LibGuides: Architecture: Journals

Journals databases

You'll find many articles you'll need for your studies in Library Search . But there is a range of specialist databases which provide more sophisticated searches for journal articles around many different aspects of architecture.

Art Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on architectural design and art.
ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on architectural design and art.
Art and Design databases on Proquest This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on architectural design and art.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on management, project management, economics, and business
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on civil engineering, construction, environmental science, and computer-aided design and manufacturing.
Environmental sciences databases on Proquest This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on environmental science
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
This computer and electronics database has articles on computer-aided design and -manufacturing.
IEEE Xplore
In the database IEEE Xplore there are now over 3.8 million articles on computing related topics. There are thousands of early access articles that you can only find by searching IEEE Xplore (not by searching through Google Scholar or Library Search).
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The computer and electronics database has articles on computer-aided design and -manufacturing.

Key architecture journals

Access to The Architect's Journal

There are currently some issues with access to The Architects' Journal via Library Search and SHULinks.

In the meantime, it is possible to access The Architects' Journal via the database Construction Information Service (AKA CIS).

Construction Information Service This link opens in a new window
The link to The Architects' Journal can be found under the Technical Resources tab at the top of the page.
Covers documents essential to the design and construction of buildings, construction management, contract documents, health and safety and design guidance. Also includes a direct link to the Building regulations, the Metric handbook and BS 5588, Fire precautions in buildings together with a link to NBS BRAD. Updated weekly.

Keeping up to date with the latest issues of journals: Browzine

As well as directly searching for specific subjects, there are also tools which will let you browse through journals and keep up to date with the contents of new issues of key titles.

What to do if a journal article is not available in the Library

If we don't have a journal article in stock, we can ask another library to email a copy to you via our Document Supply Service. While it may not be possible to get absolutely everything, the vast majority of articles can be obtained this way.

Document Supply Services