LibGuides: Video, images and audio: Audio

How to find and listen to audio recordings

Step 2: Refine results to Items available online and by Content Type Audio / Audio Online

Step 3: Click on programme title and select Listen to Audio Online

Please note that Box of Broadcasts [BoB] contains over 2 million TV and radio broadcasts which are not indexed in Library Online so you will need to search the database directly.

Radio programme listings

TRILT: Television & Radio Index for Learning & Teaching This link opens in a new window
TRILT provides extensive information about UK TV and Radio programme content, both transmitted and scheduled for future transmission.
A useful resource for lecturers planning courses.
Listings for approx. 300 TV/Radio channels receivable in UK, including terrestrial, cable and satellite, with regional variations. Developed from BUFVC's TV Index, TRILT massively expands this. Data accumulates at rate of 1.1 million records annually.
Problem connecting? Link to TRILT homepage

Creating and editing audio

Sound recorders are available to borrow. You can also book editing suites to edit the material you produce.

You will need permission from anyone who appears in your work: a sample release form for obtaining permission is available.

Finding more audio resources

These sources contain audio recordings that you can reuse in your university work.

Check the link for details of terms and conditions of use.

Creative Commons search This link opens in a new window
Multi-search tool for images, video and sound under Creative Commons licences. It includes Flickr, Google Images for images, SoundCloud and Jamendo for music, YouTube for video, and other multimedia search tools.
Do not assume that the results displayed in this search portal are under a Creative Commons licence. You should always check that the work is actually licensed under Creative Commons.

The LBC/IRN Audio Archive
Audio archive of broadcasts from local commercial radio stations from between 1973 and 1996. From the archives of the London Broadcasting Company and Independent Radio News, and hosted by the BUFVC.

Alexander Street Media Plus This link opens in a new window
This service contains more than 100,000 videos, images, and sound recordings.The collections include: a selection of historic newsreel from British Paramount News, Channel 4 and 5 News, Gaumont British News and Gaumont Graphic Newsreel, ITN, ITV, Reuters, Roving Report and Visnews.8,000 clips from Getty (moving images) and c.12,000 images from Getty (still images),The University of Brighton Design Archives.Wellcome Film with c. 450 titles from 1912 onwards.
It is important to check terms of use before using any of resources as copyright will vary from collection to collection. It is important to check terms of use before using any of resources as copyright will vary from collection to collection.

Copyright

To copy and use images or video for your own work you must respect any copyright restrictions.

We also have more detailed online guides to help you with Copyright and using Video, Images and Audio.