I want to use RefWorks or other tools

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
•  
• If there is no option to link to full text within the SHU Links menu, please check Library Search to see whether the item is held in print format.

• In ACM Digital Library:
• Choose to view the full citation of an article of interest
• In the Tools and Actions area, click on the link Display formats: BibTex
• Highlight the record in the BibTex Format window
• Use Ctrl+C to copy the record
• Open a new document in Word
• Use Ctrl+V to paste the record into the document
• Repeat the display and copy/paste for other articles of interest
• Save the document as a text file (.txt)
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select Import
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: ACM Digital Library (BibTeX format) [BibTeX]
• Use the Browse button to select your saved text file so it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

• In ACS Journals Search:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Download Citations button
• Under Format: choose RIS
• Click on the Download Citations(s) button
• In the File Download window, click on the Save button
• In the Save As window save the file to your HomeDrive or other appropriate place
• Close the Download Complete box
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter/Data Source: Sheffield Hallam Univerity
• Select the Database: RIS Format
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved file so that it appears in the Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your imported references

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In the database:
• Select the references you want to export by ticking the boxes next to them
• Click on the Export button
• An "Export Citation List:" window will open
• In the Export to drop down menu, select RefWorks
• Select Complete Reference in the Fields to Display section
• Click on the Export Citations button

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In BBIH:
• Tick in the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the View selection button
• Click on the Export button
• Select the Method of export: download
• Select the Format: .txt - RefWorks Tagged Format
• Click on the Export button
• Save the file as a text file (.txt)
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the mport Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: International Medieval Bibliography [International Medieval Bibliography]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter / Data Source: BibTeX
• Select the Database: Bibdesk[BibTeX] or if the database you have created the BibTeX file from is listed, select the database
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In Biomed Central:
• From the search results list, tick results to mark those of interest
• At the top of the page select the option to Send selected items to RefWorks + abstracts
• Click on Send

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In BMJ Journals Information Centre:
• Look at the Extract or Full Text of an article of interest (not the PDF article)
• In the This Article box, under Services, click on the link to Download to citation manager
• In the Download Directly to Citation Manager screen, click RefWorks
• Details of the article will be directly exported into RefWorks.  However, sometimes only a very basic, incomplete reference is exported so please check and edit as appropriate.
• You may get better references by exporting them from PubMed

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In the British Library Catalogue:
•  Tick to mark records
• Click on Email/print/save
• Choose Record format: Full format and click on Go
• Choose to Save records by clicking on Go below the save option
• You references will then be displayed in your browser window
• In your browser click on File and Save as
• Save your references as a text file (.txt)
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter/Data Source: Sheffield Hallam Univerity
• Select the Database: British Library Catalogues [British Library]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved file so that it appears in the Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your imported references

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.
• An alternative is to use the 'Email a link to download exported results' which can be found under the 'Share' option. After a few minutes you will receive a zipped copy of the file by email which you can import into RefWorks. However be aware that importing a large file into RefWorks may take a long time and can fail if the file is too large.

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.
• An alternative export method, is to use the 'Email a link to download exported results' which can be found under the 'Share' option. After a few minutes you will receive a zipped copy of the file by email which you can import into RefWorks. However be aware that importing a large file into RefWorks may take a long time and can fail if the file is too large.

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In Cochrane Library:
• Conduct your search and locate some articles of interest
• Click in the check box next to the records you wish to import
• Click Export selected (bottom left of the screen)
• Select the appropriate Export type e.g. PC from the drop down menu
• Ensure Abstract And Citation is selected from the File type drop down menu
• Click on Export Citation
• You should be prompted to save the file.  Click on Save as and navigate to the drive and directory where you want to save the file
• In RefWorks:
• Click on the References menu and select Import
• Select Sheffield Hallam University as the Import Filter/Data Source
• Ensure Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews [Cochrane Library] is selected from the Database drop down menu
• Click on Browse and navigate to the text file you saved
• Click on the Import button
• NOTE: SHULinks does not work with Cochrane so you will not be able to automatically link from your RefWorks database to the full text of the articles. To see the full text you must return to Cochrane.

