Nursing - Suzhou Health College - Sheffield Hallam University resources

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is a leading multi-disciplinary online resource which you can use to access databases across all major subject areas including all aspects of business. The resource contains 17,000 full text journals as well as newspapers, magazines and market reports.

Accessing ProQuest Central and getting the full text of articles

A link to ProQuest Central has been placed in your college VLE. You should be able to access this with your normal college username and password
Please do not try accessing ProQuest Central through search engines like Google as you will not be able to get to the full text of any journal articles.
ProQuest Central offers full-text access to 17,000 journals but also offers abstracts (summary of content not the full text for 3,000 journals). To access full text, look for results which have Full-text or Full-text PDF links.

Learning how to use ProQuest Central

Watch the video below and try the step by step worksheet to learn how to use ProQuest Central.

Worksheet

Department of Nursing and Midwifery
Our Department is at the forefront of excellence in education, research and practice, transforming local, national and international health care.

Nursing resources

British National Formulary This link opens in a new window
Key information on the selection, prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines.
Please note: SHU provides access to BNF and BNF for Children through the Medicines Complete platform. We are not subscribed to the other publications you may see mentioned on this platform. Select BNF or BNF for Children using the button on the right hand side of the search bar.
If you have issues with the link above use: Alternative link
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the key life sciences database covering from the 1950s to the present day.

PLEASE NOTE: From 1st June NCBI will be changing the way in which you log into your account in their systems. If you have an NCBI account you will need to update it to switch logging in over to a 3rd party options. Instructions on how to do this and additional information on this change can be found on their website: https://ncbiinsights.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ncbi-login-retirement-faqs/#linking-3rd
At this time, Sheffield Hallam University has not enabled 3rd party login via institution, a separate 3rd party login would be required.
PubMed is a search tool to access citations, abstracts and links to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers. Including over 15 million citations from journals and covers 4,800 biomedical science journals.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PMC contains links to nearly 2 million articles and all are peer reviewed and free to view.

PLEASE NOTE: From 1st June NCBI will be changing the way in which you log into your account in their systems. If you have an NCBI account you will need to update it to switch logging in over to a 3rd party options. Instructions on how to do this and additional information on this change can be found on their website: https://ncbiinsights.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ncbi-login-retirement-faqs/#linking-3rd
At this time, Sheffield Hallam University has not enabled 3rd party login via institution, a separate 3rd party login would be required.
PubMed Central (PMC) is produced by the National Library of Medicine and provides biomedical and life sciences information. The archive also contains links to other scientific databases and book reviews.
eMC - electronic Medicines Compendium This link opens in a new window
This continuously updated database provides information on all UK medicines; prescription and 'over-the-counter'. It includes electronic Data Sheets, Summaries of Product Characteristics (SPCs) and Patient Information Leaflets (PILs). Data Sheets and SPCs are written for healthcare professionals.
Users can search the eMC by quick search, text search or search by section and there is a useful glossary in the 'Information' section that explains how the SPCs are structured.
National Center for Biotechnology Information bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.
NCBI accounts - change to login
From 1st June 2021 NCBI has changed the way in which you log into your account with them in their systems (this does not affect access to the database itself).

If you have an NCBI account you will need to update it to switch logging in over to a 3rd party options (such as Google, NIH, eRA Commons, ORCID, Login.gov, or Microsoft). Instructions on how to do this and additional information on this change can be found on their website: https://ncbiinsights.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ncbi-login-retirement-faqs/#linking-3rd

Please note that at this time, Sheffield Hallam University has not enabled 3rd party login via institution, a separate 3rd party login would be required.
HighWire This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 6 million articles, a third of which are open access (free to anyone) scientific articles.
HighWire Press hosts 1275 peer-reviewed journals from 140 scholarly publishers in science, social sciences and humanities. Includes 71 of the 200 most frequently cited journals. Register for a free My HighWire Press account and set up email or RSS alerts for new journal content, or create a My Favourite Journals list.

Suzhou Health College - Sheffield Hallam University resources: Nursing

ProQuest Central

Nursing resources