Library resources - Sino-British College - Sheffield Hallam University resources

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is a leading multi-disciplinary online resource which you can use to access databases across all major subject areas including all aspects of business. The resource contains 17,000 full text journals as well as newspapers, magazines and market reports.

Accessing ProQuest Central and getting the full text of articles

A link to ProQuest Central has been placed in your college VLE. You should be able to access this with your normal college username and password
Please do not try accessing ProQuest Central through search engines like Google as you will not be able to get to the full text of any journal articles.
ProQuest Central offers full-text access to 17,000 journals but also offers abstracts (summary of content not the full text for 3,000 journals). To access full text, look for results which have Full-text or Full-text PDF links.

Learning how to use ProQuest Central

Watch the video below and try the step by step worksheet to learn how to use ProQuest Central.

Worksheet

Finance

iShares
iShares are a family of exchange-traded funds (ETFs) managed by BlackRock. Each iShares fund tracks a bond or stock market index. The following stock exchanges list iShares funds: London Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange, New York Stock Exchange, BATS Exchange, Hong Kong Stock Exchange, Toronto Stock Exchange, Australian Securities Exchange and several European and Asian stock exchanges. iShares is the largest issuer of ETFs in the US and globally.
Yahoo Finance
General finance portal. Includes stock market data, company news, economics news and personal finance.
Bloomberg.com
US website providing finance news, stock market data, and personal finance resources.
Digital Look
Free access to international share prices, live trading charts, international company research and financial market news alerts. Published by Web Financial Group.
FE Trustnet
Free daily updated analysis and price / performance data on all UK Unit Trusts, OEICs, Investment Trusts, Pension, Insurance Bond and Offshore Funds, Structured Products, ETFs and VCTs.
UK Debt Management Office (DMO)
The DMO is an Executive Agency of the UK government Treasury department. Includes free access to price and yield data for UK Gilts.
GT News
Free access to research articles, reports and news on the global treasury, finance and cash management sectors. You have to register to use this website. Registration is free. This website is provided by the Association for Financial Professionals.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF is the agency of the United Nations which aims to foster global growth and economic stability. The website provides country data, reports, statistics and online videos.
Bank for International Settlements
The world's oldest international financial organisation, representing the central banks of countries from around the world. The website provides free access to their research publications and international banking statistics.
World Bank Group
A family of five international organizations that make leveraged loans to developing countries. The bank's stated mission is to achieve the twin goals of ending extreme poverty and building shared prosperity.
Bank Rankings: Top Banks in the World
The world's top 50 banks (ranked by assets in US Dollars). Data taken from the Bankers Almanac (published by Reed Business Information Limited).
Central bank and monetary authority websites
Links to all the central banks around the world, listed alphabetically by country. Provided by the Bank for International Settlements (BIS).
Asian and Oceanian Stock Exchanges Federation (AOSEF)
Includes statistical data, and links to the individual websites of stock exchange in the region.
London Stock Exchange
Market prices, news and statistics from the London Stock Exchange in the UK.
FT.com
The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis from the Financial Times. Note: full access to this site requires a subscription.
Black Rock
A multinational investment management corporation based in New York
Bloomberg Business
Business and markets news, data, analysis, and video to the world, featuring stories from Businessweek and Bloomberg News
Vanguard
Offers mutual funds and other financial products and services to retail and institutional investors in the United States and abroad

Google Scholar

A search engine that covers scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. You can use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, as well as scholarly articles available from across the web.

Market information

Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
The OECD is an international organisation created to promote trade and economic growth. The website includes statistics and economic information about countries.
Market Research World
Online resources and research-related articles relevant to market research buyers, researchers, newcomers to the industry, students and individuals with an interest in the market research.
globalEDGE
International business web portal created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. The Tools and Data tab includes the Market Potential Index which allows comparison of emerging markets.
Advertising Age
News, intelligence and conversation for marketing and media communities
GFK
Gesellschaft für Konsumforschung (GFK) or the Society for Consumer Research is the fourth largest market research organisation in the world, after Nielsen Company, Kantar Group, and Ipso
MarketResearch.com
Provider of market research reports and industry analysis on products, markets, companies, industries, and countries worldwide
Nielsen
A leading global information and measurement company that enables companies to understand consumers and consumer behavior. Nielsen measures and monitors what consumers watch (programming, advertising) and what consumers buy (categories, brands, products) on a global and local basis. The company has a presence in approximately 100 countries spread across Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, Middle East, North America, South America and Russia.
Strategic Business Insights (SBI)
An international business, technology, industry, and consumer research and consulting company
World Advertising Research Center
Case studies, research reports and summaries for the marketing, advertising, media and research industries. Also includes best practice papers, guides and daily news. Please note, this website gives access to a range of free materials, full-text access to some material will not be available.

Companies

Kompass: worldwide company search engine
Free business-to-business company directory. Contains details of over 4 million companies around the world.
Companies House: WebCHeck
Free access to the official UK company register, providing contact details and status information.
Companies House guide to overseas registries
Lists of official company registers in a range of countries
Fortune 500
Annual ranking of the top US companies. Produced by Fortune magazine. Free site.
Fortune Global 500
Annual ranking of the top 500 corporations worldwide
Forbes Global 2000
Forbes magazine's ranking of the world's 2000 biggest public companies. Lists can be refined by country and industry sector. Free site.
AnnualReports.com
Free access to US company annual reports
EDGAR
Free access to company data, as filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission
Sunday Times Best 100 Companies to Work For
Since 2001, the Sunday Times newspaper has published annual lists of the best companies to work for in the UK based a number of criteria. The information is mainly derived from the results of employee satisfaction surveys.
Boston Consulting Group
A global management consulting firm with 82 offices in 46 countries, which advises clients in the private, public, and not-for-profit sectors around the world.
Interbrand Best Brands
A brand consultancy, specializing in areas such as brand strategy, brand analytics, brand valuation, corporate design, digital brand management, packaging design and naming. Interbrand publishes the Best Global Brands report annually, identifying the world’s 100 most valuable brands.

Country information

UNdata Country Profiles
United Nations statistical profiles of countries. Includes summary statistics, economic indicators, social indicators, environment and trade profiles.
IMF Country Information
Reports and publications from the International Monetary Fund. Arranged alphabetically by country
World Bank: Countries and Regions
Country and regional data from the World Bank. Listed alphabetically by country.
UK Government: Exporting Country Guides
UK Government Department for International Trade's (DIT) exporting country guides
BBC Country Profiles
Guides to the history, politics and economic background of countries from the British Broadcasting Corporation.
CIA World Factbook
Broad overviews of countries, briefly describing geography, people, government, economy, communications, transport, military and transnational issues
Index of Economic Freedom
The Index covers 10 freedoms – from property rights to entrepreneurship – in 186 countries.
globalEDGE
International business web portal created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. The Global Insights tab provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs. The tools and data tab includes the Market potential Index which allows comparison of emerging markets.
Nationmaster
Website allowing you to compare country statistical data taken from numerous sources. Provided by Rapid Intelligence (an Australian web technology company)
European Commission Market Access Database
Information for companies exporting from the EU to international markets. Includes statistics and information on duties and tariffs, import procedures, trade barriers and other issues and regulations
The Hofstede Centre
Statistics related to the ways in which national and organisational cultures differ from one another
National statistics institutes
A comprehensive list of links to official national statistics institutes around the world. Compiled by the UK Data Service.

Google Books

Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide. View the full-text of public domain (copyright free) books and see selected pages from other titles.

Sino-British College - Sheffield Hallam University resources: Library resources