A multi-disciplinary full text database covering business, health and medical, social sciences, education , science and technology, including core titles in the performing and visual arts, history, religion, philosophy, and language and literature. It includes both scholarly journals as well as market research and industry reports, working papers and full-text dissertations.
Nexis is a major full text database for global news and business information. It gives access to over 35,000 sources, with more than 12,000 international news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals.
Alternative link - please note that, the first time you use this link, you will be asked to enter your first name and last name in order to access Nexis.
Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.
Keesing's World News Archive is a web-based database comprising more than 95,000 articles, first from 1931-87 as Keesing's Contemporary Archives, and then as Keesing's Record of World Events from 1987 to the present. SHU has full access to the last 12 months.
Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.
The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Contains scanned image and PDF of articles from the Times newspaper.
Can search for specific date or keyword search.
Includes Google search for related images in a keyword search and has link to Merrian-Webster Collegiate Dictionary during search session.
Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large, including Murder, theatre, sport and politics. With more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
The Guardian and The Observer, provide facts, first-hand accounts, and opinions on political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events for the past 200 years. Full text with article images in PDF format.
Spare Rib was an active part of the emerging Women’s Liberation Movement in the late 20th century. Running from 1972-93, this now iconic magazine challenged the stereotyping and exploitation of women, while supporting collective, realistic solutions to the hurdles women faced.
Visitors to this site can explore selected highlights from the magazine; and examine how the magazine was run, why it was started and the issues it dealt with. The full run of Spare Rib magazines can be accessed here.
The most comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive.
Includes 17-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Includes 19th Century British Library Newspapers 3 million pages of historic newspapers, newsbooks & ephemera National & Regional papers from British Isles
Cross-searches SHU's collection of Gale historical newspapers, comprising Newspapers from British Library from 1757 to 1950 and The Times, Financial Times, Daily Mail, Economist, TLS Historical Archives. With the power to search millions of digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault provides an unparalleled window to the past.
Uses search interface with enhanced features such as thumbnail images; browse newspapers by title and by place of publication; full-text searching with hit-term highlighting; read newspapers cover to cover in full screen, using an advanced image viewer; save print and bookmark; grab, pan, zoom and crop images; and cross-browse all newspapers published on the same date.
A collection of historic newspapers including The Guardian (1821-2003); Observer (1791-2003); New York Times (1851-2010); Times of India (1838-2004). News, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, photos and advertisements in downloadable pdf format.
Digitised resource, based on the collection of Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817), which contains approximately 1,270 titles. It includes newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides and some general periodicals, such as The Tatler and The Spectator.
A collection of 178 national and regional newspapers chosen by the British Library to represent 19th Century Britain. The emphasis is on newspapers which helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism and Home Rule. Every front page, editorial, birth and death notice, advertisement and classified ad is accessible.
New Readerships comprises 92 Victorian periodicals in a searchable and browseable digital format. The focus is on the growth of publishing in the 19th Century. Covers children, humour, leisure & sport, politics, religion, and women. Includes Punch (1841-1900). Complements British Periodicals.