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• In Compendex:
• Tick results to mark
• Click on the Download button
• Select RefWorks direct import
• Click on the Download button

• In COPAC:
• View each record of interest
• Click on Tag record to select references
• Click on the Download button
• In the Save records to file section
• Click on the Save to file button
• Save the records as a text file (.txt)
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter/Data Source: Sheffield Hallam Univerity
• Select the Database: COPAC [COPAC]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved file so that it appears in the Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your imported references

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

Direct export

In the database:

1. Tick the boxes next to references of interest
2. Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
3. In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
4. In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
   (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
5. Login or return to RefWorks to see you references

PLEASE NOTE:

If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.

The DOI will import in the following form:
http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

This should be amended to appear as follows:
10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In Dawsonera:
• click on the Read Online option to view a book of interest
• When viewing the book of interest, click on the Cite button
• In the "Cite" box which opens, click on the RefWorks button
  (please note that you will need pop-ups to be enabled in your browser)
• PLEASE NOTE:  Authors names are often imported in the incorrect format.  Please edit and correct your references in RefWorks

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Make sure you are logged into RefWorks
• In Emerald:
• From the Search Results screen, tick references of interest
• From the "For selected items: Please select" drop down menu chooseDownload citation
• Click on the RefWorks button
• Click on the Download article citation data button
• A window will open showing your data in tagged format
• Click on the Submit data to RefWorksbutton
• Your references should be imported into RefWorks
• You may need to use the Back button in your browser to return to Emerald
• If you are browsing a journal, select the articles of interest, click on "Send to citation mgr" and then follow the instructions above
• * PLEASE NOTE: titles imported from Emerald may have "null" added to them so please edit as needed

• If you have used EndNote in the past and now wish to use RefWorks, you can import your references.  RefWorks provide instructions for converting from other bibliographic management programs including the various versions of EndNote.  Please contact us if you have any problems importing your references from EndNote to RefWorks.

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• In the database:
• Select the references you want to export by ticking the boxes next to them
• Click on the Export button
• An "Export Citation List:" window will open
• In the Export to drop down menu, select RefWorks
• Select Complete Reference in the Fields to Display section
• Click on the Export Citations button

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• Exporting one record at a time
• Click on the cite icon (quotation mark) under a reference you want to export to RefWorks
• In the 'Cite' box which opens click the RefWorks link
• To be able to do this in one click instead:
• Click on the menu button (looks like 3 lines) on the top left of the Google Scholar screen
• From the menu, choose the Settings option
• Near the bottom of the Settings screen is a section with the title: Bibliography Manager
• In the Bibliography manager section, select the option to Show links to import citations and from the drop down menu, select RefWorks
• Click on Save
• Return to the Google Scholar search screen and search for a topic of interest
• When you look at the list of results you will now see a link: Import into RefWorks under references where this is possible
• Click on this to import the details of a reference into RefWorks
• Exporting multiple records - you will need a Google account
• Login to Google Scholar and search for a topic of interest
• Click on the stars next to records of interest
• Click on 'My Library' to see your chosen records
• Tick the boxes next to the records you wish to export to RefWorks
• Click on the download icon and choose the RefMan option
• Save the file of references as a .ris file
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter/Data Source: RIS Format
• Select the Database: RIS Format
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the 'Select Text File' box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your imported references

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• In HighWire Press: 
• Tick to mark references of interest
• Click on the "download to citation manager" radio button and click Go
• Click on the download citations to citation manager link
• Choose RefWorks

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• Importing references from House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
• Tick the boxes below references of interest to Add to Marked List
• Click on the Marked List (## items) button on the left of the screen
• In the Marked List view, click on the Download link
• Click on Export directly to RefWorks

• IEEE have removed the direct export to RefWorks (November 2017). Save the references to file and import them
• In IEEE Xplore:
• Search for articles of interest
• Tick in the boxes next to records of interest to select them
• Click on the Export menu button
• Choose the Citations tab
• Choose the Format: RIS
• Choose to include the Citation and Abstract
• Click on the Export button
•  Note that if you want to download citations from different pages of your results list you will need to download the citations from the first page of results to RefWorks, before moving on to the next page. 
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter/Data Source: RIS Format
• Select the Database: RIS Format
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the 'Select Text File' box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your imported references

