Skip to main content

Biosciences and Chemistry: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the subject guide for Biosciences and Chemistry. This guide will help you find the books, journals and other information you need for your work.

Macrophage engulfing Tuberculosis bacteria.

Image credit: ZEISS Microscopy via Flickr (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0) License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/

Key databases

Here are the key databases for Biosciences and Chemistry. This is just a selection and there are other incredibly useful databases available listed on the Journal tab.

Take a look at the description to help decide where to start your search. However, PubMed tends to be a good place to begin a search!

Exam skills

Exam skills

The Bridge has an Exam Resources guide covering exam preparation, revision tips and much more. You can access the resource here  

There is also an Exam skills section on the Skills for learning guide which covers revision strategies, how to answer different types of questions, and more.

For more advice take a look here at the SHU Library hacks post: Are you exam ready?

Past papers

You might find it helpful to try answering some questions from past exam papers on the same subject. To find them, go to the Library Gateway and type the title of your module into Library Search.  On the search results page, go to the Content Type filter on the left-hand side, click on ‘More options’, and then choose ‘Exam Papers’.

Don’t forget the books!

We have study skills collections at both libraries, including books about preparing for and taking exams. The collection is on Level 4 next to meeting room 0.01 at Adsetts and at the far end of the main study area on the ground floor at Collegiate.

If you’re working away from the University, why not have a look at one of our study skills eBooks?  Here are a few you could try.

You may find it useful to take a look at some of the study skills exam (print and electronic) books available in the Library. Here are a selection that you may like to refer to. You can find many more study skills books by searching in Library Search. Choose the book that suits your examination format or is written in the style that you prefer. If you are unsure which to refer to... just ask your tutor for a recommendation.

Good luck!

Try JoVE videos to learn how to use laboratory kit or watch a lab skill demonstrated

Image credit: 'jove_footer' by JoVE, the Journal of Visualised Experiments (used with permission)

You can access the videos using the JoVE link above or you can find the resource by searching for JoVE Science Education in Library Search.

Ever read about a process in a journal article and need to know more?

Articles are a rich source of primary and secondary information and can be written in a variety of different styles. The choice of terminology can range from common, technical, medical and specialist depending on the intended audience and place of publication.

You may find a term in an article that you have not read before or a process that you need more information about to help you understand the article fully.

So, whether you need more information on bioremidation or Koji mold or the Zeeman effect, there is a reference source to help!

Start by searching Access Science. Many of the definitions include related articles to help explain the term more fully including links to additional reading.

You could try searching the MeSH headings in PubMed. MeSH is the medical subject headings used to index PubMed articles. You can use it as thesaurus to find similar terms or as a dictionary for definitions.

You could search for heart and find the definition. You could also identify all the alternative terms and run a search for other articles from there by clicking on Add to Search Builder and Search PubMed.

There are a range of bioscience and chemistry relevant dictionaries covering Forensics, Law, Medicine, Biomedicine, Epidemiology, Maths, Biology, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Food and Nutrition, Genetics, Plant Sciences, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and many more titles which will help explain and define the terms you are looking for.

SHURA - Sheffield Hallam University Research Archive

This feed links to SHURA and the outputs of the Biomolecular Sciences Research Centre.

SHURA  is an open access repository containing scholarly outputs and publications of researchers at Sheffield Hallam University.

Loading

Other relevant subject guides

You may sometimes find other guides useful for specialised topics. You can find a full list of other guides on the Library Gateway, including guides such as:

Recommend something for the Library

We love books... and are always looking for new publications to support your learning and teaching and to keep the library collections up to date with high-quality materials.  If you think we're missing something crucial though, we'd like to hear about it. You can let us know here.

Look at these great new books in the Library...

Take a look here to find out what new books have recently arrived in the Library. Many of these are new editions of recommended resources listed for your modules, great new books about emerging scientific areas or extra copies of the books that you like to borrow.

Happy reading!

Do you need to find a protocol?

The RSS feed below comes from the National Library of Medicine. The aim of the feed is to highlight recent articles available in PubMed which have the keyword protocol in the title of the article.

Loading