LibGuides: Languages: Spanish

Spanish

Welcome to the subject guide for Languages: Spanish. On this page, you will find:

Spanish language sites and apps.
Online and print Spanish-speaking newspapers.
A selection of resources available in the Library.

Spanish language sites and apps

BBC languages Spanish
Information about Spain and Spanish. How to have an argument, cool Spanish, what's on Spanish TV, news, pronunciation and much more ...
more...less...
This page has been archived and is no longer updated.
About.com Spanish language
Great resources for learning Spanish: tips, quizzes, pronunciation, culture...
Practical Spanish
Practical Spanish offers beginner through advanced Spanish lessons that focus on Latin American Spanish.
Free Language Spanish
Links to lessons, apps, podcasts, courses, audio, video, articles for many levels.
Radio Lingua network
Courses at different levels: Coffeebreak Spanish, Showtime Spanish.
Instituto Nacional de Estadistica
The Spanish National Statistics Institute website for provincial and municipal demographic, economic and social statistics.
Statistics information is also available from: the Higher Statistics Council, the Interministerial Statistics Commission, the Electoral Register Council and the Interterritorial Statistics Committee.

Online newspapers via Nexis

You can access many foreign newspapers electronically by using the database Nexis. You can access Nexis via the A-Z List of Databases on the Library Gateway.

Nexis provides online access to a huge range of national and regional newspapers for Spanish speaking countries, including:

ABC- Spanish National Daily (Spain
El Pais (Spain)
El Economista (Mexico)
El Mercurio (Chile)

Nexis This link opens in a new window
Nexis is a major full text database for global news and business information. It gives access to over 35,000 sources, with more than 12,000 international news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals.

Alternative link - please note that, the first time you use this link, you will be asked to enter your first name and last name in order to access Nexis.
Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Print newspapers and magazines

Paper copies of a range of foreign newspapers and magazines are in the Language collection on Level 3 of Adsetts Library.

Capital (Spain)
Emprendedores (Spain)
Mia (Spain)

Where to find books in Adsetts Library

The languages collection can be found on level 3 in Adsetts Library. There is a section for Spanish which contains language learning books and CDs, dictionaries and some books about the history, politics and culture of Spanish speaking countries.

A Selection of Spanish Resources in the Languages Collection

Basic Spanish for Business and Finance Enhanced Edition by Ana Jarvis; Raquel Lebredo; Francisco Mena-Ayllon
Call Number: Languages Collection; SP468 HA (Level 3)
ISBN: 9781285052236
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This is a communication manual designed to serve those in the world of business who seek basic conversational skills in Spanish. Written for use in two-semester or three-quarter courses, this worktext presents everyday situations that business and accounting students, pre-professionals, and professionals may encounter at their workplace, on business travel, or while communicating with business partners abroad.
Speed up Your Spanish by Javier Muñoz-Basols; Marianne David; Olga Núñez Piñeiro; Javier Muñoz-Basols; Olga Núñez Piñeiro
Call Number: Languages Collection; SP468 MU (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780415493321
Publication Date: 2009-10-30
Speed Up Your Spanish is a unique and innovative resource that identifies and explains errors enabling students of Spanish to learn from their mistakes while enhancing their understanding of the Spanish language. Each of the nine chapters focuses on a grammatical category where English speakers typically make mistakes in Spanish.

DVDs and audio

Colloquial Spanish: the complete course for beginners by Untza Otaola Alday
Call Number: Languages Collection; SP468 AL (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780415463072
Publication Date: 2010
Combining a clear, practical and accessible style with a methodical and thorough treatment of the language, it equips learners with the essential skills needed to communicate confidently and effectively in Spanish in a broad range of situations.
101 Spanish Idioms by Jean-Marie Cassagne
Call Number: Languages Collection; SP468.3 CA (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780071615648
Publication Date: 2009-03-26
A boatload of Spanish idioms to bring vibrancy to your language repertoire To really talk like a native speaker of Spanish, you have to know the language's idioms. But sometimes idioms are confusing on the surface. This resource uses fun illustrations to help you learn colloquial Spanish.
Teach Yourself Business Spanish by Sarah Carroll
Call Number: Languages Collection; SP468.34 CA (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780071499675
Publication Date: 2008-03-21
A quick-and-easy path to the language confidence you need to do business in a Spanish-speaking country In the global market, you'll find you need to be able to say more than just "hello" in another language. You need to talk about money, trade, labor, and more. "Teach Yourself Business Spanish" will give you all you need to feel confident about doing business in a language other than your own.
Talk Spanish by Aurora Longo
Call Number: Languages Collection; SP468.34 LO (Level 3)
ISBN: 9780563520139
Publication Date: 2002
These short language courses are intended for absolute beginners, and can be used by adults learning at home or in a class.