LibGuides: Journalism, PR and Media: Business & marketing

Advertising

WARC (World Advertising Research Center) This link opens in a new window
International market research database covering peer-reviewed journals, case studies, WARC briefings and best practice guides on marketing strategy & implementation, research papers, media & advertising data and market context analysis. Includes Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research, International Journal of Advertising and the International Journal of Market Research.

If you are interested in the history and development of advertising, most of the historical newspaper and magazine databases in the News tab will let search for adverts in their pages (often described as 'display ads'). There will often be an option in advanced search which will let you do this. Some particularly useful databases for this are:

The Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
Archive for studying film & entertainment industries from vaudeville/silent movies to 2000. Core US/UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theatre included, plus film fan magazines & music press titles. Sources in high-resolution, with indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Market research

Mintel Academic Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel is a leading name in Market Research, the Library provides access to reports published in the last two years for leading UK industries including: Technology, Media, Household Care, Health and Wellbeing, Food and Drink, Beauty and Personal Care, Automotive.
The Library subscription also covers Mintel Market Sizes which provides global market data such as market size, market share, market forecasts and segmentation.
Marketline Advantage This link opens in a new window
Marketline Advantage provides quality information on industries, countries and companies and is updated daily. It has interactive reports and databases and is ideal for understanding companies and sectors.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of trade and academic journals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
BRAD This link opens in a new window
Directory of almost 14,000 publications and other media, including TV, radio and websites. Entries provide contact information, target audience profiles, traffic statistics (in the case of electronic media), and advertising rates. Also includes news on title launches and closures. BRAD also has a Key Facts and Trends section. This includes advertising statistics, overall demographic and readership figures, and audited circulation and viewer/readership profiles.

RAJAR - Radio Joint Audience Research
Use RAJAR to find radio listening figures.
RAJAR is the official body in charge of measuring radio audiences in the UK.

Which? online This link opens in a new window
Full text of reports from the main Which? publications: Gardening Which?, Holiday Which?, and Computing Which?
Supplements such as Which? Car and The Tax-Saving Guide are also included, along with The Good Food Guide and Good Bed and Breakfast Guide. It is updated every month, and the magazine archive goes back to 2005.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
A global market research service providing images and reports for the fashion, design and retail industries. It has a huge collection of images of the latest clothes and accessories from designers and stores around the world. You can use an extensive set of criteria to search for images and can zoom into the images to focus on details.

As well as images you can browse for news, analysis and reports on business, trends and marketing within the industry. It looks at all aspects of fashion and design, including materials, colours, brands and packaging. It also covers trends and images in related areas such as art, interior design, pop culture and celebrity.
You can use WGSN without creating an account. However, students who want to use the personalisation features should use the firstname.lastname@student.shu.ac.uk format of their Hallam email address to
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Market research data that analysts at Euromonitor have collated including consumer lifestyle reports, future demographics, country profiles, updates on consumer and industry trends, company information, market sizes and economic indicators. Passport covers more than 200 countries and regions, with a global outlook

globalEDGE
International business web portal created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University. The Global Insights tab provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs. The Tools and Data tab includes the Market Potential Index, which allows comparison of emerging markets.

Media directories

Media directories contain contact details, short profiles and advertising rates for broadcasters and newspaper and magazine publishers.

BRAD This link opens in a new window
Directory of almost 14,000 publications and other media, including TV, radio and websites. Entries provide contact information, target audience profiles, traffic statistics (in the case of electronic media), and advertising rates. Also includes news on title launches and closures. BRAD also has a Key Facts and Trends section. This includes advertising statistics, overall demographic and readership figures, and audited circulation and viewer/readership profiles.

Benn's Media
An important reference source for media, PR, marketing and advertising professionals; providing detailed information on business and consumer press, radio, TV and online media.
Willings Press guide
A comprehensive media guide. Available in three printed volumes, UK, Europe and World it gives detailed access to the world's media and contains over 73,000 in-depth profiles of named, key media outlets in over 200 countries. Covering newspapers, magazines, periodicals, broadcast media and online publications

Basic company information

Whether you are researching a project or preparing for a job interview, these databases can provide background, contact and financial information about companies.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of trade and academic journals covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Also includes industry and company profiles and SWOT analyses, country economic data and market research.
Marketline Advantage This link opens in a new window
Marketline Advantage provides quality information on industries, countries and companies and is updated daily. It has interactive reports and databases and is ideal for understanding companies and sectors.

Advanced company information

These databases can provide even more detailed financial and background information about companies, but use slightly more technical business language: please ask if you need help.

You can find even more resources about company data on the Business, Management and Marketing subject guide.

FAME This link opens in a new window
Company information and financial reports for UK and Ireland.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Market research data that analysts at Euromonitor have collated including consumer lifestyle reports, future demographics, country profiles, updates on consumer and industry trends, company information, market sizes and economic indicators. Passport covers more than 200 countries and regions, with a global outlook
Filings Expert This link opens in a new window
Filings Expert provides access to over 14 million global company filings. Available information includes, annual reports; investor presentations, press releases and SEC filings.