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In Ingenta Connect:
• You need to be logged in with and "Additional sign in"
• From the Search Results page choose ADD next to references of interest
• Clik on My profile and then Favouritesto view your selected references
• Click on Export options under Tools
• Click on the BibTex option
• You should be prompted to save the file as a text file
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter/Data Source: BibTeX
• Select the Database: Multiple Databases
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your imported references

• In Emerald Management Xtra or International Civil Engineering Abstracts (Emerald Abstracts):
• From the Search Results screen, click on the View all # results link at the top of the list or results,
• Tick the boxes next to records of interest to mark them
• Click on the GO button next to the Add to the marked list: Session box at the top of the results list*
• View the Marked list by clicking on the Marked list link under the "Search for:" options on the left
• Choose Session in the "Select a marked list" box and click on the Select button
• Scroll down to see your list of selected records
• Click on the Select all link on the right above the list, to select all the documents in the Marked list
• Click on the Export options link
• Click on the Export to RefWorks button and your selected references will be imported into RefWorks automatically
• * PLEASE NOTE: A session Marked List will only allow you to export 10 records at a time to RefWorks.  If you wish to export more records, either repeat the above process for additional records or sign up for an Emerald profile and you will be able to create a longer Marked List.

• In the database:
• Select the references you want to export by ticking the boxes next to them
• Click on the Export button
• An "Export Citation List:" window will open
• In the Export to drop down menu, select RefWorks
• Select Complete Reference in the Fields to Display section
• Click on the Export Citations button

• In JSTOR:
• Tick the boxes to the left of articles to be imported
• Click on the Save citation(s) (Requires login) button
• If you do not have a MyJSTOR account, click on the Register link.  If you already have an account, Login.
• Your citations will then be saved and you will be returned to the results of your search
• Click on the Saved citations link under your name at the top of the screen
• Click on the Select / unselect all box to select your references
• Click on the Export Citations button
• Choose the RefWorks link and your references will be saved into RefWorks
• Individual references can be imported without registering for a MyJSTOR account.
• Search JSTOR for articles of interest
• Click on the title of an article of interest to view the full details (and text if available)
• Click on the Export this Citation button
• Click on the RefWorks link to export the reference for that article

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

In the EBSCOhost Database:

1. Add records of interest to the folder
2. View the Folder
3. Select the references you wish to export
4. Click on the Export icon above the references
5. Choose Direct export to RefWorks
6. Click on the Save button

You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In Literature Online (LION):
• Tick records of interest
• Click on the Marked List link
• Click on the list you wish to view
• Click on Download Citations
• Click on Export directly to RefWorks
• Please note that you may need to change the Ref Type and check the details for non standard materials, e.g. book chapters etc. after you have imported the records.

• In MathEduc:
• Clink on the BibTex link for for the article of interest
• Highlight the displayed text
• Use Ctrl+C to copy the record
• Open a new document in Word
• Use Ctrl+V to paste the record into the document
• Repeat the display and copy/paste for other articles of interest
• Save the document as a text file (.txt)
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select Import
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: ACM Digital Library (BibTeX format) [BibTeX]
• Use the Browse button to select your saved text file so it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

• In the database:
• Select the references you want to export by ticking the boxes next to them
• Click on the Export button
• An "Export Citation List:" window will open
• In the Export to drop down menu, select RefWorks
• Select Complete Reference in the Fields to Display section
• Click on the Export Citations button

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• If you have previously used Mendeley to manage your references you can transfer them to RefWorks.
• In Mendeley Desktop:
• Select the references you would like to transfer
• Click on the File menu and choose: Export
• In the "Export Selected Documents" window which opens, change the Save as type from BibTeX (*.bib) to  RIS- Research Information Systems (*.ris)
• Save your file
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the mport Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: RIS Format [RIS Format]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In MLA International Bibliography:
• Tick to mark records
• Click on Marked List
• Click on Download citations
• Click on Export directly to RefWorks
• PLEASE NOTE:  References with more than one author are not exporting correctly.  The 2nd and additional authors and titles are appearing in the wrong fields.  Please make sure you check and edit your references.

