LibGuides: Languages: Chinese

'Chinese garden'

Welcome to the subject guide for Languages: Chinese. On this page you can find:

Chinese language sites and apps
Online newspapers
Selection of resources from the Language Collection
DVDs and audio

Photo credit: 'Chinese garden' by Prayitno via Flickr (CC BY 2.0)

Chinese language sites and apps

Duolingo- Chinese
With Duolingo, you’ll start speaking Mandarin Chinese (yes, even the tones) and pick up 600+ essential Chinese characters. Masterfully order hot pot, impress grandparents and friends in their native tongue and even learn both useful business vocabulary and internet slang!
Pleco Software
Free dictionary app with example sentences.
ArchChinese
This is a freemium Chinese learning site with many good resources, even for non-premium users. It offers a rich set of features with a slick and easy-to-use user interface and is designed specifically for English speakers who have little to no knowledge of Mandarin Chinese.
BBC- Learn Chinese
Online video lessons with audio, games, vocabulary, grammar explanations and exercises.
more...less...
The page has been archived and is no longer updated.

Online newspapers via Nexis

You can access many foreign newspapers electronically by using the database Nexis. You can access Nexis via the A-Z List of Databases on the Library Gateway.

Nexis provides online access to a huge range of national and regional newspapers for China, including:

China Daily
The People's Daily
The Global Times

Nexis This link opens in a new window
Nexis is a major full text database for global news and business information. It gives access to over 35,000 sources, with more than 12,000 international news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals.

Alternative link - please note that, the first time you use this link, you will be asked to enter your first name and last name in order to access Nexis.
Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

A selection of resources from the Language Collection on Level 3: Adsetts Centre

Chinese express: talk Chinese by Moon Tan, Haitong Wang
Call Number: Language Collection CH495.1 TA (Level 3)
ISBN: 9781845700096
Publication Date: 2017
Chinese Express, Talk Chinese is designed for English speakers studying Chinese at beginner's level. This is an essential book for those determined to learn enough Chinese to not only survive, but also enjoy interaction with native speakers. English, Pinyin and Chinese characters are used in parallel, making learners more at ease.
Enjoy Learning: Chinese Characters: Discover Their Hidden Meanings by Kum Ho Park; Kyung Yomg Kong
Call Number: Languages Collection; CH495.111 PA (Level 3)
ISBN: 9788997134090
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Features pictures and jigsaw pieces - to learn written Chinese by learning the meaning of 235 characters that combine to form hundreds more. This book helps you understand the origin and usage of 235 Chinese characters.
Startup Business Chinese by Jane C. M. Kuo
Call Number: Languages Collection; CH495.1 ST (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780887274749
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Startup Business Chinese, Level 1 textbook comprises 12 units covering basic daily corporate interactions and business-related social exchanges.

DVDs and audio

Chinese in three months by P.C. T'ung
Call Number: Languages Collection; CH495.1 TU (Level 3)
ISBN: 0852853319
Publication Date: 1993
Practical and straightforward, this course will help you make steady and rapid progress in an enjoyable way. In Chinese in Three Months the basics of the language are explained short exercises and conversation drills put it into context and pronunciation is made easy. All this is supported by model sentences and relevant word lists.
Mandarin Chinese Visual Phrase Book by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: Languages Collection; CH495.1834 MA (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780756649814
Publication Date: 2009-04-20
Combining the best of DK's visual and audio approaches to learning languages, the Eyewitness Travel Visual Phrasebooks with CDs teach the phrases that are essential for navigating successfully in a foreign country.
Real Chinese
Call Number: Languages Collection; CH495.1 RE (Level 3)
Publication Date: 2004-11-30
A series of short programmes introducing Chinese language, life and culture. They are set in and around Beijing, and include visits to mountains, the countryside and a beach resort.
China close up
Call Number: Languages Collection; CH495.1 CH (Level 3)
Publication Date: 2004-11-30
A series of short programmes which focus on the goals, concerns and aspirations of communities and individuals involved in China's drive for change. The programmes are based in and around Shanghai and in the south-western province of Sichuan.