Skip to main content

Help with referencing: I want to use RefWorks or other tools

On this page

This page introduces our recommeded referencing tool, ProQuest RefWorks, and offers advice if you are considering using other referencing tools.

Getting started with ProQuest RefWorks

Making the most of ProQuest RefWorks

ProQuest RefWorks classes

What is the right referencing software for me?

Microsoft Word referencing tool

Updates and trouble shooting

Getting started with ProQuest RefWorks

ProQuest RefWorks is a web-based reference management tool, available to SHU students, staff, and alumni.  It helps you to manage the references you collect and create citations and reference lists in your work.  Always check references and citations before submitting your work.

To sign up to ProQuest RefWorks Go to: https://refworks.proquest.com/

  • Click on 'Create account'
  • Enter your university email address ending with one of the following
    • my.shu.ac.uk, student.shu.ac.uk, shu.ac.uk
    • If you are a SHU collaborative partner student, please use your college email address.
  • Choose a password and you will receive an email including a link that you need to follow in order to confirm your account and complete your profile details

Once you have created your account you can go to your ProQuest RefWorks settings and change the email address to a personal email account.   This will allow you full access to ProQuest RefWorks after you have completed your studies at SHU. 

Making the most of ProQuest RefWorks

You can explore ProQuest Refworks by watching these videos

Write-N-Cite

Write-N-Cite brings RefWorks into your Word document.  You can format citations and references as you work.

More help

What is the right referencing software for me?

We recommend ProQuest RefWorks

  • It is paid for by SHU so it is secure
  • It is web based so you can use it anywhere
  • You can share references and work collaboratively
  • You can continue to use it after you have completed your studies
  • You can import reference details from Library Search and many other services

If you are already using another referencing tool you may want to stick with it.  These are things you should consider when deciding which tool to use. 

  • How many references do you need?
  • Do you need to share your references?
  • If it is free, is it reliable?
  • How is personal information used?
  • Does it produce accurate references?

Microsoft Word referencing tool

If you are not using the Office 365 version of word this advice applies to you.

Microsoft Office includes a referencing tool which can be used to format citations and generate reference lists in APA and other styles.   It can be found under the References tab in the main Word menu.

Chose your referencing style and then use Insert Citation to add citations to your writing. Use Bibliography Options to create or update a reference list from your citations. The Word tool is quick and easy to use and can produce accurate references.  However, it has some limitations:

  1. This version of the Word tool cannot import details from other services. You will have to manually enter details for each resource into a form.
  2. Reusing references in different Word documents is possible but can be inconsistent in practice.
  3. The Word tool form does not automatically prompt for all the fields you need to create a correct reference in APA and other styles. If you are entering details manually you will need to check 'Show All Bibliography Fields' in the Add New Source form and you will need to know which fields are needed for a correct reference.

This advice only applies if you are using the Office 365 version of Word

Word 365 includes a referencing tool which can be used to format citations and generate reference lists in APA and other styles. It also includes Researcher, a tool that can find the details of resources you want to use so you don't have to enter them manually. These can be found under the References tab in the main Word menu.

 

Chose your referencing style and then use Insert Citation to add citations to your writing. Use Bibliography Options to create or update a reference list from your citations.  If a citation is not already in your collection of resources you can add it manually using a form, or use Researcher to find the details.  These tools are quick and easy to use and can produce accurate references.  However, there are some limitations:

  1. Researcher is good for finding details of journal articles that you already know, it is not so good at finding book details so you will usually have to enter these manually.  We do not recommend Researcher for doing new research.
  2. Reusing references in different Word documents is possible but can be inconsistent in practice.
  3. The Word tool does not automatically prompt for all the fields you need to create a correct reference in APA and other styles. You will need to check 'Show All Bibliography Fields' in the Add New Source form and you will need to know which fields are needed for a correct reference.
Loading ...

Updates and trouble shooting

The APA has changed the way it asks writers to present DOIs. Advice you get may differ depending how up-to-date it is.  It is still acceptable to follow previous advice. 

What has changed

To make DOIs more secure, best practice is to use http:// so that DOIs look like example 1 below. Previously the recommendation was for DOIs to look like example 2.  

  1. https://doi.org/10.1037/arc0000014    (now APA best practice)
  2. doi:10.1037/arc0000014                     (still ok)

If you use RefWorks or other referencing software your DOIs may be formatted in the older way.  The APA are clear that this is still acceptable.  Be consistent - don't mix the two styles in a single piece of work. 

Read the APA on DOI changes

Windows 7

Sometimes Word has an error when opening a document and will only proceed if you disable the Write-N-Cite Add-in.  The steps below should re-enable Write-N-Cite.    

  1. Open any Word Document
  2. go to File>>Options>>Add-Ins
  3. At the bottom of the Add-Ins dialogue box find  the Manage drop down menu. Select Disabled Items and click Go 
  4. In the Disabled Items box click on Write-N-Cite and Enable
  5. Close all dialogue boxes, close all Word documents.  

Write-N-Cite should be available when you next use Word.  Please report any problems with Write-N-Cite to ithelp@shu.ac.uk even if you are able to get it working again.

If staff do not see Write-N-Cite at step 4 it is not installed on your computer and you should contact  ithelp@shu.ac.uk

Windows 10

The University is moving to Windows 10. 

Student PCs: Write-N-Cite has to be reinstalled after PCs are upgraded to Windows 10.  There may be a short delay before Write-N-Cite is available on some Student PCs.  

Staff PCs:  Write-N-Cite is not automatically installed on staff PCs.  Staff can install Write-N-Cite from the Software Centre on the Windows 10 Start menu

Loading ...
ProQuest RefWorks classes

Getting started with ProQuest RefWorks workshop

Learn how to use ProQuest RefWorks software to create citations and reference lists. 

This one hour workshop is open to staff and students based at SHU City and Collegiate campuses. 

To book a place go to UniHub and Search Events for RefWorks  

First time users of Unihub will be prompted to select preferences before being able to see workshops.

Using Google Scholar to create references

There is a quick way to generate APA style references for sources you find using Google Scholar.

Don't forget to check and edit any references that are created. There may be incorrect information that needs amending or extra information you can add to improve your references.

Think about information that may be missing, such as DOIs and URLs for web based resources.

The video guidance shows linking to Google Scholar from SHU Library Gateway, partner students should use the link http://scholar.google.co.uk/