Library resources - Botswana Accountancy College - Sheffield Hallam University resources

Subject resources

For information resources related to your subject, click on the 'Library resources' tab above and choose your subject area from the drop-down list.

BAC

BAC student portal

BAC library offers an excellent range of print and online resources to support your course. Click on the link above and log in to access a range of online databases, books and journals.

Key resources include:

• Emerald Insight - a powerful business research tool, offering access to the full text of hundreds of key management journals.
• Business Source Premier, offering access to a range of business journals, industry and company profiles, global coverage
• Business Monitor Online, - Country risk, industry and company intelligence covering global markets.
• ProQuest Academic Complete and eBooks - offer access to a range of full text journal articles and eBooks
• Directory of Open Access Journals - access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

BAC Library

Photo credit: BAC Library (used with permission)

Country information

Business Source Premier and Business Monitor Online databases, which are available through BAC library, provide country reports and intelligence.

Africa.com - African Countries
Information about each of the 54 countries in Africa, including facts and figures, news, videos, and images.
World Bank: Countries and Regions
Country and regional data from the World Bank. Listed alphabetically by country.
IMF Country Information
Reports and publications from the International Monetary Fund. Arranged alphabetically by country
CIA World Factbook
Broad overviews of countries, briefly describing geography, people, government, economy, communications, transport, military and transnational issues
BBC Country Profiles
Guides to the history, politics and economic background of countries from the British Broadcasting Corporation.
Index of Economic Freedom
The Index covers 10 freedoms – from property rights to entrepreneurship – in 186 countries.
globalEDGE
International business web portal created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. The Global Insights tab provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs. The Tools and Data tab includes the Market Potential Index, which allows comparison of emerging markets.
Nationmaster
Website allowing you to compare country statistical data taken from numerous sources. Provided by Rapid Intelligence (an Australian web technology company)
European Commission Market Access Database
Information for companies exporting from the EU to international markets. Includes statistics and information on duties and tariffs, import procedures, trade barriers and other issues and regulations

Photo credit: BAC Library (used with permission)

Support with library resources

Get support from the library at Botswana Accountancy College.

BAC Library
Visit the BAC website for information about services offered by the library.

Email the library for help - library@bac.ac.bw

Companies

Kompass: worldwide company search engine
Free business-to-business company directory. Contains details of over 4 million companies around the world.
Companies House: WebCHeck
Free access to the official UK company register, providing contact details and status information.
Companies House guide to overseas registries
Lists of official company registers in a range of countries
Fortune 500
Annual ranking of the top US companies. Produced by Fortune magazine
Fortune Global 500
Annual ranking of the top 500 corporations worldwide
Forbes Global 2000
Forbes magazine's ranking of the world's 2000 biggest public companies. Lists can be refined by country and industry sector. Free site.
AnnualReports.com
Free access to US company annual reports
EDGAR
Free access to company data, as filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission

Statistics

UNdata Explorer
Free access to the world's major international statistics. Includes "International Financial Statistics" from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), as well as data from the UN, ILO, OECD, WHO, World Bank, and the ITU. Hosted by the United Nations.
IMF Data and Statistics
Free access to statistical data from the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
BIS Statistics
International statistical data on the global financial system, provided by the Bank for International Settlements (BIS).
Bank of England: Statistics
UK financial statistics, provided by the Bank of England (the UK's central bank).

Market information

Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
The OECD is an international organisation created to promote trade and economic growth. The website includes statistics and economic information about countries.
Market Research World
Online resources and research-related articles relevant to market research buyers, researchers, newcomers to the industry, students and individuals with an interest in the market research.
globalEDGE
International business web portal created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. The Global Insights tab provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs. The Tools and Data tab includes the Market Potential Index, which allows comparison of emerging markets.

Botswana Accountancy College - Sheffield Hallam University resources: Library resources