Computing and Games Design

eForensics Magazine is 'a downloadable, monthly magazine focused on digital forensics. Covering all aspects of electronic forensics, from theory to practice, from methodologies and standards to tools and real-life solutions. Included are online courses that will take your digital forensics skills to a new level'.

You can access eForensics via the Library Gateway. To set up a personal account you will need to register on the eForensics website using your SHU login - you might have to do this outside of the SHU network. 

This pdf (eForensics.pdf) outlines the steps you need to follow to access the resource.  

These databases index journal articles on many subjects including computing.  There will be links to many of the full text articles.

These databases contain the full text of journal articles from one publisher.  They all include journals about computing topics

Repositories contain publicly available scholarly articles and reports.  They can cover particular disciplines or be the outputs of a particular institution.  They are often pre-prints or copies of articles that are later published in journals and conferences.

Open access journal articles are available freely without subscription or cost.

In academic and professional writing, it is essential to support your discussions and arguments with reliable, published sources. Personal opinions such as 'I believe...' are not sufficient on their own: you must back up your claims with credible, relevant evidence from appropriate sources..

Such evidence often takes the form of a journal article. These sources are typically found using research databases and, in some cases, through platforms like Google Scholar or Library Search. Using these resources ensures you access high-quality, relevant information. The Library provides these databases in collaboration with your lecturers and academic staff, helping you find the most appropriate materials for your subject area.

So it is important that you understand why you need to use these sources, develop your skills and knowledge of how research is published, and which resources are most applicable to your subject areas.

Journal articles are one of the key places where new research is published. Articles are written by experts and practitioners in that field of research.

Articles are published in academic journals; like magazines,  journals will publish several new issues a year, each issue contain several articles. They have several functions:

• To share original research; 
• To review previously published research;
• To discuss theoretical concepts within a particular field of research.

Journal articles have some defining features:

• Typically focus on one very specific topic;
• Have a structured format, usually consisting of abstract, introduction, literature review, methods, results, discussion and conclusions. This similarity to the formats for dissertations and projects can be helpful inspiration for structuring your own research work;,
• Some articles will be peer-reviewed by other experts in that field prior to publication: this helps screen out errors and flaws, and so peer-reviewed articles are among the more reliable sources available.

Most journal articles are can be found in online databases, but in some subject areas you may need to use our print journal collection. Please see the 'Finding print journals' box below.

Trade papers - sometimes also called trade journals - are publications aimed at professionals in specific industries or jobs. 

Unlike academic journals, trade papers don't tend to publish new research. Instead, they inform professionals about the latest developments in their field, to support decision-making and good practice. They will include much more detail than publications aimed at the general public.

Trade papers may provide:

• News and trends
• Case studies
• Interviews and opinion pieces
• Practical advice and practice notes
• Updates on regulations and standards

The print journal collections can be found on Adsetts level 5, at the top of the main stairs.

The collection is stored in alphabetical order, based on the first letter(s) of the journal title.

The journals can be used only within the Library, however you can photocopy from them within the limits of copyright.

It is important to scan key journals in your subject area to keep up to date. The Articles in Press feature displays the most current articles before they have been officially given a volume and issue number. When you have selected a journal, Articles in Press appears on the left, just below the journal cover image.

In the course of searching these specialist resources, you may find articles that we do not have access to in our Library collection. If this happens, we can get the articles for you through our Document Supply Service.

This link is the information about how to use the Document Supply Service at Sheffield Hallam.

• Document Supply Service