LibGuides: Journalism, PR and Media: Video & images

Box of Broadcasts video archive

BoB is an archive of over 2 million TV and radio broadcasts. You can search for films and create your own playlists. Films are recorded from TV channels such as FilmFour.

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Contains a permanent archive of content from nine channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra. Allows you to preview and save clips.

To access BoB you need to go to login, select your institution in the where are you from box (login using SHU username and password) and then follow the instructions to create an account.
Each user can request up to 20 new recordings (restricted to 5 in a 6hr period) or clips per day. There is no restriction on the number of existing programmes that can be viewed.

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education.This academically-focused system allows staff and students to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search our archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.

Tutorials are available here

BFI Player

BFI Player is a video on demand service from the British Film Institute, streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films. The collection focuses on British and European independent films, as well as international releases.

BFI player This link opens in a new window
First time users and previously registered users
You need to start by creating an account or re-registering your account and selecting Sheffield Hallam University as the institution. You then sign in with your email and chosen password afterwards.

When you create an account you agree to BFI's terms of use.

BFI Player is a video on demand service from the British Film Institute, streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films. the focus is on British and European independent films, as well as international releases.
This content is available via a Sheffield Hallam University subscription. We do not have access to the rental content.

Using video and images in your work

Find image archives on these pages.

If you want free-to-use images to use in your own work then see the suggested resources in the Copyright-free images section.

Photo by Denise Jans on Unsplash

Referencing and acknowledging in your creative work

Referencing and acknowledgement are often used interchangeably and this can cause confusion when using images in your creative work. In this guide we make the distinction between acknowledging the images you use (often part of the terms and conditions of using a copyright cleared image) and referencing and citing your sources, an essential part of academic writing.

Referencing and acknowledging in your creative work

Television and radio listings

TRILT: Television & Radio Index for Learning & Teaching This link opens in a new window
TRILT provides extensive information about UK TV and Radio programme content, both transmitted and scheduled for future transmission.
A useful resource for lecturers planning courses.
Listings for approx. 300 TV/Radio channels receivable in UK, including terrestrial, cable and satellite, with regional variations. Developed from BUFVC's TV Index, TRILT massively expands this. Data accumulates at rate of 1.1 million records annually.
Problem connecting? Link to TRILT homepage
TVTiP 1955-1985 This link opens in a new window
Database containing ITV programme listings taken from the London region TV Times magazine. Covers the period: September 1955 - March 1985 only.
Searchable by programme title, performers' names and production staff names. Contains text only, no photographs, advertisements or graphics.

BBC Genome Project - Radio Times 1923-2009
This site contains the BBC listings information which the BBC printed in "Radio Times" between 1923 and 2009.

Television and radio audience figures

BARB (Broadcasters' Audience Research Board)
BARB was set up in 1981 to provide the industry standard television audience measurement service for broadcasters and the advertising industry. BARB is owned by the BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Channel 5, BSkyB and the Institute of Practitioners in Advertising and is a not for profit company.
more...less...
For students:Television viewing figures are often useful in assignments, dissertations, academic articles and similar documents. Students are permitted to include in their work the data featured on this website, but the information should not be used in any wider publication without a BARB subscription. If you wish to publish detailed data, or run more complex analyses, please see how to subscribe. The viewing data section of this site offers a number of ways to access television audience figures. Both historical data and the latest audience figures are available as weekly and monthly viewing summaries, based on the Individuals aged 4+ audience category. There are also top 10 and top 30 weekly programmes lists, quarterly channel reach reports and various trend graphs. The TV facts section in Resources contains longer-term annual trends in television viewing and the television environment. BARB since 1981 provides a broader overview of key events in television since BARB’s foundation, including annual Top 10 programmes and the changing list of reported channels. If you require data that are not available in any of the above sections it will be necessary to subscribe to BARB. Small volumes of data intended for internal use may be given through an end user licence – limited usage.
RAJAR (Radio Joint Audience Research)
RAJAR is the official body in charge of measuring radio audiences in the UK. It is jointly owned by the BBC and the RadioCentre on behalf of the commercial sector. There are currently approximately 310 individual stations on the survey and results are published every quarter.

BRAD This link opens in a new window
Directory of almost 14,000 publications and other media, including TV, radio and websites. Entries provide contact information, target audience profiles, traffic statistics (in the case of electronic media), and advertising rates. Also includes news on title launches and closures. BRAD also has a Key Facts and Trends section. This includes advertising statistics, overall demographic and readership figures, and audited circulation and viewer/readership profiles.

Copyright-free images

Here are some copyright-free to use image libraries, useful for finding stock images for using in news reports, or other media projects.

Pexels
All photos on Pexels are free to use. Attribution is not required. Giving credit to the photographer or Pexels is not necessary but always appreciated. You can modify the photos. Be creative and edit the photos as you like.
Unsplash
All photos published on Unsplash can be used for free. You can use them for commercial and noncommercial purposes. You do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or Unsplash, although it is appreciated when possible.

Fashion and style images

The Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
A global market research service providing images and reports for the fashion, design and retail industries.
WGSN provides information and inspiration for people working in fashion and design. It has a huge collection of images of the latest clothes and accessories from designers and stores around the world.
You can use an extensive set of criteria to search for images. You can zoom into the images to focus on details.
As well as images you can browse for news, analysis and reports on business, trends and marketing within the industry. It looks at all aspects of fashion and design, including materials, colours, brands and packaging. It also covers trends and images in related areas such as art, interior design, pop culture and celebrity.