LibGuides: English and Creative Writing: Home

Quick Links

Quick links (opens in a pop up window)
A list of links to the essential information you need to know when visiting, using or asking the library for help.

Welcome to the English Subject Guide

Welcome to the subject guide for English. This guide is compiled by your Subject Librarian and will help you find books, journal articles and other essential resources for your course.

This guide covers the core resources you need for day-to-day study and research. However, you may sometimes find other subject guides useful for particular assignments, including:

Online subject support with your librarian

Your subject librarian can help you find materials to support your studies, including finding eBooks, searching databases and using online collections. Just get in touch using this link:

New collections

Manchester University ebook collection This link opens in a new window
Access for the following collections only: Manchester Film studies ; Manchester Gothic ; Manchester Literature studies ; Manchester Shakespeare ; Manchester studies in Imperialism. Offers full-text searching for the titles in the collection.
AM explorer This link opens in a new window
AM Explorer provides access to a huge collection of primary sources from the 15th - 21st Centuries. Themes include Literature, Theatre, Gender and Sexuality and Empire and Globalism.

Cambridge University Press: Race and Power Collection
Free access to collection of book chapters and journal articles exploring the intertwining concepts of race and power, on a global scale, from an interdisciplinary perspective.
The Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online
The Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online contains a wealth of additional content, including the recently discovered diary of Jonson's 'Foot Voyage' to Scotland, extra letters written to Jonson, early attempts at a biography, further material relating to the masques and poems and numerous contemporary references to Jonson's works and reputation.

Guardian book blog

Guardian Book Blog