Historical Abstracts is a database covering journal articles, books and some dissertations on world history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
Includes abstracts for articles from over 1,700 journals from 1954 onwards published in various languages, the majority in English.Cross search available with all EBSCO databases, select Choose Databases and tick those you wish to add to your search.
A multi-disciplinary full text database covering business, health and medical, social sciences, education , science and technology, including core titles in the performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and language and literature. It includes both scholarly journals as well as market research and industry reports, working papers and full-text dissertations.
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR is a journal archive and does not include current or recent issues of journals. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.The following collections are available for users at SHU: Arts and Science I,II,III,IV and Arts and Sciences Complement. For lists of titles included in collections, please refer to the JSTOR website http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html .
Web of Science provides access to a collection of databases. The default search is of the Web of Science Core Collection, which includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Emerging Sources Citation Index. This enables you to search scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the citation network.
By clicking on the drop-down menu next to ‘Search in:’ you can choose to search other databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008), KCI-Korean Journal Database, Medline, Preprint Citation Index and SciELO Citation Index.
Literature Online includes more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 323 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources, as well as access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) and MLA International Bibliography.
Includes biographies for 4,100 authors, and also online access to a number of reference works, such as The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms and The Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English . There are also links to relevant websites for primary texts and critical and biographical material.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (SWA) is an international abstracting service designed to meet the information needs of all those working, teaching, studying or researching into any of the main areas of women's studies. Provides abstracts for journal articles and books.
Theoretical and empirical materials are abstracted with a focus on the following topic areas: education, employment, women in the family and community, medicine and health, female sex and gender role socialisation, social policy, social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism, historical studies. Coverage is international from 1995.