Library Services Blog - LibGuides at Sheffield Hallam University

This Exam Wellbeing Digital Toolkit offers a carefully curated selection of digital resources, each chosen by our current students to support you and your mental wellbeing during exam season. Discover what works best to help you stay calm and focused today!

Stress Management:

Headspace – Guided meditations and mindfulness tools to help you reduce stress and improve focus.
Calm – Sleep stories, breathing exercises and relaxation music to support your wellbeing.
Togetherall – A safe online community with peer support and mental health resources.
Sorted – Tools and advice for managing your mental health, designed for students.

Revision and Studying:

Forest – Stay off your phone and stay focused by growing a virtual tree as you study.
Quizlet – Create and review digital flashcards to test your knowledge and boost memory.
Miro – A visual collaboration tool perfect for brainstorming, planning and mapping ideas.
Padlet – Create online boards to organise notes, resources, and revision plans visually.

Organisation:

Notion – An all-in-one workspace to track tasks, notes, revision schedules and more.
Google Calendar – A simple way to plan your time, set reminders and stay on track.
Readwise – Highlight and revisit useful quotes and notes from your reading.
Todoist – A to-do list app that helps you manage tasks and build good study habits.

Recent Posts

Green Libraries Week 27 Oct - 2 Nov 2025: Seeds of Change

IntroductionLibraries Week is an annual showcase and celebration of the best that libraries have to offer and each year a theme is chosen to explore the innovative and surprising things that libraries are doing to support their communities.This year's Libraries Week is focusing on Green Libraries which celebrates the ongoing work in libraries across the UK focusing on sustainability and climate change.You can find out more about Libraries Week here.The Green Libraries PartnershipThe Green Libraries Partnership was developed by Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals [CILIP] in response to COP26 and the long-term climate commitments made by libraries and local authorities across England. We have signed up to the Green Libraries Manifesto.As libraries we occupy a place at the heart of the communities we serve. Through this manifesto, we want to come together towards a shared vision: to lead by example through our own environmental actions and use our power and reach to inform and inspire people to take positive action and build resilience in the diverse communities we serve. We recognise the diversity of our sector which is why this is an inclusive initiative for all libraries to help them make the changes they can, with the resources they have. Libraries week at Sheffield University LibraryWe’ve gathered together resources across our entire collection including books, articles and recordings to create our Climate Emergency Collection and we’re inviting you to jump in and explore, read and discover what’s inside.The collection is divided into five themes reflecting the myriad aspects of the climate emergency.Climate science - climatology, extreme weather and natural disasters, greenhouse gases and control of, habitat loss and ecological damage.Sustainability - includes areas such as architecture and urban planning, transport and logistics, farming and food, manufacturing, renewable energy and energy efficiency, retail and business.Sustainable living - resources on ways to reduce personal and societal environmental impact.Climate change - artistic responses - contains literature, visual arts and film, and television responses to climate change.Climate change - political responses - includes government and international policy, activism and climate change disinformation.Our picksWe've chosen a small selection to get you started, these books are a good starting point in anyone's journey to understand the climate emergency and take action to make meaningful changes.Saving Us: A Climate Scientist's Case for Hope and Healing in a Divided World by Katharine HayhoeHayhoe argues that when it comes to changing hearts and minds, facts are only one part of the equation. We need to find shared values in order to connect our unique identities to collective action. This is not another doomsday narrative about a planet on fire. It is a multi-layered look at science, faith, and human psychology, from an icon in her field—recently named chief scientist at The Nature Conservancy.How the World Really Works: A Scientist's Guide to Our Past, Present and Future by Vaclav SmilThis book explains seven of the most fundamental realities governing our survival and prosperity. From energy and food production, through our material world and its globalization, to risks, our environment and its future, How the World Really Works offers a much-needed reality check - because before we can tackle problems effectively, we must understand the facts.What Climate Justice Means and Why We Should Care by Elizabeth CrippsPhilosopher Elizabeth Cripps approaches climate justice not just as an abstract idea but as something that should motivate us all. Using clear reasoning and poignant examples, starting from irrefutable science and uncontroversial moral rules, she explores our obligations to each other and to the non-human world, unravels the legacy of colonialism and entrenched racism, and makes the case for immediate action.How to Save Our Planet: The Facts by Professor Mark MaslinAn important book for anyone who wants to learn more about the climate emergency and what action we can take. Professor Mark Maslin has the key facts that we need to protect our future. Global awareness of climate change is growing rapidly and science has proven that our planet and species are facing a massive environmental crisis. How to Save Our Planet is a call to action, guaranteed to equip everyone with the knowledge needed to make change.Read, watch, learn and be informedWe encourage you to explore the collection and learn for yourself about the climate emergency the world is facing. You can also recommend to us a resource which you think should be part of the Climate Emergency Collection, you can do so by filling in this form.And finally, as Professor Mark Maslin said to us when he visited:"...talk about climate change. The first and most important thing you can do is talk about climate change to everyone. The greatest challenge in the history of our species should not be a taboo subject. We need new solutions, new social structures and new economics to solve this crisis. So talk about climate change. Share the ideas, as just one idea shared with one of your friends or relatives will start the conversation rolling."...

