SHAPE - Sheffield Hallam University resources: Sport

SHAPE library offers a range of excellent journal databases, these include:

• SPORTDiscus
• Emerald Management
• Business Source Complete

Find the full list of databases available here

Try the step-by-step worksheet below to learn how to find journal articles using ProQuest Central, Google Scholar and SPORTDiscus.

SHAPE libraries will have access to the books on your reading lists. They have a great range of books, eBooks, journals and information databases you can use to find information for your assignments. See also the box below on finding journal articles.

ProQuest Central is a leading multi-disciplinary online  resource which you can use to access databases across all major subject areas including all aspects of business. The resource contains 17,000 full text journals as well as newspapers, magazines and market reports. 

Accessing ProQuest Central and getting the full text of articles

• A link to ProQuest Central has been placed in your college VLE. You should be able to access this with your normal college username and password
• Please do not try accessing ProQuest Central through search engines like Google as you will not be able to get to the full text of any journal articles.
• ProQuest Central offers full-text access to 17,000 journals but also offers abstracts (summary of content not the full text for 3,000 journals). To access full text, look for results which have Full-text or Full-text PDF links.

Learning how to use ProQuest Central

Watch the video below and try the step by step worksheet to learn how to use ProQuest Central.

Photo credit: 'Nighttime Football' by See-ming Lee via Flickr (CC BY 2.0)