LibGuides: Criminology: Probation

What's on this page

On this page, you will find key, specialist resources for studying probation. You will find guidance on finding books, journals, databases, handbooks and encyclopaedias, as well as key websites.

We encourage you to use all the tabs on the Criminology guide to find general resources and guidance that will be useful and important for you. The “Referencing” tab will take you to our guidance for APA 7.

If you need any help, you can contact your Learning and Teaching Librarians through Hallam Help.

Searching for probation books

Most books relevant to Probation can be found at the Collegiate Library. However, you may need to use books from the Adsetts Library for some modules.

To find details of the exact location and availability of print books and electronic books, please use Library Search. On the search results page, click on the title of a book to see information about all the copies. To use an eBook click on the 'Available online' link underneath the title in the same search.

Use the shelfmark you find on Library Search to locate the book in the library. Here are some common shelfmarks for books on probation:

364.63

364.68

New Books

Reimagining Probation Practice: Re-Forming Rehabilitation in an Age of Penal Excess by Burke, Lol.; Carr, Nicola.; Cluley, Emma.; Collett, Steve.; McNeill, Fergus
ISBN: 9780367775995
Publication Date: 2022
This book provides a comprehensive and positive reimagining of probation practice in England and Wales across all the key settings in which work with people subject to supervision takes place. Bringing together chapters co-authored by academics and practitioners, it offers an overall conceptualisation of the rehabilitative endeavour within the realities of a probation service recently unified after the acknowledged failure of the Transforming Rehabilitation reforms.

Reimagining Probation Practice covers the main themes and job functions of probation practice, from court work to individual and group interventions, to resettlement and public protection, to partnerships, to education and training. Each chapter includes a brief critical history of the area of practice, the current policy context, the applicability of different forms of rehabilitation (personal, legal/judicial, social and moral) to this area of practice, an overview of current good practice and areas in need of development. The book argues that the principles of parsimony, proportionality and productiveness should be applied to the criminal justice system in its work to rehabilitate individuals.

This book is essential reading for practitioners and all those engaged in probation training, as well as policy makers, leaders, managers and those interested in social and criminal justice.
Probation, Mental Health and Criminal Justice : Towards Equivalence by Brooker, Charlie.; Sirdifield, Coral
ISBN: 9781032044927
Publication Date: 2022
This collection of research and evaluation explores issues in mental health and probation across the globe. The volume offers insight into a wide range of interrelated topics that address the mental health and mental health needs of those under probation supervision. The chapters embrace a range of diverse mental health concerns. The underpinning assumption is that offenders should receive mental healthcare that is ‘equivalent’ to that received by the general population where this is appropriate. This overview is informed by perspectives from academics and practitioners based in England and the Republic of Ireland, and also includes the views of people with lived experience of the Criminal Justice System. Building upon and adding to the existing literature in this field, the book will be a valuable resource for academics and researchers as well as those training to work in, and currently working in, the criminal justice and mental health field, and would also be of interest to those working in related healthcare settings.
Professionalism in probation : making sense of marketisation by Tidmarsh, Matt
ISBN: 9781000427653
Publication Date: 2022
This title explores probation staff understandings of professionalism in the aftermath of the Transforming Rehabilitation (TR) reforms to services in England and Wales. Drawing on the sociology of the professions, this book offers an original and timely contribution to the criminal justice literature, examining the ways in which professionalism in probation has been reshaped and renegotiated in response to the market logic that has dominated public services in recent decades.

Journals

To explore an area in more detail, you will need to read journals. Journals and periodicals contain articles and are published at regular intervals. Journals are very good for keeping up to date with the latest news and research or for information about a very specific subject.

BrowZine

To find journals specific to Policing, you can use BrowZine. BrowZine is the catalogue of the electronic journals that the Hallam Library has access to. You can browse through the catalogue by subject area or search for a particular title. You can keep up to date with your favourite academic journals by downloading the BrowZine app to your mobile devise and saving your top journals. Each time a new issue of that journal is published, you will be alerted to the new content.

Key journals

Probation Journal

European Journal of Probation

Probation and Parole Law Reports

Federal Probation

International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology

Irish Probation Journal

Punishment and Society

Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text provides full text access to an extensive range of journals relating to criminology and criminal justice.
Sociological Abstracts is a database of the international literature in sociology and the social and behavioural sciences, it provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Social Services Abstracts is an index of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA). Index and abstracts for health, social services, psychology, criminology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. Coverage is from 1987 onwards. Updated monthly, with more than 1500 records added per update.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (SWA) is an international abstracting service designed to meet the information needs of all those working, teaching, studying or researching into any of the main areas of women's studies. Provides abstracts for journal articles and books.
APA PsycInfo (Alternate Name: PsycInfo). This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed.
SCOPUS is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary abstract and database curated by subject matter experts. Scopus is also a citation index, which means that the records in the database contain information on citations made in that publication and it links that information so you can identify which publications have cited that one, and how many times a publication has been cited.

Professional Bodies/Probation Websites and Resources

The Probation Institute is a professional membership body, supporting practitioners across the UK probation and community justice sector.

The Probation Service is a statutory criminal justice service that supervises high-risk offenders released into the community.

HM Inspectorate of Probation is the independent inspector of probation and youth offending services in England and Wales.

The National Association of Probation Officers (NAPO) is the Trade Union, Professional Association and campaigning organisation for Probation and Family Court staff.

The National Probation Service (NPS), part of Her Majesty's Prison and Probation Service (HMPPS) is a statutory criminal justice service that supervises high-risk offenders released into the community.

The Youth Justice Board is a non-departmental public body responsible for overseeing the youth justice system in England and Wales.

The Probation Board for Northern Ireland (PBNI) is a Non Departmental Public Body established by statute to deliver a public service and overseen by a Board rather than ministers.

The Prisons and Probation Ombudsman (PPO) carries out independent investigations into complaints and deaths in custody.

Online Handbooks and Dictionaries

Handbook of Probation by Loraine Gelsthorpe and Rodney Morgan.

Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management edited by Rob Canton