Welcome Back! Support for Students Repeating a Module or Year 

I’m Kate – an Academic Skills Adviser in the Library's Skills Centre at Sheffield Hallam University. In my role, I support students to develop their study skills, boost their confidence and find individualised ways to tackle their assignments that actually work for them.I know from experience that sometimes studying at university doesn’t go as planned. Stuff happens, life gets in the way, or you find that you weren’t prepared for the demands of your course for any one of a number of reasons. But you’ve decided to keep going and give it another go. Well done! This is a brave step and was likely not an easy decision, and you might be wondering what can help things be different this year.Over the years, I have successfully worked with many students who, like you, needed to repeat a module or a whole year of study. I want you to know that we can support you to turn things around and be successful this year, like this second-year apprentice dietitian student who gave this feedback:“Kate’s guidance has helped my writing style develop immensely, and she has taught me invaluable strategies for finding information, working things out, and using tools effectively for assignments. Without her support, I genuinely don't think I would still be on the course today.”How we can help:You can book an appointment with a specialist adviser like me. We can work on a specific assignment or plan how to approach your studies differently, giving you immediate, practical strategies to improve your skills and confidence. You can attend or watch a webinar on planning and productivity, academic writing, referencing, reflective writing, and critical thinking. After sessions, we share links to other helpful resources. You can use our self-help materials, which include practical examples, exercises, and tips for developing your academic skills.Where to start?If you’re unsure where to start, take our Skills Check. It’s quick, helps you identify your priorities, and gives you a personal action plan for developing your study skills.My three top tips for being successful in your academic journey:When you find ways of studying and writing that work for you, it’s much easier to be successful.Treat setbacks as learning opportunities. It can take time to understand what’s expected at university.Use the services and support early. Students often tell us they wish they’d accessed the Skills Centre sooner!Get in touch:I’m glad you’ve decided to persevere with your studies, and I genuinely believe you can succeed. Sometimes it’s less important to know the answers than to know who can help you find them — that’s what the Library’s Skills Centre is here for.Our team look forward to supporting you. Use the links in this blog or browse our website. You can also email us at skillscentre@shu.ac.uk.Best wishes for the year ahead!Kate SalinskyAcademic Skills Adviser...

Black History Month 2025: Standing Firm in Power and Pride

Black History Month 2025Black History Month UK provides great opportunities to reflect on the key moments in history and today’s society. It’s important to celebrate the contributions of everyone to our communities and to support the multiculturalism and diversity that shapes them. It can highlight any inequalities that Black people are facing, and work towards shaping a better future for all.This year, the theme of Black History Month in the UK is reclaiming narratives. The theme of reclaiming narratives focuses on sharing stories of Black history and culture, as well as correcting historical inaccuracies.This includes less well-known and untold stories, as well as stories about famous historical figures. Listening to these stories, and learning about historical figures and their achievements, can inspire the younger generation to dream big.Our Reading ListIn partnership with the Library and Sheffield Hallam Students’ Union, a new reading list has been curated. We have a range of books, articles, audio-visual content, and webpages that celebrate and explore themes related to Black History Month. All the resources listed are in the Hallam Library collections and are available to borrow for free by Sheffield Hallam University students and staff.The list has been divided into different themes that will help you to explore narratives, social history, academic texts and fiction aimed at all age ranges.Explore our reading list Black History Month 2025: Standing Firm in Power and Pride Black History Month Website The Black History Month website is an incredibly rich and extensive source. The site is continually updated with new articles, events and information.Read Cherron Inko-Tariah MBE introduction to this year's theme, Black History Month 2025: Standing Firm in Power and Pride..The theme for this year’s Black History Month, “Standing Firm in Power and Pride,” has sparked conversation — and in some cases, questions. “What power?” some have asked, suggesting doubt about the influence the Black community holds today.Hallam Student Union The student union is a great place to discover more about Black History Month showcasing events throughout the month at venues across Sheffield. They've also listed a number of Black-owned businesses in our region, links to further reading, books & TV and student societies.Discover the Student Union events ...

Look out for your invite – Assignment Bootcamp

All new students are warmly invited to the first session of the Assignment Bootcamp: an online programme designed to walk you through the process of planning, writing and successfully submitting your first assignment of the academic year.Led by expert academic skills advisors in the Library, these sessions demystify the writing process and provide practical tips and strategies for academic writing at Sheffield Hallam. Here are the details:Session title: Planning for SuccessDates and times: Multiple sessions, 7th–9th October.How to join: Check your emails for an invitation from the Skills Centre.What will the session cover?The Planning for Success session covers strategies for maintaining productivity and motivation, managing multiple deadlines alongside other commitments, and an overview of the key steps needed to get started on any assessed piece of work.What will I gain from attending?A step-by-step guide on how to tackle your first university assignment at a UK university, from getting organised to gathering research and writing a critical argument.Insight into what your markers are looking for, and what makes a first-class assignment.A chance to ask questions, share your ideas, and connect with other postgraduate students.What if I can’t make this date/time?If you can’t make this time, or prefer to study from a video resource, you can sign up to receive a recorded version of the session using our online form.What are the other sessions in the bootcamp?Following this session, you’ll also have the option to attend two additional webinars: Structure and Synthesis and Becoming a Critical Writer. These sessions run once per month from October to December, so you can choose from a range of dates and times.We’ll share more details on this in the first session, or you can get ahead and book a place now on your preferred sessions....

Fix up this exam season with our Exam Wellbeing Digital Toolkit!

Stress Management:

Revision and Studying:

Organisation: