Film, Media arts and Performance

Most of the resources are available through library search, just use the content filters on the left-hand side of the screen to narrow your results to limit to particular formats - e.g. AV - Video, AV - Audio.  If you only want online resources then use the availability filter and limit to Online.

DVDs and Blu Rays

Feature films on DVD and Blu Ray discs can be found on Level 4 of the Adsetts library in zone 4C of the Silent Study area.

Most documentaries, adaptations and recordings of broadcast TV and radio programmes are shelved with the main book collection at the relevant subject number.

Items in this collection are generally available for a one-week loan. DVDs that are required for scheduled film screenings in the current semester may be unavailable.

Browse the feature film collection - view all the feature film DVDs and Blu-rays

Box of Broadcasts [BoB] - search for films and TV programmes. 

BoB is an archive of over 2 million TV and radio broadcasts. Films are recorded from TV channels such as FilmFour.  This academically-focused system allows staff and students to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels, and search their archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts. Although listed in Library Search Box of Broadcasts can’t be searched directly through it so you need to search via the database itself.

The first time you access BoB you will need to:

• go to login,
• select your institution in the 'Where are you from box'
• login using SHU username and password
• then follow the instructions to create an account

Tutorials are available here

---

SHU Player film collection

An online collection of over 4000+ Feature Films, Documentaries recorded under the ERA licence from SKY Arts, SKY Movies and terrestrial TV. Due to licencing restrictions, some of these will be available to view on-campus only.

Log in using your SHU id.  

Browse SHUPlayer films - view all the films, documentaries and programmes about films that are available to watch online.

---

BFIPlayer **New**

BFI Player is a video on demand service from the British Film Institute, streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films. The focus is on British and European independent films, as well as international releases.

This content is available via a Sheffield Hallam University subscription. We do not have access to the rental content.

The first time you access the BFIPlayer you will be prompted to create an account.

• Select Sheffield Hallam University as the institution.
• You then sign in with your email and chosen password afterwards.

Previously registered users
You will need to re-register your account (as above) if it isn't allowing you to sign-in.

When you create an account you agree to BFI's terms of use.

---

Drama Online

This award-winning resource combines playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.

 

 

 

---

Digital Theatre+

Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions, musicals, and operas.

Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts.

Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.

---