Public services - The Sheffield College - Sheffield Hallam University resources

'Policing outside the Bullring'

Photo credit: 'Policing outside the Bullring' by West Midlands Police via Wikimedia Commons

Proquest Central

ProQuest Central is a leading multi-disciplinary online resource which gives you access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health, social sciences, arts and humanities, science and technology. ProQuest Central contains 17,000 full text journals as well as newspapers, magazines and market reports.

Accessing ProQuest Central and getting the full text of articles

From September 2019 you can find the ProQuest Central link on the Hallam Blackboard page. Use your Hallam username and password to log in.
Don't try accessing ProQuest Central through search engines like Google, as you won't be able to get to the full text of the journal articles.
ProQuest Central offers full-text access to 17,000 journals but also offers abstracts (summary of content, not full text) for 3,000 journals. To access full text look for results which have Full-text or Full-text PDF links.

How to Search Proquest Central effectively

The presentations and video below will help you to find the information you need for your studies quickly and easily. You can also work through an example search in the worksheet below.

ProQuest Central - The Power of Multidisciplinary Resources in Your Library
This presentation from ProQuest introduces the benefits of using ProQuest Central to enhance your research
ProQuest - Basic Search in 4 Steps
ProQuest's Basic Search guidance
ProQuest Search Tips
Handout from ProQuest Central on search tips

Getting Started with ProQuest Central

Hallam Library: Using ProQuest Central guide.

Proquest Central Libguide
ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database available in the market today. This resource provides access to 47 of ProQuest's complete databases, with a variety of content types across over 175 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. Unlike other resources, ProQuest Central is made up of separate, fully searchable databases which may be used together or separately.

Public services and criminology

British Society of Criminology
The British Society of Criminology aims to further the interests and knowledge of both academic and professional people who are engaged in any aspect of work or teaching, research or public education about crime, criminal behaviour and the criminal justice systems in the United Kingdom. The Society has been in existence for over 50 years and has a wide-ranging membership based here and overseas.
College of Policing
The College of Policing was established in 2012 as the professional body for everyone who works for the police service in England and Wales. The purpose of the College is to provide those working in policing with the skills and knowledge necessary to prevent crime, protect the public, and secure public trust.
Community Justice Scotland
Community Justice Scotland works to change the conversation about justice. We believe that smart justice based on the best evidence of what works will prevent offending, repair lives and improve communities. We want Scotland to be the safest country in the world.
Home Office - Crime, Justice and Law
Includes guidance and regulations, news and communications, research and statistics, policy papers and consultations, and transparency and freedom of information releases.
Internet Journal of Criminology
The Internet Journal of Criminology (IJC) is a free dual-open access online criminology journal. Our aim is to publish international, scholarly and peer-reviewed criminology articles of the highest standard from many areas of expertise including, but by no means limited to: the criminal justice system, penology, crime reduction, delinquency, hate crimes, deviant social behaviour, hi-tech crime, green criminology, wildlife and rural crime, white collar crime, science fraud, plagiarism, copyright theft, policing, quantitative criminology, environmental criminology, crime science, and cultural criminology.
Law Technology Today
This free search engine searches the free full-text of over 300 online law reviews and law journals, as well as document repositories hosting academic papers and related publications such as Congressional Research Service reports. Several of the law reviews and legal journals (such as the Stanford Technology Law Review), working papers, and reports are available online only. Coverage may vary; for complete coverage visit your local law library and fee-based online legal research services.
Ministry of Justice - Prisons and Probation
Information from the Home Office about sentencing, probation and support for families of prisoners.
NCJRS Abstracts Database
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 220,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Library collection
Youth Justice Bulletin
YJBulletin is aimed primarily at youth offending team and secure estate managers, but everyone working in youth justice will find this fortnightly bulletin useful. It is our principal way of providing information about practice and policy developments in which we are involved, and managers can use it to update their teams and strategic partners.

Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection

The Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection collection covers subjects including politics, sociology, social services, criminology and education. The featured databases cover journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts - index and abstracts for health, social services, psychology, criminology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education
ERIC - a citations and abstracts database covering all education topics from '1.3 million documents and journal articles dating back to 1966'
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences - this abstracts database covers a wide range of international material published since 1951. Over 2,800 journals and some 7,000 books are included.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. As the title suggests, you will get brief summaries of materials on study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
PAIS International - coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It includes two databases, PAIS International and PAIS Archive.
PILOTS - aims to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Proquest Criminal Justice - this journal database covers criminal justice, policing and statistics. You will find a US bias but also UK and international material. About half of the titles in the database provide full-text articles, while the others will give you an abstract or summary of an article/data.
Proquest Education Journals - search this database to find journal articles from over 1,020 educational publications, including more than 640 journals in full text. It encompasses a broad area of educational topics including adult education with international coverage.
Proquest Political Science - gives users access to over 460 political science and international relations journals
Proquest Social Science Journals - covers sociology, social work, anthropology, politics, aging, addictions, urban development and minority studies. There is a mix of abstracts and full-text materials, with 640 journal titles available in full text.
Proquest Sociology - gives users access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work
Social Services Abstracts - coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts - a database of the international literature in sociology and the social and behavioural sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and book reviews drawn from 1,809 journal publications; also abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - abstracts of international journals covering political science, international relations, law, public administration

Moodle
Log in to Moodle to access these databases.

The Sheffield College - Sheffield Hallam University resources: Public services

'Policing outside the Bullring'

Proquest Central

Public services and criminology

Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection