LibGuides: Languages: Italian

'Amalfi Coast, Italy'

Welcome to the subject guide for Languages: Italian. On this page, you will find:

Guidance on how to find Italian resources in the Library
Italian language and grammar websites

Photo credit: 'Faraglioni, Capri, Italy' by sneakerdog via Flickr (CC BY 2.0)

Where to find books in Adsetts Library

The languages collection can be found on level 3 in Adsetts Library. There is a section for Italian which contains language learning books and CDs, dictionaries and some books about the history, politics and culture of Italy.

A selection of Italian Resources in the Languages Collection

Azione Grammatica! by Derek Aust
Call Number: Languages Collection; IT 455 AU (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780340915271
Publication Date: 2006
This communicative grammar of Italian provides the support needed by those studying for A-level and Higher Grade examinations and a section on Italian spelling is also included.
Collins Italian conversation
Call Number: Languages Collection; IT 458.2421 CO (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780007242177
Publication Date: 2007
'Collins Italian Conversation' offers the user a unique guide to communicating in Italian. Ideal for those wanting to sound natural in Italian, find out more about Italian culture, and practise their spoken Italian with a free downloadable audio file.
The Italian Language Today by Anna Laura Lepschy; Guilio Lepschy
Call Number: Languages Collection; IT 458.2 LE (Level 3)
ISBN: 9781138146976
Publication Date: 2016-05-11
This book remains a unique source on the Italian language as it is actually spoken and written in Italy. The combination of historical perspective and contemporary grammar make it particularly useful for Italian linguistics.

Online newspapers via Nexis

You can access many foreign newspapers electronically by using the database Nexis. You can access Nexis via the A-Z List of Databases on the Library Gateway.

Nexis provides online access to a huge range of national and regional newspapers for Italy, including:

Corriere della Sera
La Stampa
Il Resto del Carlino
La Gazzetta dello Sport

Nexis This link opens in a new window
Nexis is a major full text database for global news and business information. It gives access to over 35,000 sources, with more than 12,000 international news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals.

Alternative link - please note that, the first time you use this link, you will be asked to enter your first name and last name in order to access Nexis.
Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

DVDs and audio

Italianissimo one by Denise De Rome
Call Number: Languages Collection; IT 458 DE (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780563519089
Publication Date: 2004
A fully integrated language course that will give the adult beginner a comprehensive and lively introduction to the language and people of Italy, this book covers areas such as introductions, basic socializing and making requests.
Buongiorno Italia! by Joseph Cremona
Call Number: Languages Collection; IT 458.34 BU (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780563519485
Publication Date: 2005
Based on authentic conversations and featuring practical dialogue and phrases, 'Buongiorno Italia' offers a unique introduction to simple, everyday language.
Collins easy learning Italian by Clelia Boscolo
Call Number: Languages Collection; IT 458.3421 BO (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780007271740
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
This exciting new Easy Learning language course allows learners to take on board all of the Italian they will need while abroad without the need for thick textbooks and complex grammar. 3 audio CDs and accompanying colour booklet make language learning fun, fast and flexible.
Rapid Italian
Call Number: Languages Collection; IT 458.34 RA (Level 3)
ISBN: 9781905443000
Publication Date: 2007
On audio CD with accompanying booklet - Earworms Learning, a genuine breakthrough in language learning - 200+ essential Italian words and phrases anchored into your long term memory with great music.

Italian language resources

Online Italian Club
This website contains a ton of online material including articles, listening exercises, conversation prompts and recordings, vocabulary and verb lists and online lessons.
Live Lingua
The practical and comprehensive courses give a great overview of the Italian language, and provide audio files and a recording feature along with e-books.
Parliamo italiano!
Vocabulary, grammar, audio and video lessons for Italian levels A1 to C2.
One World Italiano
This website provides endless resources around Italian grammar, culture, vocabulary, verbs, reading, listening and more, as well as authentic materials from newspapers and TV shows.
Italian Language Learning Games
Free to use games for learning vocabulary and grammar.
Cruciverba online
The website has crosswords to help with learning vocabulary.
ItalianPod101
These audio-based lessons expose you to spoken Italian and improve your listening comprehension while teaching other language elements.