Make-up artistry

The Manchester College resources

You can also get access to a range of library resources relevant to Make-up Artistry and Special Effects Make-up Artistry through the College Library. These include your reading list books, and a range of journals for example:

Make-Up Artist Magazine
Dedicated to the world of professional make-up artistry for film, fashion, TV and theatre, with news and in-depth features, behind-the-scenes interviews, make-up tutorials, and photography.
POP Magazine
A British fashion magazine.
Vogue Archive
Searchable archive of American Vogue, from 1892 to the present. Includes covers and adverts, indexed by garment type, designer and brand names. A unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society.

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is a leading multi-disciplinary online resource which gives you access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health, social sciences, arts and humanities, science and technology. ProQuest Central contains 17,000 full text journals as well as newspapers, magazines and market reports.

Accessing ProQuest Central and getting the full text of articles

From September 2019 you can find the ProQuest Central link on the Hallam Blackboard page. Use your Hallam username and password to log in.
Don't try accessing ProQuest Central through search engines like Google, as you won't be able to get to the full text of the journal articles.
ProQuest Central offers full-text access to 17,000 journals but also offers abstracts (summary of content, not full text) for 3,000 journals. To access full text look for results which have Full-text or Full-text PDF links.

How to Search Proquest Central effectively

The presentations and video below will help you to find the information you need for your studies quickly and easily. You can also work through an example search in the worksheet below.

ProQuest Central - The Power of Multidisciplinary Resources in Your Library
This presentation from ProQuest introduces the benefits of using ProQuest Central to enhance your research
ProQuest - Basic Search in 4 Steps
ProQuest's Basic Search guidance
ProQuest Search Tips
Handout from ProQuest Central on search tips

Getting Started with ProQuest Central

Hallam Library: Using ProQuest Central guide.

Photo: 'Make-Up Art'

Photo credit: 'Make-Up Art' by Jeff Luyten via Flickr (CC BY-SA 2.0)

Make-up artistry professional bodies

BECTU
The Broadcasting, Entertainment, Cinematograph and Theatre Union (BECTU) is the UK's media and entertainment trade union.

The Academy of Freelance Makeup
Recommended reading, training opportunities, and behind-the-scenes perspectives on fashion shows
Bodypainting Art (Carolyn Cowan)
Galleries, workshops, and product shop from Carolyn Cowan, body artist and practitioner
ScreenSkills
Training scheme to provide paid work experience for people interested in pursuing a career in the creative industries
Digital Photography School - portrait photography
An archive of tips on how to improve your portrait photography
Event Manager Blog - fashion shows
Blog offering advice on the planning and organisation of events, including this post on fashion shows
Face Paint UK
Face painters' directory, competitions, festivals, training opportunities, face painting suppliers, discussion forum
Gorton Studio
Links and online resources, training, mailing list and prospectus for short courses, contacts & networking opportunities with leading industry prosthetic specialists, credits, showcase of prosthetic work
Illamasqua Make-up
Collections, schools of make-up art, events and networking, product advice and reviews, job opportunities, competitions
Illusion Magazine
Interviews with international artists, technical tips to improve skills, professional advice to develop your business, guest articles from world-renowned artists, product & book reviews
Makeup-FX
Tutorials, gallery, links, and FX shop from make-up artist Lars Carlsson
MakeUp4All
Online beauty and fantasy make-up magazine
Mandy's Film and TV Production Directory
International film & tv production resource, with classified ads, production jobs, casting calls, and live diary
Millennium FX
Supplier of prosthetics, animatronics and special make-up FX for film, television, commercials, music promos, theatre and corporate projects
Model Mayhem
Portfolio website for professional models and photographers, which allows you to create a profile, upload photos, and network with other professionals
ProductionBase
Online network for TV, film, theatre and commercial production, with make up jobs adverts and the option to create a profile to advertise your skills to prospective employers
World Bodypainting Festival
Details about festivals and competitions around the world, networking forum for international body artists, recommended reading lists, further training and employment opportunities

Internet Movie Database (IMDb) This link opens in a new window
The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) is a freely accessible website providing information on films, of interest to either the serious researcher or to anyone looking for the latest movie news.
Although most entries are American, IMDb covers British, European, Asian and other international films. Thousands of directors, actors and actresses, producers, writers and members of film crews are listed on the database and can be searched by name or film. For many of the people biographies, filmographies, images and links are provided and for the films the credits, reviews and synopsises are shown, with the opportunity of buying online if available.

UCEN Manchester - Sheffield Hallam University resources: Make-up artistry

The Manchester College resources

ProQuest Central

Photo: 'Make-Up Art'

Make-up artistry professional bodies

Make-up artistry