Design

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is a leading multi-disciplinary online resource which you can use to access databases across all major subject areas including all aspects of business. The resource contains 17,000 full text journals as well as newspapers, magazines and market reports.

Accessing ProQuest Central and getting the full text of articles

A link to ProQuest Central has been placed in your college VLE. You should be able to access this with your normal college username and password
Please do not try accessing ProQuest Central through search engines like Google as you will not be able to get to the full text of any journal articles.
ProQuest Central offers full-text access to 17,000 journals but also offers abstracts (summary of content not the full text for 3,000 journals). To access full text, look for results which have Full-text or Full-text PDF links.

Learning how to use ProQuest Central

Watch the video below and try the step by step worksheet to learn how to use ProQuest Central.

Worksheet

SHAPE libraries

SHAPE libraries will have access to the books on your reading lists. They have a great range of books, eBooks, journals and information databases you can use to find information for your assignments. See also the box below on finding journal articles.

SHAPE
Find out about the library services that are available for SHAPE students.
VTC Library
Search the library catalogue for books and electronic resources, get opening times for the campus libraries, and more.

Art Full Text (Ebsco)

Art Full text contains 300 full text journals, covering art, artists, history of art, design, graphic design, architecture, metalwork, jewellery, cultural policy, visual culture, museums, film.

Design Week news
A web-based magazine for the UK design industry.
V&A Collections
A growing database of images from the V and A Collections, the renown museum of art and design. It covers a wide range of subjects including sculpture, metalwork, glass, textiles, fashion, furniture, prints and photographs.
more...less...
Images can be used for teaching and learning purposes.

VADS-Visual Arts Data Services This link opens in a new window
Visual arts digital resources with over 100,000 images freely available to UK Higher and Further Education sectors. The collection covers a wide range of visual arts, including fine art, fashion, design, public art, posters. Free - registration required
Material may be duplicated for your research use or educational purposes in electronic or print form. You must obtain permission for any other use.

Design Council
The national strategic body for design in the UK. Its stated aim is 'o champion great design that improves lives and makes things better'.
Design Museum
Located in central London, the museum covers product, industrial, graphic, fashion and architectural design.
Hayward Gallery
An art gallery within London's South Bank Centre that displays contemporary art and garden furniture designs.
National Gallery
On-line access to the entire National Gallery permanent collection and long-term loans; the collections are illustrated and described. Search the entire collection or browse by time period or artist.
Tate Online
The website of the Tate Gallery - Tate Britain, Tate Modern, Tate Liverpool and Tate St Ives. Gives details of exhibitions and events. See the Tate Collection button for image links, searchable by artist or subject. There are also links to online events, webcasts and net art.
Association for Contemporary Jewellery
Promoting the artform, supporting the makers, developing the audience in the UK and abroad.
Crafts Council
The national development agency for contemporary craft in the UK.
Creative Review
A monthly magazine targeted on the commercial arts and design scene. It showcases contemporary advertising, design, illustration, new media, photography, and typography.
Culture24
Latest news, exhibition reviews and features from UK museums, galleries, heritage and archaeology sites together with exhibition and event listings from thousands of UK museums, art galleries, heritage sites, archives and libraries.
Fashion-Era
Focuses on women's costume and fashion history.
British Council Arts
Features and news about collaborations between the British Council and cultural institutions around the world.
TED talks
Over 1,900 recorded talks on a wide range of topics across technology, entertainment, design and more. Lasting a maximum of 18 minutes each, they often involve storytelling.
The Product Development and Management Association
is a global community of professional members. They share skills, expertise and experience that power the most recognized and respected innovative companies in the world.
The World Design Organization
is an international non-governmental organization promoting the profession of industrial design. It is focusing on generating better products, systems, services, and experiences.
British Industrial Design Association
a network of businesses, freelancers and academics dedicated to supporting the growth of product, interaction and service design.
Pantone - colour finder
Search for Pantone colours by name or number.
New Design - news
The design magazine for insight, innovation & inspiration.

SHAPE - Sheffield Hallam University resources: Design

ProQuest Central

SHAPE libraries

Art Full Text (Ebsco)

Design