LibGuides: Film, Media arts and Performance: Books &amp; eBooks

Textbooks

Most books relevant to Film and Performance can be found in Adsetts Library on Level 6. However, you may need to use books based in Collegiate Library for some modules.

To find details of the exact location and availability of books in your subject area, please go to the Library Gateway and use Library Search. The title link will take you to the full record with details of all copies.

Check your module reading list to find the essential resources for your course. Search for the title or code of the module.

Photo credit: Sheffield Hallam University

Multidisciplinary eBook collections

The Library has a range of eBook collections. You can search Library Search to find eBooks about many different subjects and that approach may be quicker than searching individual collections. You can also browse or search with the collections directly.

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers.

Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases relating to art, business, communication, film and television, history, medicine, sport etc. which can be searched individually or collectively. The resources offer abstracts, full-text journal articles, news items, company reports, and peer-reviewed sources. Includes some full text. alternative link

OAPEN
OAPEN is a platform supporting open access publishing of peer reviewed books.

Taylor and Francis SHU eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of selected ebooks published by Taylor and Francis, who publish across a wide range of subjects and disciplines including humanities, social sciences, education, behavioural sciences, built environment and law. Filter to "Show content I have access to" to see books SHU subscribes to.
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
This database contains all the VLE ebook titles that Sheffield Hallam have access to. This includes the Dawsonera ebook titles.

Some useful shelfmarks

Use the shelfmark you find on Library Search to locate the book in the library. Here are some common shelfmarks:

Acting	792.028
Acting in films	791.4308
Adaptation	791.43657
American film industry	791.430973
Animation	741.58
British film industry	791.430941
Censorship	791.43013
Cinematography	778.53, 791.43023
Comedy films	791.43617
Crime films	791.43655
Digital arts	776
Directing films	791.43023
Directing plays	792.023
Directors	791.43092 A-Z
Documentary films	791.433
Documentary television programmes	791.456
Editing	791.4302
Feature films (shelved by director)	791.43092 A-Z e.g. 791.43092 Hitchcock
Film	791.43
Genres	791.436
Historical films	791.43658
Hollywood films	791.430973
Horror films	791.4367
Lesbian and gay cinema	791.43653
Mass media	302.23
Music	780
Performance studies	791, 792
Photography	770
Popular music	781.64
Production of film, TV, video	791.4302
Radio	791.44
Screenwriting	791.4302
Social aspects of film	791.43013
Television	791.45
Theatre	792
Video art	709.04079
Westerns	791.436278
Women in film	791.43652042