• In MyiLibrary:
• In MyiLibrary, find a book of interest and start viewing the full text
• Click on the Refworks link at the top right of the screen
• The details of the viewed book will be imported into RefWorks

• In Nexis UK
• Search for articles
• Select articles of interest by ticking the boxes next to each one
• Click on the "Export Bibliographic References" button at the top of the results list (the button looks like an open book)
• Make sure that the option "Tagged documents" is selected
• Click on the Export button
• Your selected references will be exported to RefWorks
• In RefWorks, click on View Last Imported Folder to see the references
• NOTE: The text of the byline in Nexis UK is transferred into the author field in RefWorks.  You will probably need to amend the author details.  Make sure authors are in the format: Jones,Robert K.; Adams,Mary; Smith,J.R.;
• You may also wish to add a URL to the reference using the Edit function in RefWorks

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In NHS Evidence (Evidence Search):
• Click on Journals and Databases
• Choose "Advanced Search"
• Tick to search either an individual database or cross search several at once. Click on the Search button
• Search your topic of interest
• In the search history box, click on the blue hyperlinked number (found below the term view results)
• Mark records of interest
• Go to the bottom of the page
• Under Display Format choose Full
• Under Output Format choose RIS (Inc RefMan,Procite, Endnote and Refworks)
• Click on the Save icon - from the Save button choose Save as from the drop down menu.  The document should be saved as a text file (.txt)
• In Refworks:
• From the References menu select Import
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter/Data Source : Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: RIS Format from the drop down menu
• Use the Browse button to select your saved text file so it appears in the "select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button.
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

Direct export

In the database:

1. Tick the boxes next to references of interest
2. Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
3. In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
4. In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
   (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
5. Login or return to RefWorks to see you references

PLEASE NOTE: 

If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.

The DOI will import in the following form:
http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

This should be amended to appear as follows:
10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In PROLA:
• Choose to view the full details of an article of interest by clicking on the title link
• Click on the link Export Citation: EndNote (RIS)
• Highlight the record
• Use Ctrl+C to copy the record
• Open a new document in Word
• Use Ctrl+V to paste the record into the document
• Repeat the copy/paste for other articles of interest
• Save the document as a text file (.txt)
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the mport Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: RIS Format [RIS Format]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE:
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• PubMed creates a file with your references that you can inport to ProQuest RefWorks
•       Link to instructions for PubMed

• RefGrab-It is a tool for capturing bibliographic information from web pages and importing the information into RefWorks. It is available as a bookmarklet or a downloadable plug-in for Internet Explorer or Firefox (refGrab-It is not available for Chrome).  On University computers, you cannot install the plug-in unless you have admin rights on the computer you are using (some staff may have this).
• In most cases, if you wish to use RefGrab-It on University computers, you need to set up RefGrab-It to appear in your browser favourites:
• Open Internet Explorer and login to RefWorks
• In RefWorks, click on the Tools menu and then select RefGrab-It
• In the window which opens there are 3 grey boxes.  The bottom one is called RefGrab-It bookmarklet
• In the bottom right hand corner of this grey box is a link which says RefGrab-It.  Right mouse click on this link
• In the menu which opens, choose Add to Favourites...
• Click on Yes to continue if you see a Security Alert message
• Select where you would like the link RefGrab-It to appear in your Favourites
• When you are on a web page which you would like to grab bibliographic information from, click on the RefGrab-It link in your Farvourites. RefGrab-IT will then try to import information about the web page to your RefWorks account.  Mostly this information will be very limited and any information imported will need adding to and amending. It is often quicker to enter the details of web pages manually.
• If there is an ISBN number, PubMed ID, digital object identifier (DOI) or COinS (ContextObjects in Spans) code in the web page, RefGrab-It will try and find out more information about the book or document that the number or code relates to.  It will then give you the option to import information about that source into RefWorks.  This can be helpful for example to import details of books from Amazon.
• RefGrab-It can be slow, especially if it is searching for details about supplementary resources described on a web page.

