LibGuides: Computing and Games Design: Conferences

Computing conference papers

These are the main databases in which you are likely to find conference papers about computing.

If you only wish to find conference papers, these databases give you the option to limit or refine your results to this type of resource.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides access to the collection of electrical engineering, electronics and computer science journals and conferences published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). The database also includes all active standards from the IEEE.
IEEE Xplore
In the database IEEE Xplore there are now over 3.8 million articles on computing related topics. There are thousands of early access articles that you can only find by searching IEEE Xplore (not by searching through Google Scholar or Library Search).
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from the journals, magazines, newsletters and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. News, analysis and academic research articles in a variety of topics in computing.
GDC Vault This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of design, technical and inspirational talks, video, audio, slides and news about game development, taken from over 20 years of the worldwide Game Developers Conference (GDC).
Game Developers Conference is the world's largest and longest-running professionals-only game industry event. GDC Vault contains 8,000+ videos, audio files, and synced presentations on a broad spectrum of videogame development topics.

Electronic Workshops in Computing (eWiC)
The Workshops in Computing (eWiC) Series are proceedings of workshops providing a snapshot of current knowledge, debate or research on a range of computing topics

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to a collection of databases. The default search is of the Web of Science Core Collection, which includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index. This enables you to search scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the citation network.
By clicking on the drop-down menu next to ‘Search in:’ you can choose to search other databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008), KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index and SciELO Citation Index.

Should I use conference papers?

Conference papers often cover research which is still in progress and papers from a recent conference will usually be a good way of finding the most up to date information.

However, your tutors may ask you not to use conference papers in some circumstances, as they are usually not peer reviewed in the same way as some journals are.

However, conference papers by the IEEE are often peer reviewed.