reviewed computer science and IT management journals published by IGI Global. Also includes case studies on e-commerce, information technology and IT applications and management in organizations.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides journal articles and eBooks on the physics, engineering, mathematics, life sciences, health, computing and social sciences. The default search includes both ebooks and journal articles. You can use filters in your results to select between them: alternatively, you can use the search tab. Search results for eBooks are at chapter level.
Alternative link via Shibboleth
Articles and eBooks can be downloaded, saved permanently and kept as PDFs that you can view offline.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Access to subscribed journals and eBooks published by Emerald. Subject coverage: business, management, marketing, retailing, economics, education, engineering and library and information science.
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window
The SpringerLink Online Journal collection is a multidisciplinary collection with more than 1,800 peer-reviewed journals available. We have access to some but not all of the material.
Most titles have complete back issues to 1996, with digital conversion of all back issues under way.
Wiley online library This link opens in a new window
Link to over 1000 current quality journals and 200 journal backfiles, with access to tables of contents information and some full text. There are journals from a variety of subject areas including chemistry, medicine, life sciences, engineering, materials, business and environmental sciences.
You can set up an individual profile which allows you to save searches and articles from the database. You can also e-mail records to yourself and set up alerts.
Sheffield Hallam University does not subscribe to all the content on this site.

These databases index journal articles on many subjects including computing. There will be links to many of the full text articles.

IngentaConnect This link opens in a new window
IngentaConnect provides online access to the full text of hundreds of leading academic and professional journals and citations for millions of articles from publications across all disciplines. (S indicates item is in a subscribed resource.)
Engineering index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles for mechanical, civil, materials, electrical and medical engineering. It is particularly useful for UK, automotive and sports engineering. Allows cross-searching with other Proquest databases and easy export of resources to Refworks.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to a collection of databases. The default search is of the Web of Science Core Collection, which includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index. This enables you to search scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the citation network.
By clicking on the drop-down menu next to ‘Search in:’ you can choose to search other databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008), KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index and SciELO Citation Index.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
You will need to register for free to use this service
A very large multi-disciplinary database which enables you to search millions of articles, proceedings, preprints, books and chapters. Full text searching is possible for 70% of the publications. Dimensions can also be used to gain insight into research impact and attention through citations and altmetrics and to see analytical views of your search results. Please note that only the publications search is available.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary abstract and database curated by subject matter experts. Scopus is also a citation index, which means that the records in the database contain information on citations made in that publication and it links that information so you can identify which publications have cited that one, and how many times a publication has been cited.