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• There are some issues with exporting from Resource Lists Online:
• you can export an entire resource list to RefWorks, but it is not possible to choose particular references to export
• due to the way data is stored in Resource Lists Online, references exported to RefWorks may contain incomplete data or all the data may be in the title field.
• You may prefer to follow the links in Resource Lists Online to sources of interest and export the details to RefWorks from the databases on which you find the sources.  If you do export references from Resource Lists Online you will need to check the references carefully and edit them to add the missing data or move the misplaced data.
• In Resource Lists Online:
• Click on the Export button
• Choose the option: Export citations
• Save the file as a .RIS file
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter/Data Source: Sheffield Hallam Univerity
• Select the Database: RISFormat [RIS Format]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your imported references

• In Royal Society of Chemistry Journals online:
• Search for articles of interest and tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Above the list of results, choose RefWorks in the "Download Citations" box and click on GO
• In the File Download window choose Save
• Save the file as a .ris file to an appropriate place
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the mport Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: RIS Format [RIS Format]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

• It is possible to keep a list of RSS feeds of interest to you in your RefWorks database and to import articles from these feeds into RefWorks
• To add an RSS Feed to your database:
• Go to the Search menu and select RSS Feed
• Paste the URL of an RSS feed of interest into the RSS Feed URL box and click the Add RSS Feed button
• To import articles from the RSS Feed into your database:
• Click on the link to the feed from the RSS Feed page in your RefWorks Database
• In the RSS Feed window which opens, select which articles you would like to import into RefWorks by ticking the boxes next to them.
• Click on the Import button and confirm that you would like to import the references
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see the references
• The RSS feed information will probably need editing or adding to if you wish to create a reference from it in a bibliography.

• Direct export from SAGE Publications / Journals online
• In Sage, tick to mark records of interest
• Click on the ADD Citations button
• Below this, select the Save/Print Email/Download/ link
• Select the Format: Citation + Abstract
• Click on the Download to Citation Manager button
• In the Citation Manager Formats box on the right of the screen, click on the RefWorks link

• Export by saving to file
• In ScienceDirect:
• Tick to mark records
• Click on the Export citations button
• In the Export citations screen, choose your required output format, e.g. Citations only or Citations and Abstracts
• Coose the Export format: RIS format (Reference Manager, Procite, EndNote)
• Click on the Export button
• Save the file with a filename of your choice and with the file type .ris
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: RIS Format [RIS Format]
• Click on the Browsebutton and select your saved text file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

• Direct Export from Scopus
• Tick to mark records
• Click on the Output button
• In the Output screen, make sure the Export radio button is selected
• In the Export format box, choose: RefWorks direct export
• Choose your required output format, e.g. Complete format or Abstract format
• Click on theExport button 
• If you experience problems with exporting using this method (e.g. not all the records are exported), your results may include some references from CSA (these can be recognised by Abstract on CSA appearing under the reference instead of the usual Abstract+Refs).  If this is the case, you can use the alternative method below.
• Export by saving to file 
• In Scopus:
• Tick to mark records
• Click on the Output button
• In the Output screen, make sure the Export radio button is selected
• In the Export format box, choose: RIS format (Reference Manager, Procite, EndNote)
• Choose your required output format, e.g. Complete format or Abstract format
• Click on the Export button
• In the File Download window, save the file with a filename of your choice and with the file type .ris Document
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the mport Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: RIS Format [RIS Format]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

• In SHURA:
• Search for information of interest
• At the top of the list of results, select RefWorks in the Export ## results as: box
• Click on the Export button 
• A file will open in your browser containing the references in a tagged format.
• Use the browser Save as option to save the file as a .txt file (it is important that it is a text file)
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the mport Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: Tagged Format [RefWorks Tagged Format]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references 
• Please note: some letters with diacritic marks may not import into RefWorks, please check the data you have imported

• In Social Care Online: 
• Register/Login to Social Care Online
• Select "Advanced search"
• After searching, click on the Export top 500 results button (your results will then display as a list)
• Select items for export using the checkboxes on the left
• At the top of the list of results, find Select report format, in the drop down menu below this, choose RIS and then click on the Export selected button
• Save the file
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the mport Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: RIS Format [RIS Format]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• In SpringerLink:
• Click on the item you want to export to get the full record
• Below "Other actions", click on the EXPORT CITATION link
• If given the option, select whether you want "Citation without Abstract" or "Citation and Abstract"
• Click on the Select Download button and select the Citation Manager: RefWorks (RIS)
• You should be given the option to Save the file.  Save it in the format offered which is a RIS File
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: RIS Format [RIS Format]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved RIS file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references 
• NOTE: When the reference has been imported into RefWorks, you will probably need to change the Ref Type that RefWorks assigns the reference from Generic to Journal Article or Book, Section, etc. as appropriate.

