LibGuidance

Reports

In order to provide optimal server performance, there are a couple of limits with statistic reports:

• Statistic reports are updated daily, with reporting data available through the previous day.
• Statistics that are older than 12 months are only available via a Monthly report.
  • Date ranges for a Daily report that have a start date older than 12 months will automatically be switched to a Monthly report.
  • To select the date using the Monthly Datepicker, please select the appropriate Month/Year first and then either click outside of the datepicker or click the From/Date input field.

To run a report you will need to have a profile that allows you to see statistics on the top menu of LibGuides:

• Go to Statistics from the command bar.
• Click on the report tab you require (e.g. Homepage, A-Z databases, Guides, sessions etc.
• From the Date Grouping dropdown, select whether you want to view daily or monthly totals.
• Depending on the selected report you may need to set the parameters e.g., if Guides the name of the Guide
• Use the first date picker to select a starting date.
• Use the second date picker to select an ending date.
• Click the Run Report button.

Export All Records Option:

• To export the entire report, click on the Export All Records button and select either the HTML or CSV options.
• This will open the Save dialogue box
• Give the html or csv a file name
• The download will appear at the bottom of the screen on the left – it will also save to your chosen location
• You can then open the report in either a browser or excel

To find out more about reproting you can visit the Springshare LibGuide faqs on statistics

Home Page Report

Description: Breakdown of usage of the home page

Ref: LG

Criteria/Parameters: daily/monthly/time period

Limitations: no drill down

A – Z of Databases

Description: Relates to the page not databases themselves.

Ref: LG

Criteria/Parameters: daily/monthly/time period

Limitations: no drill down

Guides

Description: All guides; Guides in groups (e.g. Library online); Individual guides. Allows you to delve into page breakdowns within the guides

Ref: LG

Criteria/Parameters: daily/monthly

Limitations: Drill down to guides/page level

Sessions

Description: The Sessions report provides you with the total number of unique browser sessions over time, which can give you a more accurate sense of how many unique visits you had vs. your guide views. That's because one person can generate multiple guide views during a single session. You can view your session statistics by day or month.

For this report, a session is defined as a unique browser who has visited a public page (i.e. a guide page, your homepage, A-Z Database List, etc.) on your site, where the time between visits to subsequent pages does not exceed 30 minutes. For example, if a user (browser) visits a page for the first time, then visits a number of other pages, each within 30 minutes of each other, all of those page views are counted as one session. If that same user waits more than 30 minutes before visiting another page, the next page view will be counted as a new session.

Ref: LG

Criteria/Parameters: daily/monthly/time period

Limitations: no drill down

Browser/Operating System

Description: The Browser/OS report provides you with a breakdown of the operating system (OS), browser, and screen resolution that your visitors are using. The operating system breakdown can be especially helpful, as it will indicate how many people are accessing your site from Android and iOS devices. Knowing the most common browsers can help better inform how you design your site and content -- particularly when adding a lot of custom JavaScript and CSS code, as compatibility can sometimes vary by browser.

Ref: LG

Criteria/Parameters: n/a

Limitations: n/a

Searches

Description: The Searches report will provide you with a breakdown of search queries over time. This can give you insight as to the most popular topics your users are trying to find in your LibGuides site. Each search term provides the location of where the search was made and the number of times it was used. Locations include:

• System: searches made via your homepage or guides.
• AZ: searches made via your A-Z Database List page.

The report also includes a chart showing the total number of searches per day.

Please Note: Search is Disabled on most of the pages

Ref: LG

Criteria/Parameters: daily/monthly/ time period

Limitations: no drill down

Assets

Description:

One option for viewing your Assets statistics is the All Assets report. This will allow you to analyse the total number of clicks for your assets over time, allowing you to see which are the most highly used. The Assets report contains statistics for the following asset types:

• Link
• Document/File
• Book from the Catalog
• Database

For this report, a click is counted anytime someone clicks on the link for one of the above asset types. Please note that clicks are unable to be counted for links inside of Rich Text/HTML content items or Media/Widget assets. (Note: clicks are not counted when editing a guide or viewing a guide in Preview Mode).

Ref: LG

Criteria/Parameters: daily/monthly/time period

Limitations: Drill down to individual assets

Content

Description: The Content Summary report provides you with the a breakdown of your content by type. This includes the total amount of:

• Guides, pages, and boxes
• User accounts
• Homepage views (year to date)
• Guide views (year to date)
• Assets and content items, broken down by type
• File storage used for Document/File asset attachments and images in your Image Manager libraries
• E-Reserves courses, items, and storage space used for item attachments (only for E-Reserves subscribers)

Ref: LG

Criteria/Parameters: 12-month period pre set

Limitations: no drill down