LibGuides: Human Rights: Journals

On this page, you will find:

Guidance on using journal articles.
Information about BrowZine, a catalogue of electronic journals.
Key journals for Human Rights

Using Journal Articles

To explore an area in more detail, you will need to read journals. Journals and periodicals contain articles and are published at regular intervals. Journals are very good for keeping up to date with the latest news and research or for information about a very specific subject.

Cardiff Index

Quite often when looking for journal articles you will find that journal titles are abbreviated - for example the Coventry Law Journal may be referred to as Cov. L.J. The Cardiff Index is a database which allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index. The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals but some other legal publications are also included. The Index is under continuous development with new abbreviations and titles being added on a regular basis.

BrowZine

BrowZine is the catalogue of the electronic journals that the Hallam Library has access to. You can browse through the catalogue by subject area or search for a particular title. You can keep up to date with your favourite academic journals by downloading the BrowZine app to your mobile devise and saving your top journals. Each time a new issue of that journal is published, you will be alerted to the new content. More information about BrowZine, and how to access the resources can be found here.

Example Journals

African Human Rights Law Journal
This is a leading peer-reviewed journal focused on human rights related topics of relevance to Africa, Africans and scholars of Africa. As democratic practices and the protection of human rights struggle to become rooted in Africa, the Journal aims to contribute towards strengthening indigenous African scholarship.
American Journal of International Law
The journal features articles, essays, editorial comments, current developments, and book reviews by pre-eminent scholars and practitioners from around the world addressing developments in public and private international law and foreign relations law. It also contains analyses of decisions by national and international courts and tribunals as well as a section on contemporary U.S. practice in international law.
Asia Pacific Journal on Human Rights and the Law
Offers scholars a forum in which to present comparative, international & national research dealing specifically with issues of law & human rights in the Asia-Pacific region.
European Journal of International Law
The EJIL was established in 1990 by a small group of distinguished scholars based at the European University Institute in Florence.
Human Rights Law Review
Human Rights Law Review seeks to promote awareness, knowledge, and discussion on matters of human rights law and policy.
Human Rights Quarterly
The Quarterly provides up-to-date information on important developments within the United Nations and regional human rights organizations, both governmental and non-governmental. It presents current work in human rights research and policy analysis, reviews of related books, and philosophical essays probing the fundamental nature of human rights as defined by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
Human Rights Review
An interdisciplinary journal which provides a scholarly forum in which human rights issues and their underlying empirical, theoretical and philosophical foundations are explored. The journal seeks to place human rights practices and policies within a theoretical perspective in order to link empirical research to broader human rights issues.
International Human Rights Law Review
The journal aims to stimulate research and thinking on contemporary human rights issues, problems, challenges and policies.
The International Journal of Human Rights
Covers human rights issues including human rights and the law, race, religion, gender, children, class, refugees, immigration, genocide, torture and war crimes.
Journal of Human Rights
Publishes research on human rights that focus on critical re-examination of existing approaches and developing new theoretical and practical perspectives.
Journal of Human Rights and the Environment
This is a bi-annual journal covering the links and tensions between human rights and environmental issues. It is widely recognised by international scholars for its intellectual quality, relevance and for the depth of its contribution to the vital search for new ways of negotiating the human-environment interface. The journal has published works by leading scholars on human rights and the environment, some of which have been referred to by courts and human rights treaty bodies.
Journal of Human Rights Practice
This is the main academic journal focusing on human rights practice and activism. This online only journal covers all aspects of human rights activism, spanning professional and geographical boundaries.
Law and Ethics of Human Rights
The journal aspires to analyse and clarify the concepts of moral and legal rights, and to contribute to conflict resolution in human rights law. Each issue of the journal focuses on one contemporary dilemma that raises major moral and legal questions.
Medical Law Review
The Medical Law Review is established as an authoritative source of reference for academics, lawyers, legal and medical practitioners, law students, and anyone interested in healthcare and the law.
Review of European, Comparative & International Environmental Law
This journal publishes articles on a broad range of topics in international, European and comparative environmental law and policy, spanning both academic and professional spheres. It offers scholars from a variety of social scientific disciplines, legal practitioners, policy makers, graduate and postgraduate students and any other interested persons with cutting-edge insights into ongoing and emerging developments in international, European and comparative environmental law and policy.
Sexual and Reproductive Health Matters
The journal is a peer-reviewed, international, open access journal that explores emerging, neglected and marginalized issues across the field of sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR). It aims to publish original and contemporary research, particularly from a feminist perspective, that can help to inform the development of policies, laws and services to fulfil the rights and meet the sexual and reproductive health needs of people of all ages, gender identities and sexual orientations.