• Importing references from SwetsWise
• This is only possible when viewing the results of searching this database. Browsing a journal in SwetsWise or accessing a journal on SwetsWise via SHULinks unfortunately does not give you the option to download.
• In SwetsWise:
• When reviewing the results of a search, click on the download results link
• Tick to select all the article and publication related fields otherwise this information will not be imported.
• Select the record(s) you wish to import by including their numbers in the select results range field
• Choose the default download file type: RIS
• Click on the Download button and save the file as a .ris file
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the mport Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: RIS Format [RIS Format]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references
• Note: the format of the volume and issue numbers will need editing after importing details of journal articles.

• In Taylor & Francis Online:
• Tick in the boxes next to references of interest
• From the Choose an Action: drop down list, choose: Download Citation
• Click on Go
• From the Choose a format: options, select RIS
• Choose whether you want the citation only or whether you would also like the abstract and references
• Click on the Download citation(s) button
• Save the file as a ris file (filename.ris)
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the Import Filter/Data Source: Sheffield Hallam Univerity
• Select the Database: RISFormat [RIS Format]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your imported references

• In the EBSCOhost Database:
• Add records of interest to the folder
• View the Folder
• Select the references you wish to export
• Click on the Export icon above the references
• Choose Direct export to RefWorks
• Click on the Save button
• You may experience problems if you try to export references from an EBSCOhost database to RefWorks if you do it from the Full Record View export feature. We recommend that you add any records you wish to export to the folder and export from the folder as described above.

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• Direct export
• In the database:
• Tick the boxes next to references of interest
• Click on the Export/Save link at the top of the list of results
• In the list of options, choose to Export to: RefWorks
• In the Export dialogue box which then opens, click on the Continue button
  (Important: DO NOT choose the "Deselect items when done" option in this dialogue box)
• Login or return to RefWorks to see you references
•  
• PLEASE NOTE: 
• If you intend to use RefWorks to create an APA style reference list which includes DOIs of electronic documents , you will need to amend the DOIs which are imported into RefWorks from Proquest databases.
• The DOI will import in the following form:
• http://dx.doi.org.hallam.idm.oclc.org/10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002
• This should be amended to appear as follows:
• 10.1016/j.rcim.2011.07.002

• In Web of Science:
• Here is how to export references from the new interface into RefWorks:
• In Web Of Science: On the search results screen, tick the references you want to export
• Go to the Export button at the top of the screen and select RIS
• Make any amendments in the Export Records to RIS file pop up box
• Click on the Export button
• Save the RIS file to your device where you will be able to find it for step 8
• In ProQuest RefWorks: click on Add. There is a + sign above the Add feature.
• Click on Import references
• Click on Select a file from your computer and then find the saved RIS file
• If you are asked 'What is the format of this file?'  Choose RIS Format
• You can assign the references to a folder using the drop down option or import them without assigning
• Click the Import button
• Your selected references will be saved to RefWorks

• In Wilson Art Full-Text:
• Tick to mark records
• Click on Exporting / Citing on the blue menu bar
• Make sure that you are going to export the records in your marked set
• Choose to Download Record(s) into: RefWorks Direct Export Tool
• Click on the Export button
• NOTE: If this does not appear to work, you may need to allow popups in your browser before exporting from this database into RefWorks

• In ZETOC:
• Tick to mark records
• Click on the Download button
• Select the Format: Long labels
• Choose to Download: Just tagged records (those you have marked)
• Click on the Send file button
• Save the file as a text file (.txt)
• In RefWorks:
• From the References menu select the Import option
• In the Import References window, choose the mport Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
• Select the Database: Zetoc [MIMAS]
• Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
• Click on the Import button
• Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references

If you have used Zotero for reference management and want to change to using RefWorks, you can transfer your references.

In Zotero:

1. In the central column, highlight the references you would like to transfer
2. right click on the highlighted references and choose: Export Selected Items
3. In the "Export" window which opens, choose the Format: RIS and click on OK
4. Save the file 

In RefWorks:

1. From the References menu select the Import option
2. In the Import References window, choose the mport Filter / Data Source: Sheffield Hallam University
3. Select the Database: RIS Format [RIS Format]
4. Click on the Browse button and select your saved text file so that it appears in the "Select Text File" box
5. Click on the Import button
6. Click on the View Last Imported Folder button to see your references