Psychology

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is a leading multi-disciplinary online resource which you can use to access databases across all major subject areas including all aspects of business. The resource contains 17,000 full text journals as well as newspapers, magazines and market reports.

Accessing ProQuest Central and getting the full text of articles

A link to ProQuest Central has been placed in your college VLE. You should be able to access this with your normal college username and password
Please do not try accessing ProQuest Central through search engines like Google as you will not be able to get to the full text of any journal articles.
ProQuest Central offers full-text access to 17,000 journals but also offers abstracts (summary of content not the full text for 3,000 journals). To access full text, look for results which have Full-text or Full-text PDF links.

Learning how to use ProQuest Central

Watch the video below and try the step by step worksheet to learn how to use ProQuest Central.

Worksheet

Photo: 'Mind's Eye'

Photo credit: 'Mind's Eye' by Walt Jabsco via Flickr (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

American Psychological Association
News articles and academic resources on a wide range of psychological topics
BBC Science: Human Body & Mind
Interactive webpages from the BBC about the human mind
British Psychological Society
News and research from UK psychologists

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Currently includes over 5200 journals. DOAJ is multidisciplinary and includes journals in several languages. Updated regularly.

Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEP Web)
A searchable archive of publications by key psychoanalysts

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the key life sciences database covering from the 1950s to the present day.

PLEASE NOTE: From 1st June NCBI will be changing the way in which you log into your account in their systems. If you have an NCBI account you will need to update it to switch logging in over to a 3rd party options. Instructions on how to do this and additional information on this change can be found on their website: https://ncbiinsights.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ncbi-login-retirement-faqs/#linking-3rd
At this time, Sheffield Hallam University has not enabled 3rd party login via institution, a separate 3rd party login would be required.
PubMed is a search tool to access citations, abstracts and links to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers. Including over 15 million citations from journals and covers 4,800 biomedical science journals.

Simply Psychology
Psychology resources for students, with information on theories and perspectives in the field
Social Psychology Network
Psychology news and a social psychology search tool

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A database of the international literature in sociology and the social and behavioural sciences, it provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles. Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. Each individual reference may also have links to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference; these links increase the possibility of finding more potentially relevant articles. These references are linked both within Sociological Abstracts and across other social science databases available on Proquest.

TARUC - Sheffield Hallam University resources: Psychology

ProQuest Central

Photo: 'Mind's Eye'

Psychology