LibGuides: Psychology: Books and eBooks

Finding eBooks in Library Search

The Library aims to have both eBook and print versions of books as we know both formats are important especially when studying away from the University. Unfortunately publishers do not always offer an eBook in a format suitable for library use, or it is not available at the time we order the print version.

How to find eBooks

Go to the Library Gateway at: https://library.shu.ac.uk
Search for your keywords in Library Search e.g food tourism.
To the left of your search results click on Books / eBooks and Online.
Choose a book and follow the link(s) available under Find online. The links will either say View online at: or the name of an eBook provider.

Reading eBooks

How you can use an eBook depends on terms and conditions set by the publisher. In most cases you will be able to choose between reading online and downloading the eBook for a limited period to your own device. When downloaded eBooks expire you can download them again.

Most eBooks can be read by more than one reader at a time but sometimes you may have to wait if another reader is using the book.You can search within individual eBooks, add notes and print or copy a limited number of pages from most eBooks.

Further help

If you need further help please take a look at the Library Help guide: eBooks section or get in contact. You can find a link to the Library Help guide below.

SAGE Social Science Research Methods collection

Research Methods

Sage Research Methods (SRM) is a fantastic collection of books and case studies exploring and illustrating research methods for the social sciences.

Books include Little Green Books and Little Blue Books, short guides to quantitative and qualitative research methods
Over 1000 case studies illustrating research methods
SRM Project Planner - accessible advice on every stage of the research process from defining a question to writing up and sharing your research
We don't subscribe to everything from SRM - use 'Refine By' when searching and browsing to see what is available at SHU

Multidisciplinary eBook collections

The Library has a range of eBook collections. You can search Library Search to find eBooks about many different subjects and that approach may be quicker than searching individual collections. You can also browse or search with the collections directly.

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers.

Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases relating to art, business, communication, film and television, history, medicine, sport etc. which can be searched individually or collectively. The resources offer abstracts, full-text journal articles, news items, company reports, and peer-reviewed sources. Includes some full text. alternative link

OAPEN
OAPEN is a platform supporting open access publishing of peer reviewed books.

Taylor and Francis SHU eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of selected ebooks published by Taylor and Francis, who publish across a wide range of subjects and disciplines including humanities, social sciences, education, behavioural sciences, built environment and law. Filter to "Show content I have access to" to see books SHU subscribes to.
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
This database contains all the VLE ebook titles that Sheffield Hallam have access to. This includes the Dawsonera ebook titles.

Textbooks

Most books relevant to Psychology can be found in Collegiate Library. However, you may need to use books based in Adsetts Library for some modules. You can request to have books transferred from Adsetts to Collegiate for you to collect.

Use Library Search to find details of the exact location and availability of books in your subject area. The title link will take you to the full record with details of all copies and where to find them.

Check your module reading list in Blackboard to find the essential resources for your course.

Student walking past bookshelves in Adsetts library

Photo credit: Sheffield Hallam University

Key subject numbers for Psychology

Each book includes a subject number which shows exactly where to find it on the shelves. Books are filed in subject number order - lowest numbers first.

You can find books and eBooks with Library Search. Use the shelfmark detailed in Library Search to locate the book in the library.

Here are some common shelfmarks for Psychology:

Psychology (general)	150
Psychoanalysis (Freud etc)	150.195
Psychological research methods	150.72
Learning	153.15
Cognition	153.4
Personality	155.2
Child psychology	155.4
Organizational psychology	158.7
Communication	302.2
Social processes	303
Statistics / SPSS	519.5
Health psychology	610.19 616.0019
Forensic psychology	614.15

Requesting books and other resources not in SHU collections

You can use Document Supply Services to obtain books, journal articles or other resources not available at the libraries at Sheffield Hallam.

Please check Library Search first to see whether we already hold a copy.

If you can't find what you are looking for, request an item using our Request Form.