LibGuides: Human Rights: Other jurisdictions and international law

International legal materials

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a search engine that covers scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. You can use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, as well as scholarly articles available from across the web.
Be aware that Google scholar will find results from sources that SHU does not subscribe to so you may not automatically be able to get full text online. You can take advantage of the SHU subscriptions by going to Scholar Preferences and adding Sheffield Hallam University when prompted for a library name. This will add a SHU Links link to your Google Scholar searches which will identify what you can get via SHU subscriptions. However, we still advise that you access Google Scholar via Library Gateway as this will give you access to the full range of subscribed resources.

Westlaw International
Westlaw International covers a number of jurisdictions, including the United States. It gives access to statutory material, case reports, journal articles and current affairs materials.
WorldLII
The World Legal Information Institute provides free and independent access to databases from over 120 countries covering worldwide law. WorldLII has databases from countries in six continents, mainly those with a common law tradition.
Materials include case law, statutes and commentary. Databases are included from Australasia, Canada; Britain and Ireland, the Pacific Islands, Hong Kong and other countries in Asia and Africa.
All types of legal databases are included: case law, legislation, treaties , law reform, law journals, and specialist subject databases.
more...less...
Search Tip: By selecting “Subjects” under “Catalog” on the home page, you can search for resources under “Human Rights”.
Free Movement
Blog which makes information available to all those affected by immigration control. The changing complexities of immigration law are presented in a clear and understandable way.
more...less...
Search Tip: Click on “Hubs” to find posts grouped together by topic, for example “Human rights”.
Electronic Immigration Network (EIN)
EIN is the UK’s largest specialist provider of information on immigration and asylum case law and country information via the internet.

United Nations documents
On this site, you can search for UN electronic documents, including records, summaries of conferences, UN reports, treaties, maps, yearbooks and more.
more...less...
Search Tip: Scroll down to “Founding Documents” to access the Declaration of Human Rights.
United Nations Human Rights
Information and resources on how the UN promotes and protects human rights.
United Nations Jurisprudence Database
The JURIS database is a central repository of the jurisprudence of the United Nations Treaty Bodies (Committees). It facilitates access to decisions on individual complaints on human rights violations by eight treaty bodies and aims at assisting the public, States, national human rights institutions, civil society, academia, as well as the United Nations and international regional mechanisms to research the vast body of legal interpretation of international human rights law as it has evolved over the past years.
more...less...
You can filter documents in Advanced Search by committee, articles or issues or sessions.

International Court of Justice
The ICJ adjudicates cases between States, over issues such as territorial claims.
International Criminal Court
Contains details of cases before the Court, which deals with crimes against humanity.
Permanent Court of Arbitration
The PCA exists to provide arbitration services for both state and non-state actors.