LibGuides: Criminology: Books &amp; eBooks

Books and eBooks

Photo credit: 'December Social Sciences' by Pesky Librarians via Flickr (CC BY_NC_ND 2.0)

Most print books relevant to Criminology can be found at the Collegiate Library. However, you may need to use books from the Adsetts Library for some modules.

To find details of the exact location and availability of print books and electronic books, please use Library Search. On the search results page, click on the title of a book to see information about all the copies. For eBooks, use the Full Text online link.

Some relevant shelfmarks

The catalogue record for each book includes a shelfmark that shows exactly where to find it in the sequence on the shelves. Books are firstly filed in subject number order - lowest numbers first.

Subject	Shelfmark
Criminal Law	345
Criminal Justice	345.05
Victims of Crime	362.88
Criminology	364
Criminology theory	364.1
Hate Crime	364.15

Using eBooks

If possible, the Library will stock both the eBook and print versions of books as we know this is important for students working away from the University. Unfortunately publishers do not always offer an eBook in a format suitable for library use, or it is not available at the time we order the print version.

How to find eBooks

Go to the Library Gateway
Search for your keywords in Library Search
In the Refine my results section, click on Online and Books / eBooks
You have now limited your results to eBooks
You can now read the eBook by choosing a book and follow the link(s) available under Find Online and click on the name of the eBook provider e.g. Dawson.

How to use an eBooks

How you can use an eBook depends on terms and conditions set by the publisher. In most cases you will be able to choose between reading online and downloading the eBook for a limited period to your own device. When downloaded eBooks expire you can download them again.

Most eBooks can be read by more than one reader at a time but sometimes you may have to wait if another reader is using the book.You can search within individual eBooks, add notes and print or copy a limited number of pages from most eBooks.

Further help

If you need further help please take a look at the Help pages for eBooks or get in contact.

New Books

Mixed Methods in Criminology by Vicky Heap; Jaime Waters
ISBN: 9781138309463
Publication Date: 2019-01-10
Mixed Methods in Criminology combines the criminology topics with the principles of mixed methods research. Following an introduction to mixed methods and its implications for criminology and criminological research, the book works systematically through planning a research project, developing research questions, aims and objectives, literature searching skills and the project planning process. The principles and practice of ethical research are summarised. Chapters on philosophy, mixed methods design, combining data, research design and sampling, data collection methods and data analysis; delivering a comprehensive overview of how to undertake a mixed methods research project in practice. There are chapters on troubleshooting, and how to write-up mixed methods research. The book concludes with a range of real-life mixed methods case studies to demonstrate how the techniques outlined in this book have been employed in reality and to inspire new criminological mixed methods projects. This is an essential student companion for any criminological mixed methods research project. .
Introduction to Criminology by Anthony Walsh; Craig T. Hemmens
ISBN: 9781506399249
Publication Date: 2018-02-19
An introduction to the study of criminology. Each reading provides examples of how the student can use current research to understand criminology. The latest theories, concepts, and research from sociology, psychology, genetics, evolutionary biology, and the neurosciences are explained. Topics such as human trafficking, rural crime, recidivism, the abuse of technology in domestic violence and stalking, cyber attacks, and drug use. Case studies present examples of critical issues such as emotion and rationality, oppositional culture, self-control, genetics and neuroscience, and terrorism. There is a focus on connecting theory to criminal acts which allows the reader to see how the substantive sections (violent crime, property crime, serial killing, white-collar crime, and others) fit in with the section on theory. Statistics, graphs, and tables demonstrate the most recent trends in criminology.
Criminological Theory by Stephen G. Tibbetts; Craig T. Hemmens
ISBN: 9781506367828
Publication Date: 2018-02-19
This book introduces criminological theories and show theory can be applied to current policies, and challenges. New topics include media consumption and support for capital punishment, gender differences in delinquency, bias and police stops, and the effectiveness of re-integrative shaming and restorative justice. There is a section dedicated to feminist perspectives. A global view throughout the book provides greater access to criminological research and theory across nations and continents. Examples are from United States, South Africa, Brazil, Canada, Korea, and more. Case studies examine offender motives to help the reader apply the theories discussed to interesting and memorable examples. Policy is integrated into each section, providing opportunities to see the practical policy implications of each theory. Coverage of critical topics introduce important issues such as the influence of employment on criminal behavior, the success of school programs in reducing delinquent behavior, and federal sentencing guidelines in regard to crack versus powder cocaine. Statistics, graphs, and tables demonstrate the most recent trends in criminology.

Multidisciplinary eBook collections

The Library has a range of eBook collections. You can search Library Search to find eBooks about many different subjects and that approach may be quicker than searching individual collections. You can also browse or search with the collections directly.

Proquest eBook Central
Authoritative eBooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers.

Use eBook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download eBooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
EBSCOHost
Databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases relating to art, business, communication, film and television, history, medicine, sport etc. which can be searched individually or collectively. The resources offer abstracts, full-text journal articles, news items, company reports, and peer-reviewed sources. Includes some full text.
OAPEN
OAPEN is a platform supporting open access publishing of peer reviewed books.
Taylor and Francis SHU eBook Collection
A collection of selected ebooks published by Taylor and Francis, who publish across a wide range of subjects and disciplines including humanities, social sciences, education, behavioural sciences, built environment and law. Filter to "Show content I have access to" to see books SHU subscribes to.
VLeBooks
This database contains all the VLE ebook titles that Sheffield Hallam have access to. This includes the Dawsonera ebook titles.
Oxford Very Short Introductions
Each volume provides an authoritative and engaging assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches.
more...less...
Key titles to search for:
- Criminal Justice
- Criminology
- Decolonization
- Organized Crime
- The Welfare State
- Violence