Access to more than 100 full text journal backfiles for the arts, humanities and social sciences from the Periodicals Archive Online collection.
Although the overall range of content is from 1891 to 2000, the majority of back-files go up to 1995.
Subject areas covered include arts, business, history, linguistics, literature, philosophy, politics, psychology, and the social science
Of interest to educationalists, and for social and cultural history. Selections from books, official records, newspapers, personal recollections and contemporary texts often unavailable elsewhere. Subjects covered include women’s education, schooling and the city, children with special needs, life-long learning and early years education. Records date from the 15th Century onwards.
Available on Microfiche only - Adsetts Centre Level 1.
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
New modules added for 2021 include: Poverty, Philanthropy and Social Conditions in Victorian Britain; East India Company: India Office Records, E
The Archives Hub is a national gateway to descriptions of archives in UK universities and colleges. It provides a single point of access to 19,825 descriptions of archives held in more than 150 UK universities and colleges.
The National Archives website is a very useful resource for anyone interested in social, family and community history. There are sections on family history, military history, and learning and research, including the catalogue and DocumentsOnline. It is also possible to search census records from 1841 to 1901. There are charges for downloading some records.
Searchable resource included on the website are the ARCHON Directory, which gives contact details for record repositories, and the National Register of Archives (NRA), which contains information on British manuscripts and historical records. There are also sections on hospital records and migration records.
The Catalogue contains 10 million descriptions of documents from central government, courts of law and other UK national bodies, including records on family history, medieval tax, criminal trials, UFO sightings, the history of many countries and many other subjects.
There are also links to other related online archive resources.
Hosted by The National Archives, A2A contains catalogues describing archives held locally in England and Wales and dating from the eighth century to the present day. The database contains over 10 million records relating to items held in 414 record offices.
Mass Observation was a pioneering social research organisation whose papers provide insights into the cultural and social history of Britain from 1937 to 1965. The material at the Mass Observation Archive, and now on Mass Observation Online, offers an unparalled insight into everyday life in the 1930s and 1940s.
Mass Observation Online provides integrated access to almost 400,000 digital images of material from the Mass Observation Archive (MOA). In addition, it functions as a finding aid for all material held on Adam Matthew Publications microfilm, and in the Mass Observation Archive.How much material can I copy?Images from this collection may be downloaded, printed and photocopied for educational purposes including course packs. (See FAQ's in MOA for further information.)Can I use images in my essays?Yes. Links may be created for essays submitted electronically. Photocopies and printouts of images may be used to accompany printed essay material.
This archive is an attempt to collect in one place a large number of significant texts in the history of economic thought. There is an alphabetical list of authors which can be browsed. Authors range from the time of Aristotle to the mid 20th century.
This database provides full-text access to: Bills and Acts 1695-2005, Command Papers 1833-2005, House of Commons Papers 1715-2005, House of Lords papers 1714-1805, Hansard 1803-2005, Journals 1688-1834, Debates 1774-1805 and Histories and proceedings 1660-1743.
HANSARD is a full-text database of the official report of the House of Commons. It contains Debates and Oral and Written Answers to Questions. Coverage is from the beginning of the 1988/89 parliamentary to the present. A detailed search engine is included; you can search by date, MP or subject.The site also provides access to the debates of House of Commons Standing Committees. To access the House of Commons debates from the UK Parliament home page, click on the 'Parliamentary business' link at the top of the screen, then on the 'Publications and records' tab.
HANSARD is a full-text database of the official report of the House of Lords- this is an edited account of debates. Coverage is from Session 1994-95 to the present. There is a set of search categories: by date, by member and by subject. There are also volume indexes available from January 2001. To access the House of Lords debates from the UK Parliament home page, click on the 'Parliamentary business' link at the top of the screen, then on the 'Publications' tab.
Literature Online includes more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 323 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources, as well as access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) and MLA International Bibliography.
Includes biographies for 4,100 authors, and also online access to a number of reference works, such as The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms and The Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English . There are also links to relevant websites for primary texts and critical and biographical material.
Contains over 450,000 books published from 15thC to the 19thC. Contents:
Early Historical Texts brings together four historically significant collections for the first time: Early English Books Online (EEBO), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) 65,000 texts from the British Library 19th Century collection and the UK Medical Heritage Library (UKMHL).
Early English Books Online:
The scanned images and full-text digital versions of over 125,000 books published in English up to 1700, from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the English Civil War
Eighteenth Century Collections Online:
A digital collection of all the books published in Great Britain and its colonies during the eighteenth century, comprising some 33 million pages from more than 180,000 titles. The collection includes books in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish and Welsh. Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains a variety of printed materials including books, Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements published from 1700-1799 and the content is comprised from eight subject areas:
History and Geography
Fine Arts, Music, Art & Architecture
Medicine, Science and Technology
Literature and Language
Religion and Philosophy
British Library 19th Century collection:
Over 65,000 recently digitised editions from the British Library's 19th century collection, comprising over 25 million pages of previously rare and inaccessible titles.
UK Medical Heritage Library Collection (UKMHL)
The UK Medical Heritage Library (UKMHL) is the culmination of a three-year project between Jisc, the Internet Archive, the Wellcome Library and nine other partner institutions to digitise more than 15 million pages in over 66,000 works. The Wellcome Library have provided their entire 19th Century collection, while the other participating libraries have contributed selections from their special collections, to encompass a broad and diverse range of relevant publications from the period.
Sporting full colour page images, PDF downloads and searchable OCR full text for all publications, The UKMHL collection is a valuable resource. The subject areas covered are broad and include topics such as consumer health, sport and fitness, food and nutrition as well as medicine and medical practices, providing a valuable resource for study in the medical humanities and beyond.
The “Visualising Medical History” sister-project has created powerful visualisation tools unique to the UKMHL collection, which researchers can use to search the content in new and hitherto untapped ways. The visualisations are available in a separate “Labs” area.
Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.
History On-Line is a section of the Institute of Historical Research (IHR) website providing information on resources for the teaching and learning of history.
There are currently over 40,000 records providing details of books and articles, UK university lecturers (teachers), UK current and past research (theses), and evaluated links to history-related websites.