Skip to Main Content

SHAPE - Sheffield Hallam University resources: Hospitality, Tourism & Events

Library and student support resources from Sheffield Hallam University for students at the School for Higher and Professional Education

SHAPE libraries

SHAPE libraries will have access to the books on your reading lists. They have a great range of books, eBooks, journals and information databases you can use to find information for your assignments. See also the box below on finding journal articles.

Finding journal articles

SHAPE libraries offer the following databases to help you find journal articles. Click on the link to get started or click on the green button for a Help Guide.
 
Emerald Management 175   
Contains full text journal articles published by Emerald, which is the world's leading publisher of management research.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete   
A bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
Hotel 
Provides one-stop access to numerous scholarly journals, trade publications, reports, newspapers and magazines with respect to the subject of Hospitality & tourism
Leisure Tourism Database 
It is a comprehensive source of information on tourism, leisure, recreation, hospitality, and the economics and sociology of sport. It  also brings you news and analysis from the worlds of tourism, leisure, sport, hospitality and recreation.

 
Sheffield Hallam University also offers you access to ProQuest Central database with full-text access to 17,000  journal articles. See the box below for more information about ProQuest Central.
 

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is a leading multi-disciplinary online  resource which you can use to access databases across all major subject areas including all aspects of business. The resource contains 17,000 full text journals as well as newspapers, magazines and market reports. 

Accessing ProQuest Central and getting the full text of articles

  • A link to ProQuest Central has been placed in your college VLE. You should be able to access this with your normal college username and password
  • Please do not try accessing ProQuest Central through search engines like Google as you will not be able to get to the full text of any journal articles.
  • ProQuest Central offers full-text access to 17,000 journals but also offers abstracts (summary of content not the full text for 3,000 journals). To access full text, look for results which have Full-text or Full-text PDF links.

Learning how to use ProQuest Central

Watch the video below and try the step by step worksheet to learn how to use ProQuest Central.

Hospitality - useful websites

Photo credit:'Chai - Glass & Kettle' by Or Reshef via Flickr (CC BY-NC 2.0) 

Tourism - useful websites