Early Years - University Campus Oldham - Sheffield Hallam University Resources

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is a leading multi-disciplinary online resource which gives you access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health, social sciences, arts and humanities, science and technology. ProQuest Central contains 17,000 full text journals as well as newspapers, magazines and market reports.

Accessing ProQuest Central and getting the full text of articles

From September 2019 you can find the ProQuest Central link on the Hallam Blackboard page. Use your Hallam username and password to log in.
Don't try accessing ProQuest Central through search engines like Google, as you won't be able to get to the full text of the journal articles.
ProQuest Central offers full-text access to 17,000 journals but also offers abstracts (summary of content, not full text) for 3,000 journals. To access full text look for results which have Full-text or Full-text PDF links.

How to Search Proquest Central effectively

The presentations and video below will help you to find the information you need for your studies quickly and easily. You can also work through an example search in the worksheet below.

ProQuest Central - The Power of Multidisciplinary Resources in Your Library
This presentation from ProQuest introduces the benefits of using ProQuest Central to enhance your research
ProQuest - Basic Search in 4 Steps
ProQuest's Basic Search guidance
ProQuest Search Tips
Handout from ProQuest Central on search tips

Getting Started with ProQuest Central

Hallam Library: Using ProQuest Central guide.

Proquest Central Libguide
ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 47 of ProQuest's complete databases, with a variety of content types across over 175 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. Unlike other resources, ProQuest Central is made up of separate, fully searchable databases which may be used together or separately.

Online resources in the library

Electronic journals

Visitors to the University's libraries can view a range of electronic journals. To access online resources for visitors find one of the Library Search PCs available throughout the libraries and click on the "visitor Access" button. Bring a USB memory device so that you can save articles to read later or to print.

Saving journal articles

To save, open an article as a PDF, attach the USB memory device and click on the 'Save a copy' icon in the PDF options. This will save the article that is open on screen to your memory stick as a PDF.

Printing journal articles

To print an article, follow the instructions above to save a copy to your USB stick. Next, go to the Library Helpdesk, where a member of staff will show you how to print directly from your memory stick. Printing costs the same as photocopying - see price list

Something not working?

If you have any problems using the electronic resources PCs, or saving and printing articles, please speak to a member of staff at the library helpdesk.

Electronic resources for visitors - online access
A list of the resources (e.g. electronic journals and databases) that are available on the dedicated PCs in the libraries. Please note that the publications on the 'Electronic resources' licensed for visitors' page will only work on those PCs and can't be accessed from your own computer.

Education research and professional associations

Here are links to education research and professional associations.

The Baby Friendly Initiative
The UK Baby Friendly Initiative is based on a global accreditation programme of UNICEF and the World Health Organization. It is designed to support breastfeeding and parent infant relationships by working with public services to improve standards of care.
British Educational Research Association (BERA)
BERA is a member-led charity that exists to encourage educational research and its application for the improvement of practice and public benefit.
Millennium Cohort Study (MSC)
MCS is a multi-disciplinary research project following the lives of around 19,000 children born in the UK in 2000-01. It is the most recent of Britain’s world-renowned national longitudinal birth cohort studies. The study has been tracking the Millennium children through their early childhood years and plans to follow them into adulthood. It collects information on the children’s siblings and parents. MCS’s field of enquiry covers such diverse topics as parenting; childcare; school choice; child behaviour and cognitive development; child and parental health; parents’ employment and education; income and poverty; housing, neighbourhood and residential mobility; and social capital and ethnicity.
National Centre for Social Research (NATCEN)
NATCEN is Britain’s leading centre for independent social research with 40 years’ experience of listening to and reporting the views of the public.
National Foundation for Educational Research (NFER)
NFER is the UK's largest independent provider of research, assessment & information services for education, training & children's services.
National subject association for EAL (NALDIC)
NALDIC is the UK’s national subject association for EAL. NALDIC provides a professional forum for the teaching and learning of English as an additional language, supporting bilingualism, raising the achievement of ethnic minority learners, and promoting the development of research, policy and practice.
Sheffield Hallam University: Autism Centre
A research centre at Sheffield Hallam University.
Sheffield Hallam University: Centre for Research in Early Childhood Education (CREC)
CREC specialises in early childhood research which has relevant and meaningful outcomes for practice and policy.
Sheffield Institute of Education Research and Knowledge Exchange
A research centre at Sheffield Hallam University.
Study of Early Education and Development (SEED)
SEED is a longitudinal study which will follow 8,000 two-year-olds from across England through to the end of KS1. It will find out how childcare and early education can help to give children the best start in life and what is important for high quality childcare provision.
UNICEF
UNICEF works for a world in which every child has a fair chance in life.
University College London: Institute for Education (IOE)
The IOE aims to promote excellence in education and related areas of social research and professional practice through advancing knowledge and understanding. Part of their remit is to undertaking outstanding research of national and international significance and to produce and provide access to national resources for research in these fields.
University College London: Institute for Education: Effective Pre-School, Primary and Secondary Education project (EPPSE)
The EPPSE project is a large-scale, longitudinal study of the progress and development of children from pre-school to post-compulsory education. It considers the aspects of pre-school provision which have a positive impact on children's attainment, progress and development.

University Campus Oldham - Sheffield Hallam University Resources: Early Years